Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
The first novel I have read by this author and am now eagerly looking forward to reading more. It had me laughing out loud. Dont miss out. You wont be disappointed.
Published on 17 May 2012 by EBR45

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I quite liked this book but...
The novel is about a youngish married man who loses both his well paid London accoutancy job as an accountant and wife to another man. He moves to Hampshire to temporarily look after his brothers cycle shop while his brother is recovering from an accident. He finds himself attracted to, then falling in love with the young shops mechanic/assistant who is living with an...
Published on 2 Dec 2012 by Graemey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 May 2012
By 
EBR45 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Tail (Kindle Edition)
The first novel I have read by this author and am now eagerly looking forward to reading more. It had me laughing out loud. Dont miss out. You wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I quite liked this book but..., 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Tail (Kindle Edition)
The novel is about a youngish married man who loses both his well paid London accoutancy job as an accountant and wife to another man. He moves to Hampshire to temporarily look after his brothers cycle shop while his brother is recovering from an accident. He finds himself attracted to, then falling in love with the young shops mechanic/assistant who is living with an abusive closeted man. It is set in a place I know and lived for a few years, I enjoyed the description of places and an area I knew. Jamie Merrow has a lively, witty style of writing and although the book is a bit of a M/M equivalent of a "chicklit" and the plot and ending somewhat predictable, it is an ok read. What lets it down for me are the sex scenes. Admittedly there are not many, but like so many books of this genre, at this point it tips over into what I can only describe as porn. To be fair, few writers of this genre seem to get this right - Anthony Mcdonald, Sean Kennedy and Nick Alexander being notable exceptions, able to handle the subject with subtlety and skill and without descending into crude, graphic details. Perhaps some men - even women - like this. I don't. For me it just seems vulgar and lets an otherwise reasonable book down. At the start of the read I was thinking 4 stars, by by the end 2 stars. But to be fair it is an ok book and so I would give it 3 stars. Sorry that I cannot rate it higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy read., 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Tail (Kindle Edition)
This book isn't deep or inspiring, nor is it meant to be. It's simply a fun light hearted read and unlike some books in this genre was actually enjoyable and a good page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Tail (Kindle Edition)
I like mountain biking and gay novels. Here I found a book that combines the two.
It was well written and had good moments of humour. I loved the characters and was interested in how they and the story developed. I have not read anything else by this author but I will in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real nice book, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Tail (Kindle Edition)
Read a bit of a dodgy book by J L Merrow called "Light the fire"
Had already downloaded "Hard tail" so thought oh well get it out of the way I've paid for it.
What a delight, such a nice story, I'm into Mountain bikes, not they feature to much.
It's just nice bloke'y type gay guys,
Lots of flirting and misunderstanding, usual fare, but enjoyable.
Have bought "White Mischief" on the strength of "Hard Tail" Two chapters in and so far quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a Great Read, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Tail (Kindle Edition)
J L Merrow is one of my favourite author. I have read most of her books and enjoyed them. Hard Tail is also a very enjoyable book with very lovable characters. It really had me laughing out loud. Highly Recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyable page turning romp, 3 Aug 2013
By 
Steven Ballinger (Columbia, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Tail (Kindle Edition)
I'm no literacy expert but I really enjoyed this romp. It moved quickly and apart from a few rushed character developments it was a fun and believable read. Sex scenes were hit but not gratuitous and the way Merrow writes is natural and not pretentious. Just bought another by the same author based in this and recommend Hard Tail for a great story, great characters and a bit of erotica grown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Tail (Kindle Edition)
Read a couple of books by this author and really enjoy the writing style,good characters, pleasant story, humour and good well written m/m sex scenes.

Being British also enjoy the UK setting but some idioms may be difficult for non brits to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of my favourites, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Tail (Kindle Edition)
Some spoilers below...
I have read this book 6 times since I've bought it - I absolutely adore this book - this was the first of Merrow's that I'd read and now I've read nearly all of hers just based on how much I loved this book. It's pretty much love at first sight for Tim and you do really feel for him as he tries to hide his feelings for Matt as well as the fact that he has those feelings for a man, worried about others reaction that will make him seem even more of a failure especially as he feels overshadowed by his older brother. It all comes to a head when he realises just how much of an arse Matt's boyfriend is and confrontation ensues, leading to a tender scene between Tim and Matt as they both admit how they feel. This book is perfect in having a very well written character in Tim, being not too angsty, and having some great humour threaded throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved the humour; Loved the Story (I've even started making my own lunches!), 10 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Tail (Kindle Edition)
Witty. Urban. Laugh out aloud. Modern. Quite a first read for me from this author. If the bike shop existed i would buy a bike myself from there. Loved it. Excellent writing and some very acute one liners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard Tail
Hard Tail by JL Merrow
£2.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews