Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this
Ahh, check out this album if you like classic English pop music. McLagan's keyboards, Marriot's vocals and guitar playing, Ronnie Lane's bass, oh and although he never cut it with The Who, Jones drumming fits perfectly. Humour, psychedelia, storylines. God bless 'em. One of the UK's most underrated bands - I don't think so. The Small faces kicked ass. Listen to them and...
Published on 23 Nov 2004 by Steven Aitken

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Improvement in Sound Quality
The Amazon product description for this reissue says that Mac and Kenney Jones, the surviving group members, oversaw its remastering, which led me to believe that this would finally be mastered from the long-promised original session tapes. This sounds no better than the five other versions of this great CD that I already own. What's the point?
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by Billy Music


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Improvement in Sound Quality, 6 Feb 2012
By 
Billy Music (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ogden's Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
The Amazon product description for this reissue says that Mac and Kenney Jones, the surviving group members, oversaw its remastering, which led me to believe that this would finally be mastered from the long-promised original session tapes. This sounds no better than the five other versions of this great CD that I already own. What's the point?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this, 23 Nov 2004
By 
Steven Aitken (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ogdens Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
Ahh, check out this album if you like classic English pop music. McLagan's keyboards, Marriot's vocals and guitar playing, Ronnie Lane's bass, oh and although he never cut it with The Who, Jones drumming fits perfectly. Humour, psychedelia, storylines. God bless 'em. One of the UK's most underrated bands - I don't think so. The Small faces kicked ass. Listen to them and you'll forget all about the pompous nonsense that became the Stones and Beatles. I just wish I had been in Australia in 1968...
If I could meet anyone at all it would have to be Rene!!!! I bet she has a few stories to tell. Mods forever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gor Blimey Guv!!, 21 July 2004
This review is from: Ogdens Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
Pre-dating Tommy by a good year, Ogden's is generally regarded as the first ever concept album. And this from a bunch of East End Herberts previously only known for their distinctive brand of two minute blue eyed soul.
The songs on show are some of the best recorded by the band, from the opening pyschedelic oomph of the title track, through to the cockney singalong of closing tune Happy Days Toy Town, this lp is joyously uplifting, seriously groovy, and not a little barking too.
Two of my favourite Faces tunes are onboard - Afterglow is one of Stevie's best vocal performances ever, and Ronnie himself once referred to Song of a Baker as his "finest hour".
Stanley Unwin's gobbledegook narrative on the B side is a little irritating after umpteen playings, and the same goes for Lazy Sunday, but all in all, this is a fabulous slice of late sixties rock.
And they looked fantastic too...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 60's concept album, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ogden's Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
An album of two halves, but both brilliant.
First half highlight is 'Rene' the Dockers delight and the 2nd side which had a charming little story read between tracks by Stanley Unwin. 2nd half highlight 'Lazy Sunday'.
Amazing album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from my past, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The sound quality is up there with the best, it is good to have a reissue in mono and the work done by the producer and sound engineer is exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL GREAT AFTER 42 YEARS., 10 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ogden's Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
There cannot be many pop music inclined people left on the planet who haven't heard of this lp,suffice to say that Steve Marriott was at the top of his game vocally and song writing wise.A brilliant mix of soulful rock,tongue in cheek psychedelia & cockney music hall inspired humour,there was nothing like this before or since,and Steve Marriott was the real deal,a geniune East Ender at a time when that meant something culturally.Add the brilliantly twisted wordplay of the great Stanley Unwin and you have a unique recording.A top notch album that will make you laugh as well.Have a deepy joyload one and always,stay cool and dangly won't you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 15 Sep 2000
By A Customer
The Small Faces at their best. Marriott's singing, Lane's base, Maclagen's organ and Jones' drumming are all spot on. Just close your eyes and listen to the (instrumental) title track. You'll know exactly what it's about, and that's rare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful !!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake (DELUX 3CD ROUND PACKAGE) (Audio CD)
Superb ! As good as when first released. Love the alternative mixes etc. Wonderful album from a wonderful band ! Faultless !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Woodland Dweller, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ogden's Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
It's a Classic, by the best musicians in the music world around at the time,and sorely missed. Steve Marriotts vocals. Priceless!
What can you say, it'll live forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul Weller's favourite album, 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ogdens Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
This is Mr Weller's favourite album and also one of mine. It is unique because of the addition of Stanley Unwin talking his hilarious nonsense on all the later tracks. I always laugh and smile when I hear it. The music is great too, with Lazy Sunday Afternoon the smash pop hit. I only give it 4 stars because some of the early tracks are not that catchy and dont have Mr Unwin on them. But I would give it 4.75 out of 5. Buy this if you've never heard of mr Unwin. You will be amazed. Apparently he was a late replacement for Spike Milligan. I bought it when I read it was Weller's fav album and you should too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake (DELUX 3CD ROUND PACKAGE)
Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake (DELUX 3CD ROUND PACKAGE) by The Small Faces (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews