Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars diamond in the rough
This little unit has shocked me over the last weekend i have purchased 4 surround sound cinema systems and all i wanted them to do is connect to my HD tv and play optical audio in place of the tv's standard speakers also to connect to my pc and do the same.
the three other systems audio was intermittent the sound would drop out every few seconds one of them i could...
Published on 28 Oct. 2012 by Luke (ptb)

versus
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5.1 Surround Sound System with DVD
Panasonic SC-XH70 DVD 400W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System (New for 2012)
Arrived on time and set up with just front speakers and subwoofer. Tested radio and good sound, and very loud if required. Tested TV sound through system and much improved on the TV speakers as expected. Played DVD through TV and picture quality good. All seemed well until the sound level turned...
Published on 17 Aug. 2012 by DH01


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5.1 Surround Sound System with DVD, 17 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-XH170 DVD 1000W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System with 1080P conversion (Electronics)
Panasonic SC-XH70 DVD 400W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System (New for 2012)
Arrived on time and set up with just front speakers and subwoofer. Tested radio and good sound, and very loud if required. Tested TV sound through system and much improved on the TV speakers as expected. Played DVD through TV and picture quality good. All seemed well until the sound level turned to low whereupon the DVD/cd platter could be heard rotating. Tried various disc's incase the disc was the problem. Unfortunately not. This item returned and new one received the next day (Great Service) Set up and alas the same problem. Since when I will listen to the system in my new place the sound will not be set to low !!!!! So for me a minor inconvenience. For the price it is a good system. If you like low volume not for you, if your set is more than 3 metres from listening location it would not be heard(Platter that is). Decided to keep system as within budget and for the money its OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars diamond in the rough, 28 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Panasonic SC-XH170 DVD 1000W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System with 1080P conversion (Electronics)
This little unit has shocked me over the last weekend i have purchased 4 surround sound cinema systems and all i wanted them to do is connect to my HD tv and play optical audio in place of the tv's standard speakers also to connect to my pc and do the same.
the three other systems audio was intermittent the sound would drop out every few seconds one of them i could not make the audio match the video which was a Philips unit and the problem did not look like it was getting resolved as no firmware update was working, it seems most of these lower priced units are only made for dvd/blue ray cinema experience.

So buy this unit use my experience i am glad to say i do not have to return this system :D so far fingers crossed.
while searching for a surround sound cinema system visiting numerous shops not a single person could answer my most basic of questions at least not with a straight answer use reviews :P

i have tried

Samsung
Philips
Polaroid

and this unit knocks spots of them as said there are better units out there but you will pay a huge amount more then £150
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great sound, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-XH170 DVD 1000W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System with 1080P conversion (Electronics)
best surround sound system i have bought and easy to set up i would recommend it to anyone im well pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, Really Good Sound Watching Movies!, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-XH170 DVD 1000W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System with 1080P conversion (Electronics)
This is ideal, I wanted something small in size but with some power and this fits the bill perfectly. As our lounge is only small a larger system would be too obtrusive, but having 1000w output it really shakes the walls when you want it to. I also have a Panasonic TV so the veira link means you can watch movies or listen to your music from a usb stick with ease. If you want a low priced sound system with big noise then buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dvd tray, 18 Sept. 2013
By 
Dennis Vessey (louth,lincs, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-XH170 DVD 1000W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System with 1080P conversion (Electronics)
quite pleased overall. although dvd tray would not open on romote controle.but did not think it was worth sending back for this problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb quality sound., 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-XH170 DVD 1000W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System with 1080P conversion (Electronics)
Now I enjoy my dvds can listen to good quality music. It like a real cinema. I love the super quality sound of Panasonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic SC-XH70 DVD 400W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Panasonic SC-XH70 DVD 400W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System (New for 2012)

Sadly I was misled by most of the reviews for this product, as it was only after ordering that I discovered they were for a different model. They were for the more expensive Panasonic SC-XH170 DVD 1000W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System, having said that I am most impressed with the SC-XH70 package. It is very easy and straight forward to install/set up and the sound is more that adequate for a 'Home' TV surround sound system. The speakers and DVD are well packed and protected for delivery, speaker cables are supplied as part of the package which aids installation straight out of the box. The front, centre and rear speakers are small, but the sound quality is excellent, clear and crisp. The Subwoofer although quite small in size gives very nice Bass tones and can also be controlled independently to the other 5 speakers and this allows greater flexibility in the setting up your system. There are 'Scart', 'Phono' and 'HDMI' connections on the rear, but sadly no 'Optical' connector which I believe should be provided as standard in this day and age. I have not used the DVD other than to check it was working OK when setting up, but all seemed fine and to the usual standards, also I have not experienced (to date) of any problems with any 'noisy' DVD/CD platter, that was reported in another review of this product.. Perhaps worth pointing out that the setting up of the speakers, etc. needs to be done when DVD mode is selected on the remote control (press Start) or read the Operating Manual supplied. So to sum up overall, it is a well produced package giving a very good surround sound experience for the price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great system with VIERA Link & ARC, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-XH170 DVD 1000W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System with 1080P conversion (Electronics)
Purchased this from Amazon Warhouse, was still a brand new product, all wrapped and sealed.

Primary use for this is to complement existing Panasonic G20 plasma TV which has VIERA link and ARC. Therefore as soon as you turn the TV on the speakers also turn on and even using the sky remote to adjust volume adjusts the speaker volume rather than the TV. Was a bit fiddly to set up, need to remember to enable ARC & VIERA link on the DVD setup menus.

Other than that the speakers are fantastic for less that £150, and easy enough to operate for my parents as use existing setup - nothing changes! Impressed overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic Cinema System, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-XH170 DVD 1000W 5.1 Channel Home Cinema System with 1080P conversion (Electronics)
We bought this product to replace a 5 year old version, also a Panasonic.
The system works very well and was easy to set up. The sound quality on this unit
is far superior to the one it has replaced. If the price and specification, suit your budget,
you should not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 12 May 2014
Especially good with my Panasonic 50" Plasma (which I also love) as it has Viera Link which means everything can be controlled from the TV remote, the home cinema switches on and off with the TV and only an HDMI cable is needed for the picture and sound.

Love Panasonic TV/Home Cinema - I have never been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews