Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Disco Classic.
The original 7 track album was released by GTO records in the UK in 1978 and is a classic of the genre.The first single was the bright and breezy 'From East To West' with female vocals,and a long intro,sounding like a prototype for house music the following decade.Though the B side,'Scot's Machine' (the original title on my single from '77 is an uptempo instrumental with...
Published on 1 Jun 2012 by F. J. Smith

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive compiling left in travesty due to destructive loudness & EQ added to source transfers
At last we have a comprehensively expanded release of these cult disco gems on Disco Recharge. I was so looking forward to listening to these after hearing the great sound on the 2009 Discharge releases from Demon Music Group's sub-label, Harmless Records. Included on this new release, amongst other rarities, is the first of rare 1978 special instrumental albums of tracks...
Published 23 months ago by James Jay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive compiling left in travesty due to destructive loudness & EQ added to source transfers, 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Recharge: Voyage (Audio CD)
At last we have a comprehensively expanded release of these cult disco gems on Disco Recharge. I was so looking forward to listening to these after hearing the great sound on the 2009 Discharge releases from Demon Music Group's sub-label, Harmless Records. Included on this new release, amongst other rarities, is the first of rare 1978 special instrumental albums of tracks from this album Voyage and the follow up, Fly Away, given to DJ's for promotional use.

So it was to my utter disbelief and sickening shock, when on playing this expanded release that I found the recordings have been ruined by someone post master tape transfer having added destructive loudness and EQ. I find listening painful, headache and listener fatigue experienced due to overwhelming loud frequencies. I notice high frequencies have been clipped and the girls vocals and the base noticeably begin to break apart at times and are continually distorted due to levels made too loud by the mastering. My ears hurt and I have a headache after a minute of listening at my normal volume level. I turn the volume control right down to background music level, but I am unable to turn down the LOUDNESS. The levels of the vocals are still 'shouting' and base booming, each of which the sound begins to break up at times.

I then spin the 1978 vinyl pressing and 1993 U.S. CD pressing my ears no longer hurt, I don't get fatigued. I enjoy hearing the dynamics of the original recordings which can be heard in the 1978 and 1993 pressings, but this has been killed in the 2012 release. I'm frustrated I can't enjoy listening to any of the tracks on 2012 release. But I'm not a moaning audiophile. I know when my ears hurt and when I get a headache. I also found the same mastering fault with the follow up Harmless expanded release of Voyage - Fly Away. I simply can't listen to these CD's without experiencing headache and fatigue. The MP3's of this 2012 release also use the same painful mastering.

Such a travesty when clearly so much time has been spent on source transfers, compiling and liner notes for which I'm very grateful to all those involved at Harmless.

This reduces what would have been an overall 5 star customer rating from me for this release due to comprehensive track compiling and value for two discs of content, to only 2 stars.

** Update 12/09/12. It's not a problem due to mastering at Harmless. Notification received that the licensor Square Peg who owns the master rights, and licensed the transfers made by Telemusic in France who provided the sound, and that the mastering engineer hired by Harmless hardly touched them. The levels were therefore altered before they reached licensee Harmless, which of course should usually be left to the licensee and their mastering engineer to decide how they want the recordings to sound. Sadly this also means the same altered transfers may be used by the master rights owner on compilations in future if kept as reference copies rather than the expense of transferring tapes again **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of music but disappointing sound quality, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Recharge: Voyage (Audio CD)
The old official cd-r edition has a far better sound than this. It's too much compressed in favor of bass frequencies and most of the electronic effects are overshadowed. What a pity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Disco Classic., 1 Jun 2012
By 
F. J. Smith (Marlow, Bucks, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Recharge: Voyage (Audio CD)
The original 7 track album was released by GTO records in the UK in 1978 and is a classic of the genre.The first single was the bright and breezy 'From East To West' with female vocals,and a long intro,sounding like a prototype for house music the following decade.Though the B side,'Scot's Machine' (the original title on my single from '77 is an uptempo instrumental with bagpipes (which really sounds great)was listed in the charts with 'From East To West'
The whole album is a musical disco trip around the world ,including a short hoe-down (Bayou Village) and African percussive track (Point Zero-the UK follow up)the only other vocal track being the catchy male sung 'Lady America".All tracks on both sides of the original album segue seamlessly together and the musicianship by the French combo is brilliantly done;i have loved this album since it's release and it warrants repeated listening.
This 2 cd release has a plethora of bonus tracks,including 12" versions and pre-Voyage tracks;it's a must buy even if you have the original cd release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Missed Opportunity, 7 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Recharge: Voyage (Audio CD)
I was so looking forward to the release of this CD, but I can't tell you how disappointed I am with the sound quality. Loud and compressed? Don't ask! Having bought all but one of Harmless' Disco Discharge series which, overall, has very good sound quality, I was expecting much better than this. Why go to all the effort of gathering 2 CD's worth of material, including unreleased tracks only to ruin it with bad remastering. I don't know if original masters were used, but if they were then it's even more of a travesty.

It's unlikely that Voyage's back catalogue will be released again with so many bonus tracks. So it's a real missed opportunity and I'm sad about that. I'm guessing that the other releases from Disco Recharge will be mastered the same way, but I'm hopeful that someone will listen and not ruin the music with compression. Keeping the dynamic range of the music just sounds so much better and it's the way the music should sound!

I'll be holding out on buying any more releases from Disco Recharge until I read some reviews first. I really want to love this series from Harmless the way I love Disco Discharge but the jury's out at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disco quality, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disco Recharge: Voyage (Audio CD)
Voyage is the title of this fabulous debut album from a European Disco group also called Voyage. This album has an incredible production and still sounds magnificent over thirty years after its conception and release.
Although this album has been released before on CD this new edition brings together all of the original album and associated tracks including instrumental mixes. extended mixes and alternative versions as well as extra tracks from the same recording era. This is a great release as an expanded edition.
Other people have found issues with the sound in this release. I do not find any worrying problem with it myself. However when compared to the previous release on sirocco records label 1993 there is no clear improvement either. But then again it is not strongly inferior either. The best thing over that earlier direct transfer is the expanded nature of the release.
If all you want is the original album and you have the previous CD edition you don't really need this one. However it does have much to offer in its own right and it is nicely presented.
Voyage comes from the Classic Disco era of the mid to late seventies. The album is full of creativity and there are some amazing arrangements.
The album as well as its single releases were a massive hit in the Disco clubs in 1978 and 1979. The singles did chart in countries around the world. In the UK the group had two chart singles in 1978 and 1979, the double A-side, "From East To West" / "Scotch Machine" (the latter song retitled "Scots Machine" because the term "Scotch" is generally considered offensive in Scotland) reached number thirteen in 1978. From east to west began as the main track as air play on radio and as the single slipped down the chart Scots Machine was picked up and flipped helping the single to climb the chart again. while later "Souvenirs" made number fifty-six, (a version of that track is included here as instrumental) This was despite the the fact that the main radio stations ignored the singles for air play in favour of more punk and rock based music.
In the USA only the single Souvenirs charted briefly on the Billboard hot 100 but tracks from the album and the singles were massively popular in the clubs.
Voyage was a European disco group, consisting of lead vocalist Sylvia Mason-James, along with Slim Pezin (guitar/vocals), Marc Chantereau (keyboards/vocals), Sauveur Mallia (bass) and Pierre-Alain Dahan (drums/vocals).
Voyage came on a wave of creativity in the Disco underground club world that rarely was as popular in the charts as it was in the Disco. This album illustrates the sort of creativity that was around. All of the album has some very imaginative things going on. From east to west and Scots machine do stand out as very original and there is a great atmosphere. The Dance element is strong but the album offers up some interesting listening even from a chair and the home hi fi. You don't have to dance to this stuff to enjoy its incredible originality. It is a magic album from a special time of the Disco era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disco Recharge: Voyage
Disco Recharge: Voyage by Voyage (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews