Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stove.
This is an updated version of the Camping Chef. Much better as it folds properly into a case. Some shops are bundling this with a Camping Gas 907 bottle. Don't buy this as the bottle is not big enough to continuously power this 5,300 watt stove. Buy a Calor Gas 3.9 propane and regulator instead, unless you are going abroad.

It has better windshields than...
Published 20 months ago by David Grant

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars shame
Shame - the self lighting mechanism is brilliant and a big improvement but the grill is a complete waste of space - at least on the previous model it would do toast (camping bread is often a bit stale and being able to toast is useful).

Main cooker is good though
Published 11 months ago by Stephen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stove., 27 Dec 2012
By 
David Grant (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Campingaz Camping Chef Vario Camping Stove (Sports)
This is an updated version of the Camping Chef. Much better as it folds properly into a case. Some shops are bundling this with a Camping Gas 907 bottle. Don't buy this as the bottle is not big enough to continuously power this 5,300 watt stove. Buy a Calor Gas 3.9 propane and regulator instead, unless you are going abroad.

It has better windshields than the Chef and is lighter.
On the minus side, it is slightly lower powered though this brings it slightly more in line with being able to use a 907 bottle.

It has a fixed simmer stop whch is very useful. Two full size burners, which may or may not be useful as sometimes a slow burner is a good idea. It would probably have been better if one burner was more powerful (say 2500 watts) and one less powerful (say 1500watts) rather than having 2 x 2000 watt burners. It also has a grill.

It has press button ignition.

The grill is a bit disappointing, small and low powered. If you really do not need the grill, then go for the Camping Kitchen instead, which has two different sized burners, a fixed simmer setting and the option of using indoors if you have the Stopgas version. The Camping Kitchen however, doesn't carry in its own case and doesn't have piezo ignition.

I would recommend not using a Campingaz 907 container with this stove as using all three burners is inhibited by the maximum gas take off rate of the container. Better go for a Calor Gas 4.5kg and 109 regulator or even better, especially in winter, a 3.9Kg propane with POL105 regulator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great camping stove., 24 July 2012
This review is from: Campingaz Camping Chef Vario Camping Stove (Sports)
I've just unwrpped this camping stove and have given a quick run, so this is just an initial opion of how it works, but it looks very promising.

Pros: works great, robust, compact design, toast feature!
Cons: None really

This really does seem like a great camping stove. The first thing you notice is the compact design. It looks very well built. The blue metalwork and the clever way the lid closes are a nice touch.

It comes with a hose and two clips, but you will need to buy a regulator to connect it to your gas bottle. It all connects quite easily. The wind protectors do look like the will be pretty effective as they really shelter the burners on three sides. Allthough I haven't tried this in the wind myself the deflectors seem simmilar to the Coleman ones that work very well.

The spark button works great and lights the burners with no trouble. The burners produce a nice even flame, and their appears to be a good level of control of the burner with the knob. If anything, I would have hoped that the burners produce a somewhat larger flame, but they boiled 1 lter of water in less than the quoted 7 minutes. This stove produces the equivlent of 5300w of heat, so it has not trouble cooking well.

The toast/grill feature works surprisingly well and allows you to toast two slices of bread (one side at a time) fairly quickly and evenly.

This two burner stove does cost more than the others on the market, but it really is much better. I would definately reccomend this camping stove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars shame, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Campingaz Camping Chef Vario Camping Stove (Sports)
Shame - the self lighting mechanism is brilliant and a big improvement but the grill is a complete waste of space - at least on the previous model it would do toast (camping bread is often a bit stale and being able to toast is useful).

Main cooker is good though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A popular and easy to use stove for family camping, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Campingaz Camping Chef Vario Camping Stove (Sports)
This stove is so easy to use, which is just what you need on a camping holiday with two hungry and impatient small children! Water boiled as quickly as expected, and the grill and burners lit first time, every time. We had no problem cooking meals on it for our family of four.

After reading other reviews I remembered to order a regulator separately (a Calor and a Campingaz one, to keep my options open) and I also ordered the legs set for the stove - I now can't imagine using the stove without legs, they made everything so much easier and safer than having the stove on the ground or balanced on a higher surface.

It was a popular choice on the camp site we last visited, and I can really see why. Hopefully we will have many more holidays with it in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for tents, poor for grilling, 13 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Campingaz Camping Chef Vario Camping Stove (Sports)
Neatly packaged for transporting, lit every time of asking and produced a good flame. But the grill/toaster! Completely hopeless, we resorted to toasting on top of the grill where most of the heat appeared to be coming from. There was also a small metal bracket attached to the lid which did not seem to serve any purpose and was not mentioned in the accompanying instruction for use.
Efficient by campstove standards, we used it with calor gas, with which it coped admirably. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Campingaz Camping Chef Vario Camping Stove (Sports)
Excellent quality product. Value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very impressed, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Georgios Lekodimitris (Athens ,Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Campingaz Camping Chef Vario Camping Stove (Sports)
Although I havent use it yet I was impressed by the design and the portability of this camping gaz..big advance is the side wind protections and the case mechanism
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well built, 24 July 2013
This review is from: Campingaz Camping Chef Vario Camping Stove (Sports)
It's a lovely looking thing - folds down well, very sturdy, etc.
The big downside is that the grill is SO hopeless that I have actually come onto here to see whether other people found the same, as I was thinking it is faulty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camping stove with useless grill!, 4 Sep 2013
This review is from: Campingaz Camping Chef Vario Camping Stove (Sports)
It is a great stove, with inbuilt ignition and wind guards at the back and sides. It is very light weight which makes it easy to transport. It is also very easy to clean. However, the grill is useless! When cooking a full English breakfast we find the grill is good for keeping the sausages warm, after they have already been cooked, whilst we fry the eggs, bacon et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Bonnie (N.W. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Campingaz Camping Chef Vario Camping Stove (Sports)
It has some great features such as the side wind shields, but the grill pan is minute and will only take one standard slice of bread for toasting..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Campingaz Camping Chef Vario Camping Stove
51.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews