Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BDPS790 BluRay player
I acquired this machine to allow 3D (and 24p) playback which my Home Cinema receiver (Arcam AVR600) does not support. As such, the functionality to split the two HDMI outputs to send video via HDMI1 to the TV and audio via HDMI2 to the Arcam was key and I was pleased to confirm that this works exactly as expected once the appropriate option is selected in the menu...
Published on 21 May 2012 by Susan from Sussex

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stuttering awfulness
Tried two of these but both developed the same fault: the screen pixelates and then the audio and screen stutter on and off so that watching anything is simply not possible. The fault is apparent on both blu-rays and iPlayer and does not improve with latest firmware. Award winner - Sony cashing in - cue factory re-runs with cheaper components? Don't know for certain but...
Published 8 months ago by Chermillikan


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work with BBCi Player, 4 Oct 2013
This review is from: Sony BDPS790 3D SMART Blu-ray Player with Built-in Wi-Fi (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Just bought this Sony Blue Ray player to replace the Bdps370. I agree that it is a great product but it does NOT work with BBCi player (It works with Lovefilm and Demand Five) and I just want to watch BBCi! The message SSL ALarm Display keeps popping up. I've tried to get some response from Sony - it's like trying to scale pages and pages of FAQs. I've factory reset the connection and switched on/off. Does anybody else have the same problem?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good bluray player, average media player, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDPS790 3D SMART Blu-ray Player with Built-in Wi-Fi (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
After about 4 months I'm fairly happy with this player. It produces a crisp image for bluray discs. We use the media player for BBC's iPlayer and for Love Film. Both work fine about 80% of the time, however the other 20% of the time the player seems to lock up and only disconnecting power will get it working again. Also, it seems to be a bit hit and miss with playing AVIs - these work most of the time, but occassionally they don't. MKV and MP4 seems to work well.

Overall happy with the purchase. I've not yet tried 3D blurays yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Sony, 22 Jun 2013
By 
Campbell Braid "cbraid4" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDPS790 3D SMART Blu-ray Player with Built-in Wi-Fi (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this last week.What an amazing little Blu ray player.I'm also pleased to say that I saved myself 20 odd pounds buy purchasing from the Amazon marketplace.
Highly recommended.Brings ordinary DVDS to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Briliant, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDPS790 3D SMART Blu-ray Player with Built-in Wi-Fi (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
By far the best Blu Ray player I've come across. The picture is incredibly sharp and the 3D is quite breathtaking with no ghosting or blur to speak of.

Loading times of discs is very quick and I've encountered no playback issues at all. Apps such as Netflix and BBC iPlayer stream seamlessly and the quality of the HD picture is again, unbelieveable given it's being streamed over a wireless connection (built in wifi, no adapter required :-)).

The amount of free 3D content available through the Sony Entertainment Network is great for showcasing the full capabilities of the player and showing off if you have guests.

The unit itself is quite impressive and expensive looking with a touch screen onboard display and boarts two HDMI ports, one to connect to your TV and another for a sound system.

The unit is also future proof in that it's capeable of 4K upscaling (for those with deep pockets).

I have this connected to a 47inch LG TV, so quite a large unit but still incredible clarity. The best Blu Ray player on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic all Round., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDPS790 3D SMART Blu-ray Player with Built-in Wi-Fi (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Wow this player is all i could of exspected.
Hooked up to my sony smart 3d tv this player delivers quality sound and picture image.
Up scales standard dvd's to a hd like quality. Lot's of great feature's and easy to use.
Very inpressed with this item and wow's everyone who's seen it !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDPS790 3D SMART Blu-ray Player with Built-in Wi-Fi (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Okay so many of you complain it is noisy, no it is the quietest sony blu ray player i have heard to date. This is a blu ray player meant for people with high end TVs, it has better technology compared to some older and cheaper models, which means it wont make a difference if you have a rubbish TV. It has wi-fi, yeah it works fine and is cool i guess, it has all the apps and more settings than the cheaper blu ray players, but you will have to change the tv settings not the blu ray players if you want to make the picture as clear as you can. I would recommend only buying this if you have a tv over 200hz. Its a high end player that really feels high end, the remote aswell, wow its amazing, the best remote i have ever owned, all the buttons click and it has a beautiful finish on the top. WARNING: only buy with high end TV, remember this it is the only way this blu ray player is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Sony, 19 May 2012
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony BDPS790 3D SMART Blu-ray Player with Built-in Wi-Fi (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This is Sony's flagship blu ray player for 2012 and a fine machine it is. I'm all for reduced packaging and yoy may call ne old fashioned but when I'm buying a flagship item I'd like the box to reflect that. It comes in a garish cheap and nasty box supported at each end inside by a couple of egg cartons. It is obviously sufficient because it arrived safley via courier but its predecessor; a BDP-S560 came in a well constructed smart blue and black box with good internal packaging. Ho hum, if yours arrives broken you'll have a good idea why.

The player itself continues Sony's trend of getting ever smaller. It is the industry standard 430mm wide but its only 190mm deep and 45mm high. Very few people will not have room for one of these. Sony have eschewed the usual black finish and gone for a very smart graduated glossy dark grey for the top, similar in appearance to a lot of Panasonic plasma pedestals. There are no visible controls, there is a soft touch power button on the left hand side which in turn illuminates a set of three on the right for play, eject and stop. All very high tech but I suspect many of these will be turned on by dusting and polishing.

The remote is a flimsy little thing that weighs nothing. It has a shiny gloss strip down each side which arrives with a protective film on it. The buttons are quite 'clicky' and plasticky but it is well designed with the main functions falling easily under your thumb. What is missing is the 'time' button. I always like to have the read out counting down on my previous player so I could see how much of the film was left. I'll have to read the manual to see if I can still do that.

The machine comes with a power lead already fitted so if you have spent out on a decent one like a Yello then you'll be frustrated. There are two HDMI outlets, HDMI 1 will carry both audio and video signals to your tv or modern receiver but if you have what they like to call a 'legacy' reciever (ie old) then you can seperate the signal and just send video to your tv from HDMI 1 and audio to the reciever from HDMI 2. It comes with a sticker over HDMI 2 to prevent you using it inadvertently. There are USB ports on the front and rear and a LAN port if you don't have wireless.

Because of course this player is a smart player and has a quad core processor. Wireless is bult in as is access to such features as BBC iplayer, Lovefilm, Netflix, Youtube etc. The menu system will be familiar to anyone with a Playstation and wireless set up is no more difficult than letting it identify your network and entering the key. There are many set up options but all I needed apart from the wireless was to tell it what size screen I have. It showed a default of 46" but oddly enough I had to enter mine in centimetres. I also selected the fast start up option which apparently uses up more power but makes a big difference. Start up times were like a DVD, no more making a cuppa as the film launches.

I bought this to go with a new tv which I have had for a week and enjoyed with many blu ray films from my old player. As far as 2D images go I could see no improvement over my old player which was always superb anyway. But you won't be buying this for your 2D movies will you, this player is all about 3D in which I'm a cynical new player. Using Panasonic active shutter glasses I tested it with Avatar, Tintin, Immortel and Underworld: Awakening. Avatar was breathtaking, Tintin very impressive, Immortel showed ghosting around dark images and Underworld is better in 2D.

Taking Avatar as the best example, images were pin sharp and depth of field was superb. The picture is of course darker when viewed through 3D glasses but you could change your screen setting to dynamic to compensate. I tried that with Tintin and it was too garish.

Overall summary is that this is a superb player from Sony at a lot less money than the best Panasonic which it equals. The big plus for owners of old receivers will be the ability to use 3D without changing their equipment because of the two HDMIs. Performance in all quarters is worth the money which to be honest isn't a lot for what you're getting. I haven't mentioned the fact that this player can output at 4K because there are no tvs to make use of that yet but apparently it does so if 4K is really coming then you won't need to upgrade this player for a long time if you treat yourself. Go on, you know you want it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SONY BDPS790 3D 4K UPSCALING BLUE RAY PLAYER, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Ms. Mason "video junkie" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony BDPS790 3D SMART Blu-ray Player with Built-in Wi-Fi (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Length:: 3:45 Mins

The bdp-s790 is a stunning performer and will tick everyones boxes,and has spent much time in the number 1 position.It is sonys flagship model and sports 4k upscaling giving your blue ray and dvd collection a new lease of life.Twin hdmi sockets are available enabling you to send image and sound to two devices at the same time,particularly useful i thought in an auditorium where you could monitor with a monitor before broadcasting through a projection unit.Sony has done well in the menu department staying with the familiar xcross media bar and this is my second sony to support this,there is an ethernet connection supporting lots of apps including you tube,love film,break,to name but a few.The response times of basic operation and there quietness are quite impressive,it now takes almost no time at all to load a dvd or blue ray and watch the content.Analog av receiver owners beware as these older outputs are not supported,and neither is component out,although you can get a component rca or bnc to hdmi lead,as these two mediums are interchangeable.With twin hdmi you can utilize separation,one for video,one for audio.The design of the unit is very chic,and its footprint slender,i personally am very impressed with overal performance and has sparked new life into my 4k tv,if you are serious about blue ray but do not yet want 4k native then this is the one for you.Watch this video to your left here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Web apps, 9 Jan 2014
By 
David Colver (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony BDPS790 3D SMART Blu-ray Player with Built-in Wi-Fi (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
A number of reviews have criticised the web functionality of this player. I have attached to a good quality projector and a large screen this Blu Ray player; a Humax Freesat box; and a an Apple Mac Mini. All are capable of accessing the BBC's iplayer and other web apps. The Sony is the one of these three that I choose for this kind of use, even allowing for the clanky typing through a ten-key keyboard. I find the picture quality higher and the user interface more satisfactory than the other devices.

As a Blu Ray player, it works as expected, with good sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Stunning, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDPS790 3D SMART Blu-ray Player with Built-in Wi-Fi (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I recently purchased this Blu-ray player because I am a big fan of films and have, so far, only had DVD players. The system was really easy to set-up, just plug into the wall and connect an HDMI. I have watched blu-ray on other Blu-ray players previously but when I began to watch The Hobbit, I was blown away by the amazing picture, far better than that of previous Blu-Ray players I had experienced of friends and family. I also tried a couple of DVD's and the picture was dramatically up-scaled to look almost as beautiful as the Blu-ray. The menu system is really easy to use and has some great features including the BBC iPlayer. One down-side is that the player doesn't appear to be able to resume movies from where they where last stopped if the system has been shut-down, which is a little annoying if your used to this. However, over all, this system is an absolute joy to use and has firmly turned me into a Blu-Ray fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews