Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First home cinema system
I'd often thought about adding a surround sound set up to my front room and when this came up in the Black Friday promotion I snapped it straight up.

Arrived promptly, very well packaged, all speakers colour coded for easy setup, just about enough cable on the surround speakers but could be an issue in a larger room.

You will need to purchase a HDMI...
Published on 27 Nov. 2012 by Will

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for smaller living rooms
Takes a long time to turn on, there is an option to reduce the time but it means the system is on all the time. The fan can be quite noisy but if you have the sound on at a reasonable height then you can't hear it. The cables provided for the back speakers were only just long enough and our living room is quite small. I wouldn't recommend this system for a larger room...
Published 19 months ago by Gemma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent enough system, 11 Jun. 2012
By 
Zola fan "Nana" (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony BDVE190 300W 3D Blu-ray Home Cinema System (Old model) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are plenty of reviews here from those who know their way around a home theatre system. As a novice in this field, here are my impressions making a direct comparison to the in-built speakers of my 42" plasma TV.

The 5 speakers are compact, fitting easily on the TV table and furniture surfaces around my medium-sized living room. I found them to be very clearly labelled and colour coordinated both on the cable ends and the connections at the back of the Blu-ray player. This enabled a fast and easy set-up. The cables themselves were more than long enough to allow the peripheral speakers to sit in their correct positions and the Blu-ray player connects easily to any of the TV HDMI inputs.

Once all connected, the menu has a useful speaker setup mode, where the user can select the distance from the listener and also how loud each should be. There are 5 different audio settings to optimise various types of media and an FM radio setting if desired.

The blu-ray quality is excellent and compares well with my existing unit, which cost more than this entire system. The improvement in quality of DVDs is very noticeable to the untrained eye and the sound is a revelation. Subtle details in the soundtrack of movies are now revealed in great clarity and the surround sound experience is reminiscent of the cinema. The improvement in audio detail is such that my husband no longer requires subtitling for films or TV, which has improved everyone's viewing experience. The bass unit has been criticised for lacking punch, but as already noted, it is more than adequate for an average sized room, especially given that it does not have a dedicated power supply.

The unit is "Wi-Fi ready" which means that wireless playback, including streaming from a PC, is an option. However, the downside is that this requires an additional wireless dongle, available from Sony for £50. There is also only a single HDMI output, so to receive audio from a sat-box or Sky box you must buy a separate optical audio cable.

Other than these trivial gripes, the unit is a fantastic upgrade from the built-in speaker system of modern TVs and the blu-ray quality exceeds expectations. Recommended for anyone looking to upgrade to the next level of audio/visual enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sony blu-ray sound system, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDVE190 300W 3D Blu-ray Home Cinema System (Old model) (Electronics)
everything you could possibly need for in home entertainment at a reasonable price,easy to operate & install,with the end result very satisfying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but noisy fan, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDVE190 300W 3D Blu-ray Home Cinema System (Old model) (Electronics)
Into 10 days of having this and 51% in favor of keeping it, overall a good product let down by a couple of things here is why: -

1. Noisy fan , maybe just my unit as not seen in another review that has a similar issue but its really loud, we used an iphone app to measure the sound out the back of the unit and it read 70 decibels, the Panasonic sound system we have similar spec at same distance read 60 decibels. Basically we cannot here the Panasonic fan and the Sony we can hear the fan over low volumes sitting at a distance of 3 meters away.

2. Unable to control a file being streamed via DNLA connection, only play and stop work. It was on a very large file and don't expect many people are going to worry about this, its a nice to have for me as have others of getting access to this but disappointing.

The good, if you have a PS3 this will be like like home for you to navigate, very easy to use. The main reason I got this device is access to Lovefilm and Netflix in one box. I have an old Panasonic TV that has a great picture but no smart features, this is a nice easy way if upgrading the TV for little money when compared to forking out for a whole new TV. The ondemand side works very well, not just Lovefilm and Netflix but iplayer etc. However have a Youview box now and this connects to the Sony for the Sony to sort the sound out, if only it wasn't that noisy fan. After writing this going to see if can exchange it, just a lot of boxes (speakers) to pack away! Will update this depending how it goes.

Picture compared to similar priced Panasonic we have from blu-ray player Sony is better, in fact makes our Panasonic Plasma look great, sound not as good as the Panasonic, even ignoring the fan (when we can) its just about OK but this is not a lot of money and for the small lounge we have OK, would say vocals are just about acceptable.

HDMI control doesn't work with the Panasonic, not the end of the world just need to use all of the remotes and I didn't expect it to work, if you have a non Sony TV you might be lucky and the HDMI controls may turn on and off your TV and control the TV speakers off / on but consider it a bonus if it does.

UPDATE MAY 2013.
Fan still noisy and enough to think about changing it, shame as in other respects it does an OK job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the slightly higher cost, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDVE190 300W 3D Blu-ray Home Cinema System (Old model) (Electronics)
My first ever surround sound system and I am quite happy. It's only a low wattage (300w) but for my size living room (18ft x 14ft) it works a treat, the sound is good and the picture quality is great though I haven't tested a DVD yet.

Installation was easy as Sony have colour coded connectors for each speaker and the speaker cables were just long enough for me. Setup was nice and easy and assuming your modem is close by (mine was) then the blu ray player will carry out a few updates too.

The only negatives with the surround sounds system is the home screen for the blu ray player is a very clunky version of the Playstation 3's XMB, it is slightly slow to load and the disc tray can make a bit of noise. However overall it is very good and if you have a Sony TV like myself then everything will sync together and all work from one remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good system, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDVE190 300W 3D Blu-ray Home Cinema System (Old model) (Electronics)
My review on this top system!

The sound from the speakers are very amazing coming from the size off them, You will be blowed away from how powerful the system speakers are!
It's realy that good!!!

You feel like your in a real cinema with all the sound effects and bass power coming from the bass box and back speakers.

The system it self is very easy to setup.

The only downside i had with this system is the speaker cables what Sony made is not that long for a big room so i had to solder some speaker cable on to the ends. That's the only down side off this system!

But for my review.
All the hard work i put into setting the system up and putting the speakers onto the walls, soldering the cables to the speakers.

Still one top system.. It so paid off!!!
Very good for money to for the System you are getting.

Thank you Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDVE190 300W 3D Blu-ray Home Cinema System (Old model) (Electronics)
Up to usual Sony Quality.unfortunately my fault did not think I would require more power than this.I do.Otherwise very good sound quality and playback.For the price well worth it but it is not a final resolution just a stop gap until I can afford something better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Sound & Picture, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDVE190 300W 3D Blu-ray Home Cinema System (Old model) (Electronics)
We had a 2 year old Samsung Home Cinema Blu-ray player that was hardly used but wouldn't play discs for no apparent reason. We tried lens cleaners but no joy. I didn't expect any noticeable improvement - especially as this unit was a lot cheaper than the Samsung. When we powered it up what a surprise. easy to setup, quick start, fantastic picture a good clear sound hat isn't overpowered by the base. Excellent value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect but a bit overpriced, now I need a better TV., 23 May 2012
By 
Dinah85 "Dinah93" (Cleveland,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sony BDVE190 300W 3D Blu-ray Home Cinema System (Old model) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was lucky to have this pop up on Vine as I could never afford it otherwise. As is typical of Sony the price is at a premium and as is also typical of Sony they fail to deliver on what the price tag promises.

I found it easy to set the system up and the sound quality is good, and the compatability with the iPlayer and 4oD was fairly seamless. As has been mentioned the menu is a bit overly "look how much I can do", but I thought it was fairly ok to use.

The speakers are where this system fell down, coming from a family who earned its crust designing and building speakers the speakers just dont quite cross the finishing line. They feel a bit flimsey and have about 8 inches of cable to connect them to the main system, which I had to get replaced as there was no way I could set this up without doing so.

So as ever Sony overprice a piece of electronic equipment on grounds of marketing they just cannot back up. However, the BDVE190 is actually quite a good system overall and if you are looking for a quick and easy "no muss no fuss" system, you won't go too far wrong with this one, but if you are looking for something you can drive hard and get epic level performance from you need to look again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray player/sound system, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDVE190 300W 3D Blu-ray Home Cinema System (Old model) (Electronics)
The player picture quality is excellent though you have to wait for the system (like most) to wind up before anything can be done. The sound is only average and as with previous system, voices seem very low compared to loud special effects, which are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, just that, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony BDVE190 300W 3D Blu-ray Home Cinema System (Old model) (Electronics)
It is a good homecinema, in spite of I think it doesn't manage really well the sound sometimes. Things like music plugged into the usb, videoclips, singstar, etc, it doesn't really let you enhance or improve the sound presets.
The 360 effect is not really good either, things like helicopters doesn't sound like you have it passing over you. I expected a bit more from a Sony Home Cinema system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews