Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full of character, great fun - very French!
This is a completely charming, in places very funny hour-long animation from France. Zoe's cat has a double life - house pet during the day, accomplice to a cat burglar by night. Zoe herself is troubled. Her father, a policeman, has been shot and killed by the notorious Costa, and her mother, also a police officer, is out to catch him, so she works long hours ; Zoe...
Published on 5 July 2012 by hillbank68

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mixed thoughts
the animation is very likeable but from the trailer i thought the roof-top action was going to be more spectacular. My 2.5 year old likes it, the climax made a big impression but is hard to explain concept of madness followed by (implied) grisly death.... also this film starts its storyline with death, the death of the little girl's father, and her mum is a police...
Published 22 months ago by Miss Don


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full of character, great fun - very French!, 5 July 2012
By 
hillbank68 "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat in Paris [DVD] (DVD)
This is a completely charming, in places very funny hour-long animation from France. Zoe's cat has a double life - house pet during the day, accomplice to a cat burglar by night. Zoe herself is troubled. Her father, a policeman, has been shot and killed by the notorious Costa, and her mother, also a police officer, is out to catch him, so she works long hours ; Zoe herself, traumatised, has lost the power of speech. The two strands - Costa-chasing and the cat's night existence - come together in a fast-paced and exciting plot, with many ingenious and unexpectedly comic moments (for example, in the several appearances of a little dog called Rufus). The animation itself is very characterful, with splendid shots of Parisian rooftops, the Eiffel Tower and Notre-Dame, where the final climax happens. The style is a little like the cartoonist Fougasse. It's colourful and always attractive. We took our 4-year-old grandson to see it and he was completely engrossed - and so were we. The only slight quibble I have - which would not trouble a child at all - is the unconvincing melange of accents they've used in the English dubbing on the DVD ; American, Irish, cod German and Docklands London. Why? But it really doesn't spoil the film - and you are offered the option of the original French with subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Vie de Chat (A Cat in Paris), 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat in Paris [DVD] (DVD)
A most excellent animation enjoyed by all ages! Viva La France! The visual animation, Serge Bisset's soundtrack, action sequences and storyline is so engaging. The children have now watched it in double figures within 2 weeks of its purchase! This is a quality childrens film which makes up for the weekly limited TV allocation for the young ones. The French version is even better than the English version, which I felt had a gamut of unrealistic "english" accents (this is not a criticism but an observation). Highly recommended and beats the "Hollywood Superfluities" hands-down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish animation, 7 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat in Paris [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful little film - better watched in French with English subtitles. Very arty & the animation is lovely. Aimed at all the family but probably better for older children & adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Wolf 3 (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat in Paris [DVD] (DVD)
The film tells an absorbing story of a Parisian cat and how their presence in two families ultimately leads to them being tied up in and foiling a French criminal gang. The plot is sufficiently complicated as to be engaging without being so twisted that children will lose track of it and not so transparent that an adult will become bored.

The art style would be acceptable in any art gallery and compliments the attention to detail in the animation of A Cat in Paris perfectly. This is a film that both parents and children will be able to watch together and neither feel that it's not for them. The villain of the piece is genuinely nasty and makes a refreshing change from the dumbed down and slightly comic criminals that we have come to expect from television and film made in English. He is, however, offset by his bumbling comic relief gang who knock the edges off the harshness of their boss, making it more acceptable for children who might otherwise be frightened off.

The film is balanced perfectly and while the cat steals the show through being feline with just enough anthropomorphic/cartoonish elements to push forward the plot, you'll remember everyone in the film for the part they played.

Being able to watch it in French with English subtitles completes the whole effect and I just don't think that it works quite as well in English, and it always gives you that extra sense of satisfaction when you can follow the dialogue ... and the subtitles are there for those of us who last used French a couple of decades ago and can't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb film for the classroom (French), 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat in Paris [DVD] (DVD)
It is a very clever animated film that I used in the classroom for KS3 and KS4.
A worksheet is available as a bonus but many activities can be created around the plot and characters (physical descriptions for example)
I would recommend it for both girls and boys of any age really. I could not even stop watching it the first time I had switched the dvd player on!
A must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most Enjoyable, 4 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: A Cat in Paris [DVD] (DVD)
I received this film (DVD) as a gift, for Christmas, having put it on my Wish List.
Watched it, a few days ago, with 2 of my grandchildren.
Found it intriguing and most enjoyable; even the youngest, 4 year old, was engrossed by the story/animation and managed to stay awake all through it, despite the really late hour...........
The animation is in an interesting style and the storyline rather "grown-up" (with burglaries, nasty villains, kidnappers and even references to a killing...........); it was interesting to hear how the 9 year old one interpreted it.
She also seemed to "get" some of it before me! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant!, 16 Sep 2012
This review is from: A Cat in Paris [DVD] (DVD)
Great story, lovely animation, niece & nephew love it as well as the grown ups! A classic in the making!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Story!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat in Paris [DVD] (DVD)
... and remember you can watch it in French by switching the Audio ... even if your French isn't great (like mine) you will get the gist! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars such a nice film!, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat in Paris [DVD] (DVD)
i am totally in love with the visual style! The story is very sweet and for me it was a great experience to watch! very inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mixed thoughts, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Miss Don (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cat in Paris [DVD] (DVD)
the animation is very likeable but from the trailer i thought the roof-top action was going to be more spectacular. My 2.5 year old likes it, the climax made a big impression but is hard to explain concept of madness followed by (implied) grisly death.... also this film starts its storyline with death, the death of the little girl's father, and her mum is a police detective so there is a number of guns and shooting incidents.... i would say if i had known about the guns i wouldn't have bought it and that you should alway view pg rated things before deciding whether you want to share them with your little ones. it's not too bad, not like some other stuff, i'm just saying the content wants a lot of parental explaination along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Cat in Paris [DVD]
A Cat in Paris [DVD] by Alain Gagnol (DVD - 2012)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews