Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (196)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony PlayStation 4 Hard Drive upgrade
++++++++++
UPDATE 28TH NOVEMBER 2013. Here is a link that gives instructions on the Official Sony UK PlayStation website to download and then initialise your PS4 after replacing the Hard Drive. Within these instructions is a link with the name 'DOWNLOAD NOW', this will download the system software update file (1.51), which you will need for your UK PlayStation 4...
Published 17 months ago by Adrian

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Had to return - easy due to Amazon's excellent returns system
Laptop reported disk error when installed. Also not recogised when placed in exteral disk caddy. Therefore, could not install O/S or format for sector by sector copy, Had to return - easy due to Amazon's excellent returns system.
Published 1 month ago by Lord Tarquin


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony PlayStation 4 Hard Drive upgrade, 19 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Samsung 1TB 2.5 inch 5400RPM SATA II Hard Disk Drive (Personal Computers)
++++++++++
UPDATE 28TH NOVEMBER 2013. Here is a link that gives instructions on the Official Sony UK PlayStation website to download and then initialise your PS4 after replacing the Hard Drive. Within these instructions is a link with the name 'DOWNLOAD NOW', this will download the system software update file (1.51), which you will need for your UK PlayStation 4 after replacing the hard drive (859MB - PS4UPDATE.PUP):

[...]
++++++++++

I am purchasing this Hard Drive to upgrade the 500GB that comes with the Sony PlayStation 4 console released on 29th November 2013 in the UK.

I phoned Sony PlayStation customer services yesterday to check whether this HD was compatible with the new PS4, and although they cannot as yet officially confirm that it is, they did tell me that all the product details fit the requirements of a PS4 replacement HD as indicated in the US PS4 Ultimate FAQ document, i.e.

SATA II
2.5 inch
5,400 RPM
9.5mm thick
Memory capacity higher than 160GB

[...]

One important thing to remember however is to make sure you have the 1.51 system software update file on a USB stick downloaded from the UK Sony PlayStation website, and NOT the US 1.51 system software file currently available on the US Sony PlayStation website. The UK 1.51 file is not currently available until 29th November 2013, once the UK PlayStation 4 console is released. The 1.51 system software update file will then be available on Official European Sony PlayStation websites.

Again, important NOT to download the US 1.51 system software file if you have a UK PlayStation.

Also remember after downloading the 1.51 system software update file (PS4UPDATE.PUP) to then place it in a folder named UPDATE and then place this folder inside a folder named PS4, (all uppercase) before you put it on your USB stick. Otherwise, your PS4 console will not recognize the file on the USB stick.

Here is an excellent and easy to follow guide on how to upgrade your PS4 HD to a 1TB SATA II HD:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS4 - it works great!, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 1TB 2.5 inch 5400RPM SATA II Hard Disk Drive (Personal Computers)
I bought this for the PS4 about two weeks ago, my playstation 4 came today and before I did any thing my dad installed it and found no problem with replacing it with the original hard drive. After installation I have about 861gb of free space, excellent choice, would recommend to anyone thinking of an upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 1TB 2.5 inch 5400RPM SATA II Hard Disk Drive (Personal Computers)
I purchased one of these so that I could replace my ps3s 120gb hdd as all ps3 owners will know the hdd space gets full pretty quickly with game data/updates and game add ons. Overkill or not You just can't have enough space in my opinion. After backing up my old hard drive of 93gb or so to a fat32 external drive along with the ps3 update, put this new one in, installed the update and did the restore. Works brilliant, you get about 821gb or so when placing in the ps3 for the first time and after the restore I'm still looking at over 700gb of free space. The drive is nice and silent and all I can hear is the cooling fan. Worth every penny and highly recommended to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked great as an upgrade for my PS3, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 1TB 2.5 inch 5400RPM SATA II Hard Disk Drive (Personal Computers)
This item worked perfectly as a replacement for the 40GB hard disc in my PS3. No problems or issues whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put it in my PS3, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 1TB 2.5 inch 5400RPM SATA II Hard Disk Drive (Personal Computers)
If you are looking for more out your PS3 as you have PlayStation Plus, get this. Easy and economical. Thanks for the very quick delivery. Oh! And remember if you do install a bigger hard drive on the PS3 the console automatically reserved 15% space so the TB was a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This hard drive VS the older Samsung HN-M101MBB model, 21 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Samsung 1TB 2.5 inch 5400RPM SATA II Hard Disk Drive (Personal Computers)
I don't usually write reviews but I thought this hard drive is seriously under rated, especially compare to the older Samsung HN-M101MBB 1TB 5400rpm model. After having both drives here is what I found:

The older, Samsung HN-M101MBB 1TB 5400rpm SATA 2.5 inch Internal Hard Drive: read av +- 75mb/s , write av +- 70mb/s
This model, Samsung/Seagate ST1000LM024 1TB 2.5 inch 5400RPM SATA II Hard Disk Drive: read av +- 87mb/s, write av +- 88mb/s

*both tested with blackmagic at 1GB, 3GB and 5GB stress on a macbook pro 2.2 i7, SATA II 3.0 port (optic bay), 16gb ram.*

The speed of this hard drive amaze me as its almost as fast, if not faster than the Seagate Momentus XT 750gb hybrid drive (yes I have one of those as well), tested at around 80-90mb/s at both read and write speed in main bay SATA III 6.0. The samsung/seagate is A WHOLE 250GB BIGGER AND HALF OF THE PRICE compare to the XT.

I was sooo close to buy another older HN-M101MBB model because of the ratings and my previous experience, but thought hay, why not give this a try as the 3 stars review here dont really make sense IMO.

Over all very happy with this drive, very quick, reasonably quiet and pretty good on the power withdraw. Will buy another when time comes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PS3 compatible - works great, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 1TB 2.5 inch 5400RPM SATA II Hard Disk Drive (Personal Computers)
I got this as a drive upgrade for my PS3 Slim. I went for this over the older Samsung HN-M101MBB that's been around for a while now. No problems with installation, although you do need to know what you're doing. Having hundreds of gigabytes of storage is a massive improvement over my old 120Gb. Transfer rate is decent enough and there have been no problems with overheating. However, be aware, you don't get the full storage capacity to play with. While this is a 1TB drive, the useable space is actually around 880Gb (the rest is taken up by the PS3's system data and other stuff). Even so, if you're an avid PS3 gamer, upgrading to a drive this size is one of the best purchases out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seagate hdd, 14 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 1TB 2.5 inch 5400RPM SATA II Hard Disk Drive (Personal Computers)
Needed a replacement for faulty hard drive in laptop. I already have a Seagate 320 gb external hard drive which has been great over the years with no problems so picking this was a no brainer for me and it as good as I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a little tricky to fit in., 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 1TB 2.5 inch 5400RPM SATA II Hard Disk Drive (Personal Computers)
A good replacement for my PS4, it fitted in with a bit of fiddling around but it worked in the end and I can sya that it's worked perfectly since and have been completely happy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No problems here, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 1TB 2.5 inch 5400RPM SATA II Hard Disk Drive (Personal Computers)
Fitted this hdd in my vu+solo2 satellite reciever.
No problems with installation, no problems in accessing material stored on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews