Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must if Downloads Are Your Thing
If you prefer to use your Vita the way I do - downloading games including PSP and PS1 classics - then you're going to need a high capacity memory card. At the time of writing this is the highest capacity available in Europe, although do bear in mind there is a 64GB version releasing shortly in Japan which should at some stage make its way over here.

It's just...
Published 14 months ago by Paulo Piper Segurado

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Product great - but shady business practice
Now I'm a massive Sony fan and own all their consoles and handhelds (except for the awful PSP Go), but this proprietary memory card lark is getting OLD. There is absolutely no reason for it anymore. Sony charge outrageous amounts for the cards - I bought this for ~£40 but the original asking price was much higher.

The card itself is tiny. Why is this a problem...
Published 11 months ago by Rapscallion


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must if Downloads Are Your Thing, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation Vita Memory Card 32GB Model (PlayStation Vita) (Accessory)
If you prefer to use your Vita the way I do - downloading games including PSP and PS1 classics - then you're going to need a high capacity memory card. At the time of writing this is the highest capacity available in Europe, although do bear in mind there is a 64GB version releasing shortly in Japan which should at some stage make its way over here.

It's just much handier and makes life easier having your own catalogue of games quickly accessible straight from the Vita menu. At £39.99, Amazon seem to be the cheapest going; at time of writing they're having trouble keeping them in stock but hopefully this will improve.

To give you an idea of how useful the size is, I currently have Final Fantasies VII, VIII and IX, Tekkens 1, 2 and 6, Soul Calibur Broken Destiny, and Wipeouts Pure and Pulse saved onto mine, and still have 21GB free which I plan on slowly filling. It feels good knowing you have too much space!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Product great - but shady business practice, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation Vita Memory Card 32GB Model (PlayStation Vita) (Accessory)
Now I'm a massive Sony fan and own all their consoles and handhelds (except for the awful PSP Go), but this proprietary memory card lark is getting OLD. There is absolutely no reason for it anymore. Sony charge outrageous amounts for the cards - I bought this for ~£40 but the original asking price was much higher.

The card itself is tiny. Why is this a problem? Well if you're like me then you'll want to install and download a lot of games. Let me tell you that the 32 GB fills up very quickly, even before you've put media such as music and videos on there. The solution would be to buy multiple memory cards (!!!) and switch them out. But being so tiny it's very easy to fumble and lose the card if you're out and about, so you'll either need a special case for them or just leave one in.

The thing is - if you want to do anything more than buy a couple of physical Vita games and install them, then you'll need the space. The other cards are far too small, and the larger ones are (in my opinion) too expensive (bringing the total cost of the Vita way over £200 before games). So you'll have to suck it up and buy this card, then try to drown out this experience with quality gaming sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential but expensive, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Sw Hammond "JaggedEye" (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation Vita Memory Card 32GB Model (PlayStation Vita) (Accessory)
My wife bought me a Vita and thusly I needed a memory card! I found amazon to be the cheapest and the delivery was perfect.
The memory card is easy to put in and I've had no problems with it whatsoever.
However I feel that I can only rate this at 3 stars as it sooo expensive!
I love you Sony but how can you justify such a high price when standard memory cards are are fraction of the price.
After purchasing your console, you then charge us an unreasonable amount to store the games we buy on your store or save games which are almost unplayable without a memory card!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars works fine, price acceptable for a proprietary card and will fall, consider whether you need 32gb, 16 May 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation Vita Memory Card 32GB Model (PlayStation Vita) (Accessory)
Way back when the PS Vita release details were coming out, I was disappointed to hear that the 32Gb card would not be getting an official UK release at launch. In the end I got a 4Gb memory card as part of a package when I bought my PS Vita from Vodafone and that was enough for a while until the official Euro / UK release of the 32Gb memory card.

The card Amazon are selling from this listing is the official European (including UK) release, which has different packaging to e.g. the US release of the card, but inside of course the card is the same and compatible with all Vitas worldwide.

Transferring your data, games and video from one memory card to another (e.g. if you're upgrading to a larger card size like I was) is very little trouble at all using the backup facility in the Vita's Content Manager to copy your data to PC or PS3 via USB. Apparently a very few games or demoes may not backup properly but most will - mine did fine, including all my settings (even my mobile network settings), you can then just pop in the new card and send the backup data to the new card via USB.

People have been complaining about the price of these cards and that's understandable when a 32Gb SDHC card is under £16 on Amazon UK at the time of writing and a 32Gb micro SDHC card is under £18, with faster versions available for not much more. Well Sony have gone with a new proprietary format and so considering the smaller volume of cards produced and manufacturing facilities etc it's understandable these PS Vita cards aren't as cheap yet. Whether they should have gone with the proprietary format is controversial, supposedly it is an attempt to stop piracy such as that which badly affected the PSP. Overall, if you actually buy your games legally either digitally or at retail, this move is welcome as long as it is actually effective at stopping piracy, and some extra money on a card could be seen as an investment in helping to ensure a steady stream of future Vita games, with developers and publishers more confident people won't just pirate the games. Of course, if the Vita is cracked within a year we'll all be wishing they had just gone with micro SDHC... finally it's worth bearing in mind that either way, the price of these cards will fall over time, so if it's too much now, wait a bit.

Also on the price front you should consider whether you really need this much space. What are you going to be doing with your Vita? If you want to forget about (boxed, retail) PS Vita game cards completely and go fully digital in your purchases then this card is a good choice as Vita games can be large - currently as large as 4Gb (the current top review on Amazon USA's site has a list of game sizes in MB), and who knows in future even larger ones may be released. If you only want to store save games then a 4Gb card may be fine. Do you want to store music or video on your Vita, or record music or pictures? I am using mine as a music player on the go and filled up 20Gb with music alone, with some room for download-only games and video.

All in all, nice to see the UK get this at last, shame price is high for now, but for many a card this size will help them get the most out of their Vita.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation Vita Memory Card 32GB Model (PlayStation Vita) (Accessory)
requirement for any psvita user
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for Vita, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation Vita Memory Card 32GB Model (PlayStation Vita) (Accessory)
This is great for my vita. Lets you store plenty of games and photos etc. If you have a vita you must get one of these, can't fault it in any way. Well maybe the price, not the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yanking teeth, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation Vita Memory Card 32GB Model (PlayStation Vita) (Accessory)
Unfortunately you need these things to play your games, I say unfortunately because these memory cards are wayyy too expensive for what they are, this is a feeling shared by pretty much most everyone in the gaming community that I have spoken too. Sony really need to bring the price down on these things, however, if you are going to play loads of games get more GB because if you buy the lower ones for the short term and then later need more space it's gonna cost ya, see the big picture and long term, it's like yanking a tooth painful but worth it in the end for the money you get/save. I gave 4 stars because of the expense but the service was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation Vita Memory Card 32GB Model (PlayStation Vita) (Accessory)
pretty much needed if you subscribed for psn plus, tons of free games every month and few space left don't go well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars works like a 32GB card is supposed to., 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation Vita Memory Card 32GB Model (PlayStation Vita) (Accessory)
It's just a normal 32GB card. Fortunately I had a £20 voucher from my University which helped lower the cost to £20 (which seems about fair).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth upgrading, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation Vita Memory Card 32GB Model (PlayStation Vita) (Accessory)
Would definitely recommend getting this card size if you are using downloaded titles instead of the card based games as the games are pretty large in size and a lower card will run out pretty early on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony PlayStation Vita Memory Card 32GB Model (PlayStation Vita)
£63.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews