Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Bach
This is a terrific recording of Bach's six motets. There have been many fine performances in the past, but this matches the best, I'd say.

John Eliot Gardiner and his Monteverdi Choir have made Bach's music the centre of their repertoire for may years now and they have an exceptional insight into and understanding of these works as a result. It shows here in...
Published 11 months ago by Sid Nuncius

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HIPster Wars - News from the Bach Front - Communiqué 85
Over time, mankind has coined any number of deities in an attempt to incarnate the One. A favourite of mine (and it's a recent addition to the canon) is the Flying Spaghetti Monster whose wrath knows no bounds. Other honourable mentions include the various Death-Gods of the Aztecs, athirst for blood; Jesus of the Flaming Tomato (otherwise known as the Sacred Heart) and...
Published 6 months ago by Bernard Michael O'Hanlon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Bach, 28 Aug 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716] (Audio CD)
This is a terrific recording of Bach's six motets. There have been many fine performances in the past, but this matches the best, I'd say.

John Eliot Gardiner and his Monteverdi Choir have made Bach's music the centre of their repertoire for may years now and they have an exceptional insight into and understanding of these works as a result. It shows here in the great variety between motets and the widely differing but always appropriate approach Gardiner takes to each movement. The opening of Komm, Jesu, Komm, for example, is tenderly yearning, while the opening of Singet dem Herrn is performed with a restrained but intense, complex and incredibly precise rhythmic pulse. It is exemplary Bach singing to my ears.

The recording (of a live performance but with no audience audible anywhere on the disc) is excellent and the notes very good. I don't think you can do better than this for a performance of the motets; however much I love my old Hilliard Ensemble and Ton Koopman recordings, this is the one I think I would keep above all others. Very warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great performances, 8 May 2012
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716] (Audio CD)
There are many nice recordings of the Bach motets, and it would be a brave (wo)man who would say definitively that one or other was the best (where "best" generally means "I like this one better than those ones"). This is Gardiner's second time, I think (he did them years ago for Erato). As usual with Gardiner, these are captured in live performance (does he anaesthesise the audience?). They are very nice performances, the stars of the show being, as usual, the Monteverdis, who sing absolutely gorgeously. The solo parts are sung by members of the Monteverdi Choir, so they don't really stand out as stars with highlighting, but somehow this suits the character of the music - and this would have been the way that Bach himself would have performed them. And of course, it is Bach, with all the incredible genius of the man. The quality of the recording is excellent. Another winner for SDG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a treasure !, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Adi H. Jehangir "Adi" (Bombay, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716] (Audio CD)
What marvellous music and Gardiner's sprightly tempos make it most lively. A real treat for lovers of both Bach and great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bach as if brand new, 2 Sep 2012
By 
P. O'Brien "avidgirl" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716] (Audio CD)
I impulse bought this cd and love it, it makes Bach sound mint fresh brand new, makes you feel as if your brain has been taken out, washed in clean cool water, and put back in again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The gloriously austere world of JS Bach, 2 Aug 2012
By 
Ian Phillips (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716] (Audio CD)
I have loved Bach for years but did not know his motets until a rave review in 'Gramophone' directed me to this new recording. Bach's sound-world is not to everyone's taste. Some find it austere when set against the brilliant classicism of Mozart, pulsating inspiration of Beethoven, sublime lyricism of Schuber or the monumental romanticism of Mahler. But, like Schubert, Bach is the quintessence of 'less is more' and that is no better illustrated than in this wonderful recording.

Magnificent singing reveals all the glories of Bach. Imbued with the essential Bach - devotion to his God, beautiful tunes, wonderful harmonies - Eliot Gardiner's life-long service to the great composer is once again enhanced by this tremendous addition to his discography. Do not miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Awe, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716] (Audio CD)
Though a long term fan of the Monteverdi Choir, it never ceases to amaze me how damned good they are. And considering this recording was live, good just doesn't say it all. In fact, many superlatives don't do this choir justice. The best way to make one's own mind up is to sample it for real. With this kind of performance a 6th star is needed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful, 14 May 2012
By 
Mr. Christopher Harris "Chris in Brum" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716] (Audio CD)
I bought this because of a newspaper review and I put it on this morning whilst doing revision for an Open University exam. It is simply beautiful! A brilliant recording and wonderful singing make this very special. I am a fan of Gardiner anyway, especially in this type of music, and he rarely disappoints.

So if you like choral music you won't find a better new release than this. Buy it!

PS Now a few months later and listening to it on my new hifi and it is, if that's possible, even better. A stunning CD. I'd give it 6 stars if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach Motets, 17 Aug 2012
By 
J. Ryding "Didimus" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716] (Audio CD)
Superb recording - clear sound with excellent acoustics - a pleasure to listen too - fill a gap in my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach motets, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716] (Audio CD)
Delightful. Beautifully recorded, crystal clear. I appreciated the words in French, English and German. Makes a lovely gift as it comes enclosed in a hard-backed booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach is the best, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716] (Audio CD)
I love the way Gardiner understands Bach's spirituality.
The M Choir is always amazing. My heart opens when listening to Komm, Jesu, komm; the whole CD is just a must have for anybody who loves great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716]
Bach: Motets [2011] [SDG: SDG716] by Monteverdi Choir (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews