Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Spawn newbies, problematic for hard-core fans
I came to this movie knowing basically nothing about the Spawn character, the comic strip, and the whole story behind Todd McFarlane's vaunted modern-day hero. I am familiar with McFarlane's work on Spiderman in the early nineties, but that's basically it. My reaction may thus be much different from devoted Spawn fans who had definite expectations from this film. Fans are...
Published on 21 Feb 2004 by Daniel Jolley

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good attempt but not good enough.
Let's face it, Spawn the comic was never going to be easy to transfer onto the big screen.
I think that Todd McFarlane & co didn't do all that bad a job of the movie, however, I do believe that the movie could have been MUCH better than it turned out. If only they made the film darker, like the comics, more in the style of say "Blade" with Wesley...
Published on 27 May 2000 by tayor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars spawn, 1 Sep 2010
i watched this film many years ago & thought it was good. unfortunately i have grown up since then and now found the story poor. probably the worst purchase i have made since buying from amazon. michael jae white is a superb martial artist but this film made him look almost 2nd rate. would recommend buying his newer dvds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really Spawn, 6 Dec 2008
The only reason I even give this film two stars is because I have recently watched Todd MacFarlane's interview on the special edition boxset of Spawn: The Animated Series where he basically explain that this film is a kind of 'entry level' version for kids and people who are new to the franchise. Looking at it from that point of view I can give the film one star for bringing in new fans and another because there are some good action sequences and special effects but speaking as a fan of the comics I suggest that anyone who wants to know what Spawn is really about should watch the animated series or better yet read some of the comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BAd Film, 15 Mar 2000
A spin off from the cartoon series bought the big screen in real life. This film literally put me to sleep, the special effects are good but that is where it all ends. I would not bother with this film at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 1 Star for the audacity and the other for the effects, 8 Nov 2002
By A Customer
I watched Spawn again recently, hence my urge to review it. Spawn had SO much potential, backed with possibly the strongest visual comic book on the shelves.
Some of the artistic splendour did translate across but was ultimately wasted. Minus Spawn himself and the third class action scenes (that actually look borrowed from other movies: Terminator 2, The Crow, Batman) and you're left with an embarrassing made for TV quality plot and acting to match it.
Our big villain, Jason Wynnand and his female side-kick strike me as characters that just stepped off a cheap erotic movie set and brought guns along for 'the hell of it'.
Why the creators thought a Dr. Evil (Inspector Gadget's foe) type voice appropriate for Satan is beyond me. And with this voice, as you'd imagine, sounds cartoon-ish. Whilst on the subject of speech, Michael Jai White will drive you despair, acting out his lines like an irritable smoker.
Spawn is a great character and deserves much more than this. Tim Burton, anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the spawn movie, It is a good action movie, though not a mark on the comics. the seller is very good and i will do more business with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No No No No and No again!, 10 Jun 2004
Nice try but No! This is one wierd film about hell, reincarnation, revenge and some short fat hyper freak running round in a clown suit. I just about managed to survive the first 45 mins, could not survive a minute longer. Considering the attempted storyline, the acting isn't bad really, and the special effects that i saw were pretty good but the real problem lies with the script. Cant really see how this could ever have been a success. On the back it compares it to MiB, saying its the funniest thing since - didnt laugh once in those 45mins to be honest. You'd be better off keeping your 18.99 in the bank and collecting the interest.
2 Stars for the special effects, -1 for the storyline to leave 1 big NO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die beste Comicverfilmug aller Zeiten!, 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Spawn [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Auch wenn Batman ebenfalls sehr gut ist, finde ich, dass Spawn sich diesen Titel verdient hat. Der Film ist 1a Spitzenklasse! Ich habe leider noch nie ein COmic von Spawn gelesen, aber bald werde ich mir einen der Bände bei Amazon bestellen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good animated film, adults only, 11 Aug 2000
Great Dark movie, I've now bought the full set, one of my specials films, great sound and picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. M. McNaught (Dumfries UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very good arrived earlier than expected, a few scratches on the disk. but still completely watchable.

Thank you very much for this product and it was cheap to boot, no complaints only praise.

Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Verdammt gut!!!!, 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Spawn [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Zwar wirken die Spezialeffekte manchmal lächerlich und der Film ist an einigen Stellen ein bisschen langweilig, aber als großer Fan der Comics finde ich ihn dennoch genial. Aber der Film ist wirklich Geschmackssache
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spawn [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Spawn [Blu-ray] [US Import] by John Leguizamo (Blu-ray - 2012)
9.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews