Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's easy to change your chain - you should do it more often.
This appears to be a good general purpose replacement bike chain, as supplied mine consisted of 116 links plus a Quick Link which was slightly bent and even after straightening defeated all of my attempts to clip it into position, but I joined the chain in the standard fashion using my own chain tool. I hadn't realised how badly worn my old chain was - at 114 links it...
Published 21 months ago by David James O'Donnell

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy cheap.. buy twice!
Installed with brand new 6 speed shimano cassette (new shimano chainset too). Worked fine for a week, as ran it in gently, but immediately on giving a little extra power the chain started skipping. Multiple points on the chain were now stiff which was causing the skipping. From what I could see metal of the rollers had compressed (obviously soft) and was pressing against...
Published 2 days ago by mark k


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's easy to change your chain - you should do it more often., 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano HG40 6,7,8 Speed Mountain Bike Chain (Misc.)
This appears to be a good general purpose replacement bike chain, as supplied mine consisted of 116 links plus a Quick Link which was slightly bent and even after straightening defeated all of my attempts to clip it into position, but I joined the chain in the standard fashion using my own chain tool. I hadn't realised how badly worn my old chain was - at 114 links it seems longer than the new one, it must have stretched!! The slippage that made my bike all but unrideable has vanished and the bike feels (almost) like new again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Chain considering price, 3 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Shimano HG40 6,7,8 Speed Mountain Bike Chain (Misc.)
Shimano again, does the job with Shimano quality, but you might consider a KMC chain which has the "missin link" i personally use KMC chains because of this feature and they have not let me down in thousands of miles of cycling.
Overall back to the Shimano chain yeah good quality finish for the price but you need a chain pin extractor to fit or shorten the chain, but you will need this to do shorten any chain.
I would recommend this chain alongside a KMC chain depending on price, the choice will be yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano HG40 6,7,8 Speed Mountain Bike Chain (Misc.)
Excellent value and appears good quality. Easy to rejoin with the right tool.(Almost impossible otherwise). I believe some joining rivets have a break off bullet end to ease insertion. Inserting this rivet takes a little bit of 'feel' to insert it far enough but not too far. The pressure on the insertion tool can be felt to ease off just as it passes through the last link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solved the slipping chain problem., 10 May 2013
By 
N. Lawrence (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano HG40 6,7,8 Speed Mountain Bike Chain (Misc.)
Son's bike had an issue with the chain slipping and seemed to be down to the odd link being kinked. Put this on and it solved the issue.
The chain did need a couple of links taking out, but was easy enough fit. For a top tip, if you're doing this yourself, get a half-decent link splitter. Overall, a good value chain, especially when the local cycle shop wanted £12 for a chain and £12 to fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect goods, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano HG40 6,7,8 Speed Mountain Bike Chain (Misc.)
exactly what we needed to get back on the road..Arrived promptly and in perfect condition.Working like a pack horse and lovin it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I needed, 15 April 2013
By 
Russell G. Pottinger (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano HG40 6,7,8 Speed Mountain Bike Chain (Misc.)
Perfect replacement for my hybrid that had been badly neglected, and the chain had rusted nearly solid. Used a chain tool to remove the old one, and with a bit of effort put the new one on and it appears to work fine. Taken it out on a 10 mile journey to test it and it worked perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great chain, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano HG40 6,7,8 Speed Mountain Bike Chain (Misc.)
well as chains go this is a good one ive had this for many months now doing about 20 miles a day and have had no problems with it well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Buy cheap.. buy twice!, 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano HG40 6,7,8 Speed Mountain Bike Chain (Misc.)
Installed with brand new 6 speed shimano cassette (new shimano chainset too). Worked fine for a week, as ran it in gently, but immediately on giving a little extra power the chain started skipping. Multiple points on the chain were now stiff which was causing the skipping. From what I could see metal of the rollers had compressed (obviously soft) and was pressing against the chain plates causing the stiffness. New chain required!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars which is the best way of going about it, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Shimano HG40 6,7,8 Speed Mountain Bike Chain (Misc.)
it's just a chain so it either works or it doesn't. It worked for me as I changed the rear gear cassette at the same time, which is the best way of going about it. New parts don't fit old parts as they wear together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Shimano HG40 6,7,8 Speed Mountain Bike Chain (Misc.)
Perfect replace chain and even came greaased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews