Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars France Gall 1963-68
Featuring 22 tracks recorded between 1963 and 1968, this is the ultimate introduction to the ultimate Yé-Yé singer with the ultimate Yé-Yé sound. This really is pop music of the highest order and it is truly irresistible. The over the top and sometimes complex musical arrangements are breathtaking at times and they compliment Gall's lush...
Published on 9 Jun. 2012 by OMG! It's got a plug!

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking Sound Quality
I love France Gall, she appeals to me in every way and I was so waiting for this album to come out, I pre ordered it based on it being released by the same label that released the wonderful C'est Chic compilation of French Yaya Girls, the sound quality of that CD is dynamic and keeps the listener excited all the way through I thought this CD of France Gall would be just...
Published on 31 May 2013 by Anthony


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars France Gall 1963-68, 9 Jun. 2012
By 
OMG! It's got a plug! - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In France: France Gall's Baby Pop (Audio CD)
Featuring 22 tracks recorded between 1963 and 1968, this is the ultimate introduction to the ultimate Yé-Yé singer with the ultimate Yé-Yé sound. This really is pop music of the highest order and it is truly irresistible. The over the top and sometimes complex musical arrangements are breathtaking at times and they compliment Gall's lush girly vocals perfectly. Sexy yet deliberately naïve; the pace is relentless and the quality never falters.

Exactly half of the songs here were composed by Serge Gainsbourg, including the infamous 'Les Sucettes' (about a girl who liked aniseed-flavoured lollipops as far as Gall was concerned) and Gall's version of 'Bloody Jack' (which is a lot smoother sounding than Bardot's version). The album closes with Gall singing 'Poupee De Cire Poupee De Son' in Japanese.

Clocking in at 55 minutes and housed in a jewel case, the booklet features brief notes (in English) and photos of some of the original record sleeves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a pleasure to listen to., 28 July 2012
By 
Mr J H (Notts, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In France: France Gall's Baby Pop (Audio CD)
In the 1960s between the ages of 16 and 21 France Gall recorded some of the sunniest and most joyful bubblegum pop in the world. It's all here on this 2012 compilation of those songs. Words can't describe how fresh and upbeat this music still sounds. I'm so happy I took a chance and got this great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light, Bright & Fizzy Pop, 13 Jun. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In France: France Gall's Baby Pop (Audio CD)
It's easy to dismiss Yé-Yé music, but it'll have you feeling happy in no time at all, perhaps even have you dancing around. This compilation (55.43 mins) has great sound quality, it comes with a good 10 page colour booklet that has various pics of Ep covers etc. The music on the whole is very well crafted, written (half are written by the great Serge Gainsbourg) most of the songs have great melodies - its a real treat and a pleasure to listen to this cd. This is joyous, happy and fizzy pop. Highly recommended - let your self go, let the happiness wash over you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking Sound Quality, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In France: France Gall's Baby Pop (Audio CD)
I love France Gall, she appeals to me in every way and I was so waiting for this album to come out, I pre ordered it based on it being released by the same label that released the wonderful C'est Chic compilation of French Yaya Girls, the sound quality of that CD is dynamic and keeps the listener excited all the way through I thought this CD of France Gall would be just as exciting. I almost cried when I heard the terrible sound quality, the songs themselves are great but they sound flat and it is a hard album to listen to. I'm devastated that they would do this to France, even songs by her that appear on the C'est Chic compilations sound terrible on this CD, I would recommend avoiding this one and wait for the label to get their act together and release a version mastered as well as they mastered her material on C'est Chic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you..., 20 Jan. 2013
By 
Fred Chamberlain "666" (london u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In France: France Gall's Baby Pop (Audio CD)
Love France Gall you will love this collection, i rate it a 10/10 can not fault any tracks 10/10 will appeal to everyone who loves this type of music..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Je t'aime!, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In France: France Gall's Baby Pop (Audio CD)
France Gall, cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made In France: France Gall's Baby Pop
Made In France: France Gall's Baby Pop by France Gall (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews