Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apple & Co - the big picture
I like reading about real events and people and I want to hear the human side of the story rather than just the story itself, and this book certainly doesn't disappoint.

I love Apple products, like the Apple design-led and minimalistic approach but have always been aware that the charisma and drive of Steve Jobs, wonderful as it was always had a flip side that...
Published 10 months ago by pauland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting start, faded towards the end
Excellent on the early days; perhaps over-detailed. Valuable info about NeXT and Pixar that illuminates Job's activities after he'd been ousted. But it fades after that, and fails on two counts. A) too much vapid philosophising (pp408-409 for example) B) Key moments skated over after Jobs' return.
We want to hear how the board were sacked; more on the meeting with...
Published 16 days ago by Devi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apple & Co - the big picture, 31 May 2014
I like reading about real events and people and I want to hear the human side of the story rather than just the story itself, and this book certainly doesn't disappoint.

I love Apple products, like the Apple design-led and minimalistic approach but have always been aware that the charisma and drive of Steve Jobs, wonderful as it was always had a flip side that seemed in many ways to be opposite to the public perception.

This book not only explores the gestation of Apple and Steve Jobs and their journey, it sets it in the context from which Apple was born and grew. There are many things in this book that I did know about, but there's a ton of stuff I didn't and in particular many people, personalities and situations that forged Apple and Steve Jobs that I had no idea about and really paints the bigger picture - not just of the computer/technology industry, but of the people building that industry, directly or indirectly.

It was for me a riveting read. Don't expect some detailed info on Apple products - this book is about people and business. I only realised when i finished the book that there are no pictures at all. It didn't matter, I didn't miss them.

The cover says it all - "an impossibly awesome piece of work" and I agree.

I loved it - well written and a fascinating read if you want to know the bigger picture inside and around Apple.

I can't recommend it highly enough. I wouldn't have lasted more than two minutes as an employee with Jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Apple fans, 27 Sept. 2013
As with all books about Apple, the focus can tend to be on Steve Jobs, CEO and founder of the company, and this book has lots about Jobs. But Dormehl has managed to also take in details about Apple computers, Microsoft, Xerox and the wider social and technological changes that took place in the late sixties and early seventies that gave us the products that enable me to write this and for you to read it.

There is a lot of detail in the book and it is written in an engaging and interesting way; but there is not so much detail that it is unwieldy. It does not criticise Jobs for some of the decisions that he made, nor does it look at him with rose tinted spectacles. There is a little on Pixar, and a chapter on NeXT, but the primary focus remain on Apple.

I thought that it was a good read overall, and perhaps should be read alongside with Walter Issacson's book on Steve Jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting start, faded towards the end, 5 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent on the early days; perhaps over-detailed. Valuable info about NeXT and Pixar that illuminates Job's activities after he'd been ousted. But it fades after that, and fails on two counts. A) too much vapid philosophising (pp408-409 for example) B) Key moments skated over after Jobs' return.
We want to hear how the board were sacked; more on the meeting with Amelio and Gassėe; _much_ more about the working relationship with Jonathan Ive; a more complete description of the post-return product innovations.
384 pages devoted to the period of 27 years before, when Jobs took advantage of Xerox' innovative ideas and brought them to market; and just 120 pages about the key 29-year period after, during which Apple revolutionised the music, telephone, and knowledge access industries.
One gets the impression that Dormehl panicked at the growing length of the book and instead of pruning the early material, skimped on the later.
Interesting, though, and I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars interesting, but would be better if shortened, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
Max (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apple Revolution: Steve Jobs, the counterculture and how the crazy ones took over the world (Kindle Edition)
Unnecessarily long and hard to read due to the authors effusive relationship with the 60s counter-culture. But an interesting read if you can be bothered to stick it out. Maybe due to Jobs' and Apple's secrecy, but lots of early detail but decidedly thin on the last 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apple Revolution: Steve Jobs, the counterculture and how the crazy ones took over the world (Kindle Edition)
For all who need know about a computers early begining time. Not only tha Apple - lot of the others companies. Hignly recomend for all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the apple Revolution, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really interesting well written book, once into it it is hard to put down, really good! Gives a good insight into the thinking that went into the Apple brand and why it is so great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apple just got more interesting, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic. I got the book two days ago and finished all 504 pages already - who knew Silicon Valley could ever be this engauging.

Definitely worth a read for anyone vaguely interested in the culture surrounding technology or who enjoy the stories the media don't always tell. Very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geeks are cool !, 4 Aug. 2012
Fascinating, in depth study of the Apple story from research among what appears to be everyone who was there and made things happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews