Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good advice for all business leaders
I bought this book out of curiosity as I wanted to know how Tesco went from being a low end supermarket to a highly successful business, and the envy of its competitors. It was worth the investment. This book is extremely well written and very readable (not all business books are). Although primarily the story of Tesco's rise in fortunes, it also provides common sense...
Published 24 months ago by Liz T

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great insights but you have to dig for them
Some very good thoughts on business and leadership and good insights to creative change and he the customer focus is imperative. The reader has to search for these amongst long history sections and a prevalence of old war based quotes. The gems as there but be prepared to have to look for them
Published 2 months ago by Raymond Warren


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good advice for all business leaders, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Management in 10 Words (Hardcover)
I bought this book out of curiosity as I wanted to know how Tesco went from being a low end supermarket to a highly successful business, and the envy of its competitors. It was worth the investment. This book is extremely well written and very readable (not all business books are). Although primarily the story of Tesco's rise in fortunes, it also provides common sense advice for all businesses. For some businesses it will be more difficult to gather customer data, but we can all value our customers and staff. One of the key messages I took from this book was 'what is the noble objective of my business (Terry asked `what is Tesco for?' - page 42). This made me think about my own business and has helped me to focus on the emotional benefit to my clients rather than just the rational one. This book also demonstrates the value to customers, staff and the bottom line of good leadership. A good lesson for all leaders!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some organisations thrive - most don't - here's why!, 17 Jun 2012
This review is from: Management in 10 Words (Hardcover)
Leahy's book should be read by all managers, whatever their industry. The principles he espouses in his "10 words", all illustrated with practical examples from his Tesco experience, are universally applicable. If you place them in context of your own organisation, you'll readily recognise how well or otherwise you're following them, and the resultant effects.

It's a very easy read too - plain English to demonstrate plain answers.

Recommendation for big organisations, public and private sector ... cut a day off your management consultancy spend and leave 100 copies of this book around your office instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever the "talk," it must be "walked" to have any credibility, 3 Aug 2012
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The most substantial benefit from this book is derived from what Terry Leahy shares so generously from his personal as well as professional experiences as the former CEO of one of the world's largest, most successful corporations. Almost immediately, he establishes and then sustains a direct, personal, at times almost confidential rapport with his reader. As he would be the first to point out, no matter what any ten words are selected (including his), they are essentially meaningless in the absence of appropriate behavior.

As for Leahy's ten words (i.e. truth, loyalty, courage, values, act, balance, simple, lean, compete, and trust), others of comparable meaning and significance (e.g. authenticity and integrity) could probably have served just as well but that's not the point. Leahy's key insight is that the values one affirms must be in total alignment with how one behaves, especially in relationships with those for whom one is directly responsible. Long ago, Leahy realized that he could not manage others effectively unless and until he understood how to manage himself.

He devotes a separate chapter to each of his ten core values, introducing each with a brief but remarkably precise explanation of the essence of the given value. For example, for Chapter 3: "Good strategies need to be bold and daring. People need to be stretched as they can do more than they think. Goals have to cause excitement, and perhaps just a little fear. Above all, they need to inspire, and present an organization with a choice: have these great ambitions, or remain as you are." And then for Chapter 7, "Change in any fast-moving, fast-growing company is not easy. My solution is quite simple: to make things simple. Simplicity is the knife that cuts through the tangled spaghetti of life's problems."

Here are a few of the several dozen passages that caught my eye:

o Acting on the truth (Pages 22-40)
o Acting on your values (124-129)
o "The Steering Wheel" (138-139 and 184-186)

o How not to take action (171-176)
Note: Leahy wholly agrees with Peter Drucker: "There is surely nothing quite so useless as doing with great efficiency what should not be done at all."

o Keeping both feet on the ground (190-193)
o Simplicity as practice (209-216)
o The power and impact of "lean thinking" (233-245)
o Learning from the competition (255-265)
o Building trust (275-284)

Before concluding his book, Leahy shares his thoughts about the deeply-troubled global business community, one in which many (too many) business leaders have lost their moral compass and led their organizations astray. His focus is on culture: Who a human community really is and what it really values. "More than ever before, organizations need people who are not merely motivated to work hard, but have the freedom and the encouragement to innovate, to think for themselves, and take risks. We need a culture that embraces change, and simple systems that can easily respond to that change. Above all," and these points are his most important, "companies and other organizations that rely on customer or citizen loyalty must not simply have common values, but live by those values. They need to confront the truth head-on, as loyalty and trust cannot be built on the shifting sand of lies and half-truths."

Thank you, Terry Leahy, for the keenness of your mind and the pleasure of your company. Above all, thank you for your passion to prove worthy of the respect and trust of those with whom it is your privilege to be associated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality belies naff title, 1 July 2012
By 
M. Hillmann "miles" (leicester, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Management in 10 Words (Hardcover)
I normally avoid like the plague management books with titles like this. I get tired with autobiographies which usually dwell on the achievements of the individual who writes a book about themselves. But I saw Terry Leahy at the Hay Festival and the thoughtfulness of his character persuaded me to make an exception.

Terry Leahy does, of course, draw in the main on his own experience. It is true that he describes how he took Tesco's who, in the early 1990's was a struggling supermarket way behind the leading supermarket, Sainsbury's, and nowhere near the icon of retail, Marks and Spencers, to a leading international retailer 6 times bigger than any British competitor. He does not do false modesty but he does credit others for the incredible progress in that time.

But the redeeming features of the book are his views on the critical issues and his discussion of them.

Of the 10 words the first and the most powerful of all of them is truth. "Organisations the world over are terrible at confronting truth. It is so much easier to define your version of reality and judge success and failure by that." Leahy maintains that the customers are the most reliable guide that any business has. "Putting the customer at the core of everything we did may sound exceptionally obvious - yet how many organisations truly listen to their customers?"
He then goes on to discuss effective ways to really give reign to customers' views and then to act on them.

Loyalty is the second word. Rewarding loyalty, rather than taking it for granted or focussing on new or disloyal customers, is his pitch. Leahy credits the Tesco clubcard - the world's first shopper loyalty card - for much of Tesco's ability to get to know who their customers are and to reward them. And reckons it was a key factor in the success of Tesco.

Each of the words is treated, in this practical, down to earth way with richly drawn examples.

For me the book was inspiring. Maybe because I wrestle with some of the same issues in my day job. But I think fascinating to anyone who shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sense, for once, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Management in 10 Words (Hardcover)
What a good book. Amidst all the hype in management writing, this one just says the essential, in plain language. You find yourself muttering "yes, of course", and "I wish I'd said that".
No wonder Tesco made strides with such a clear thinker at the helm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scintillating read - excellent book, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Management in 10 Words (Kindle Edition)
If your work is based on leadership, continuous improvement and breaking the management thinking paradigm in your business, then this book is fantastic. Sir Terry gives you a nuts and bolts insight into his "thinking way", his leadership approach and deployment.
This book is confirmation for me that putting the customer at the dead centre of your business world is the only way to truly succeed. I love the humble way in which the book is written, there is no brashness, no bragging, just simple fact and a wonderful journey.
I could not put this book down. This book will live in my Kindle forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Ordinary Lads from the North West, 16 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Management in 10 Words (Hardcover)
In common with the reviewers here, I rate Sir Terry Leahy's book "Management in 10 Words" very highly for all the reasons people have already mentioned. In fact, I place it right at the top, alongside Steve Radcliffe's No 1 leadership book on Amazon, "Leadership Plain and Simple".

There are two obvious links here. Both authors are 'ordinary lads' from the North West, Liverpool and Wigan respectively. And both are direct and honest leaders. Their extraordinary contribution to management and leadership is as remarkable as it is inspiring. In Sir Terry's own words, he is a shy and private man, and I am so glad that he has taken the decision to share his noble wisdom and experience with the world through his book.

Whilst the book has been written to share the lessons of success - the simple truths about life, not just business - it tells the real story about Tesco and goes all the way in confronting the negative publicity the company has received over the years for its success. It also demonstrates how the enlightened and disciplined application of capitalism offers abundant solutions for the rising social and environmental challenges we face. I hope that Sir Terry has the opportunity to make as significant a contribution in this direction, and to rescuing our failing economy and institutions, as he has had in his distinguished business career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you read one leadership book make it this one, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Management in 10 Words (Kindle Edition)
I was in senior management for 20 odd years and read a bunch of books whilst learning my craft "by ear".. Once I had "succeeded" I went off and got an MBA to validate myself somehow and to be honest, this book encapsulates everything you need to know about customer service and modern leadership. Its an easy read and Leahy is amazingly humble for such a talented and inspirational leader. Read this before you sign up for any kind of management / leadership training and you will save yourself a load of cash and a few years work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best business books I've ever read..and I've read lots, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Management in 10 Words (Hardcover)
Really great book. Instructive and inspirational in equal measure. Illustrates the "noble cause", values, brand promises and executional capability that took Tesco from no. 2 UK grocer to no. 3 worldwide retailer in 15 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very insightful read, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Management in 10 Words (Kindle Edition)
Filled with practical examples of the principles and theories which Terry Leahy clearly holds true, this book provides some food for thought for both managers and non managers alike. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Management in 10 Words
Management in 10 Words by Terry Leahy
4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews