Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly amazing
I held off from buying this when it was released thinking it would be one of those waste of time games that are made for the purpose of guys getting themselves off (DoA Extreme) and cashing in on the zombie fad that was around at the time. Well, I wish I would have bought it sooner because this is actually an amazing game.

- The story is incredibly fun. It's...
Published 23 months ago by C. Mills

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweeter than Candy
The computer game market wants to be seen as a mature past time that can be enjoyed by adults in the same way as an art film or trip to the theatre. However, some of us still like to watch the Arnie classics and would rather see a Ska band play a gig than watch an actor tread the boards. This is the attitude to gaming that Grasshopper Manufacture take; they produce some...
Published on 25 Feb. 2013 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly amazing, 20 Mar. 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I held off from buying this when it was released thinking it would be one of those waste of time games that are made for the purpose of guys getting themselves off (DoA Extreme) and cashing in on the zombie fad that was around at the time. Well, I wish I would have bought it sooner because this is actually an amazing game.

- The story is incredibly fun. It's just littered with weird and stupid stuff but in a good way. I just want to keep on playing to find out what happens next in this wacky ride. The only downfall is length. The game is only 5 levels long and each level will take around an hour to complete though for the price it is at now it is still definitely worth it. Even with roughly only 5 hours (main story, I don't count achievements etc.) I am now begging for a sequel.
The dialogue is mostly well written with the only few exceptions being a joke here and there that is a little cringworthy to hear, though that is only a small stain on an otherwise perfect title. Overall you grow fond of every character in Juliet's little family by the end which with a few of them only appear every now and again shows brilliant writing to get attached to certain characters in such a small space of time.

- The gameplay is pretty solid but is a little clunky when compared to other games in the hack and slash market such as Devil May Cry or God of War. It's mostly fluid though sometimes you get a slight feeling of "COME ON!!! I'M MASHING 'X', ATTACK!!!". There are alot of QTE's around though they blend seamlessly into the combat and don't take you out of the moment at all.
Throughout the levels there are smaller 'mini-games' such as 'Zombie Basketball' and 'Zombie Baseball' which are essentially just more combat but does succeed in making it a little more interesting by adding a twist to the fight. Part of the game takes part in a arcade with various references to many popular arcade games. There are also things scattered around such as 'stripper poles' that allow you to spin around with your chainsaw held out to behead all the zombies and small minigames which involves putting your boyfriend nicks head onto a zombies body to move obstacles. There is literally tons of things throughout levels to make sure that it's not all just mindlessly mashing buttons for hours on end.
The bosses are all unique with their own style. Non of them are at all the same to fight both in appearance and the battles themselves. They're all big fun and crazy and a joy to fight. The thing that I really liked with the bosses is they are all based on a type of music with the Viking Metal boss, Hippie boss, Funk boss, Punk boss and Classic Rock and Roll, they are all brilliantly done.
There is also an upgrade system where you purchase combat upgrades such as combos, health upgrades, strength etc. Pretty much standard stuff if you have played this type of thing before.

- Graphically it's darn good. It's colorful, interesting and just overall great to look at. The character models are near perfect, especially compared to alot of other games released these days. During combat it's not unusual to see rainbows fly out of defeated zombies, flashy colorful kill screens for massive combos, sparkles, glitter jeeze, the screen is just always full of colour and interesting to look at ALL THE TIME. There is visually never a dull moment, which is hard to say about even the biggest budget, highest rated games.

- The soundtrack is darn solid. It's very varied ranging from the stereotypical bubblegum pop to various types of metal (from the top of my head, Children of Bodom are on the soundtrack). Aside from the few songs by various artists the games own OST is very fitting aswell and really succeeds in setting the mood for every part of the game.

- It has a load of extras in it that are pretty standard. A butt load of unlockable costumes for Juliet, collectables, artwork yano, the usual. There are also ranking systems which will allow you to unlock content BUT unlike most games I was unable to do it on my first run through. For most people, you will probably end up going through the game at least twice to unlock everything via the ranking. This definitely adds to the replay value but to be honest, I will probably play through a few times regardless of ranking because the game is just that fun.

In short
Pros:
- Great storyline
- Very fun Gameplay
- Tons of amusing things throughout
- The graphics are great
- Juliet is hot (c'mon, most guys are thinking it)

Cons:
- Combat can be a little stiff when compared to other franchises of the genre
- a few bad jokes
- It's a tad too short

I give it a 5 star. With the only real complaint being "It's a tad short" it is definitely worth the £10 price tag that it is now. Definitely one of my favorite games in a while and a breath of fresh air compared to all the super serious games littered around these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Fun, 22 Jun. 2012
By 
M. MCCARTNEY (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a solid game start to finish. The story isn't made out to be overly serious, something which many modern games are missing! The humor contains many pop-culture references (Amazon wishlist is even mentioned in the game!), it is one of the few comedy games out at the minute.
What I loved most about this game is the soundtrack, classic tunes such as 'You Spin Me Right Round' are heard. All the music accompanies hilarious action sequences and is very fitting.

If your a fan of zombie games, Shadows of the Damned or No More Heroes, then definitely pick this up! I'm on my second play-through at the moment and there are plenty of special items and extras to collect and achieve, so it has plenty of replay value. Overall Lollipop Chainsaw is the perfect blend of video game direction from the East and West, and I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter Brilliance... As Long As You Know How To Have Fun, 15 Jun. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
To start... Ignore IGN's review of this game at all costs. It's bogus and offensive. it receives a 5.0 score and a rating of Mediocre. The review states that if you play this you are immature, and a misogynist.
The gameplay is simple and brilliant, less action adventure more hack & slash. the graphics are great, not perfect, but they take the 30fps that consoles can reach and use its full potential. your protagonist Juliet Starling is cute, funny and stereotypical. This game cannot be taken seriously and there is a ton of comic relief, mainly coming from your decapitated boyfriend. all characters have a great personality, even the Zombie bosses come up with some good lines!
The story is short, maybe around 8 hours on the hardest difficulty, but with the increase in difficulty comes a great challenge. there is also the opportunity to replay stages to place yourself on world leaderboards. There will be DLC in the future, what of? no-body knows. but there is already plenty to collect in the game as well as the RPG element of building Juliet up to be one bad-ass cheerleader.
SCORES:
Gameplay: 8/10
Graphics: 7/10
Fun Factor: 10/10
Value For Money: 10/10
OVERALL SCORE 8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can't figure out if you're real melonfarming stupid, or real melonfarming smart, 15 July 2012
By 
PeeBee (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I see a lot of reviews, amateur and professional, that are very sniffy about Lollipop Chainsaw (not on Amazon though - a discerning bunch of gamers!). No, it's not Ico and neither is it a feminist treatise, but you must have known that coming in: I mean, just look at the cover! However, don't be fooled; the script and design of the game is excellent.

** NOTE THE 18 RATING **.

This is not a game for minors - the gore is cartoonish and the dark elements are caricatures, but the language is Grade A ripe. If you are mature/old enough to not be offended by naughty words, you will find the dialogue knowing and genuinely funny. As a parent, you probably shouldn't be buying this for under-age kids.

Lollipop Chainsaw is basically a hack 'n' slash rom-zom-com. There are some rhythm and platformer minigames within as well. If you want to collect all the extras like special moves, power-ups, concept art, music and er... costumes... then you can keep coming back for more, although the appeal is somewhat limited.

Personally, I quite like linear games; I don't spend a lot of time gaming, so like to know I'm progressing rather than wandering aimlessly in a sandbox. Lollipop Chainsaw is fairly short and relatively simple, the character design and music are very good and overall, I kept playing "just one more try" way past my bedtime. I haven't done that in a long time.

Like the best grindhouse & exploitation movies, it may seem fluffy and inconsequential at first blush, but a lot of work and love has gone into this game and the cut scenes and dialogue are particularly excellent. Give the game a chance and it will charm you. In truth, there's not a lot of repeat play in the game, which is what loses it one star. My advice is, if you're interested in the game, buy a disc, play it and then trade it in/sell it on instead of getting a download version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm soo in love with this game!, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My new fave game! hyperactive start to finish with good mix of music threw out, the games very short (took about 7 hours to play and I'm a very new gamer) and is a good way to pass the day along you won't get bored of it!, the little snag is either I'm missing it or there's no real save point so I suggest to play the game In one sitting, this is a funny, zombie killing game with not to shabby animation and game controls! :D love it! Of to play it again! (You get the item in perfect condition and you can sinc it to Xbox live to add to leader boards)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buffy The Vampire Slayer meets Dead Rising, 15 Jun. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Recieved the game on day of release (can always count on Amazon) and put it in my XBox 360 straight away, and found what i expected....

A fun little game you play as Juliet Starling a cheerleading zombie hunter with a sassy attitude, it's a cross between buffy the vampire slayer with a chainsaw and Dead Rising.

Like i said a fun game to pass the time while we all wait for the bigger releases, easy enough controls, odd combo's to use when purchased with the gold and platnum coins you collect throughout the game, if your health goes down grab hold of and suck on a .... lollipop. Graphic wise pretty good, worth the money i think for a time waster of a game that will keep you going for a while (especially the guys).

Gave it four stars just for the sheer fun of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look out Ash, you got competition, Juliet's on the rampage and damn it's fun, 26 Sept. 2013
By 
Great White "GW" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Now those not familiar with this game just think Evil Dead mixed with Dead Rising mixed with High School of the Dead and that gives you an idea of what Lollipop Chainsaw is about. The game is about a cheerleader who is secretly a hunter of the dead who becomes involved with the apocalypse of the damned. Together with her Chainsaw, Juliet (voiced superbly by Tara Strong, lead voice artist of My Little Pony, Fairly Odd Parents, Disney's Ultimate Spider-man, Chowder and many other animated joys) must fight the undead the only way she knows how, with her cheer-leading moves that double as combat combos for kicking zombie butts. The combos start off basic but as you progress through the story, the more coins you collect from killing zombies, the better the combos becomes as you can unlock better ones and yes, they make all the difference. As well as that, you get the chance to unlock other costumes, most affectionately from High School of the Dead, including the provocative bikinis with some nods to Onechanbra as well. Along the way you meet some colourful characters and the interactions are hilarious especially between boyfriend Nick (played by Michael Rosenberg from Smallville) and Juliet's Elvis loving Dad (played superbly by Gregg Henry from Slither and Payback). This game contains lots of sexual innuendos and sexual references as well as some colourful language. This game is not for kids but in a way too young for adults. This is a guilty pleasure game that you can't help but love. Once you've played it once, you will want to replay it just to get the remaining combos and even have another laugh at the interactions of the characters. The characters could have been better choreographed as sometimes they don't move the way you expect them to. Sometimes there will be long pauses when you are pulling off a combo. and the only two moves Juliet can do with her chainsaw when not performing a combo are a bit lacklustre and could have had more work down on it. That said, Lollipop Chainsaw is a riot to play, enjoyable fun and hilarious with great acting and easily a game you'd play again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweeter than Candy, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The computer game market wants to be seen as a mature past time that can be enjoyed by adults in the same way as an art film or trip to the theatre. However, some of us still like to watch the Arnie classics and would rather see a Ska band play a gig than watch an actor tread the boards. This is the attitude to gaming that Grasshopper Manufacture take; they produce some great games, but they make sure they remain fun. Whilst the likes of `Bayonetta' had its silly moments, it is a borderline Mensa candidate when compared to the daftness and popcorn fantasy of `Lollipop Chainsaw'.

This 3rd person action game stars Juliet, a cheerleader who is also a zombie killer; which is lucky as the undead have invaded her High School. With the aid of your boyfriend's talking head you have to kick and punch your way through a series of levels based around an atypical US town. The elements that work best in `Lollipop' are those that you don't normally notice in a game; story, character, humour. Grasshopper showed with `Shadow of the Damned' that their games are genuinely funny to watch and the same is here. The use of licenced songs is also a great bonus.

However, like `Shadow' before it, what `Lollipop' makes up for in great humour, it fails in actual gameplay. The combat is fun to begin with, but soon becomes repetitive. You are essentially doing the same three or four types of gameplay over and over again. Graphically, the game is also lacking, the game could have been made early on in this generation and should be better by now. Despite lacking in the gameplay and graphics department the script is good enough to make you chuckle and want to finish the game. The awesome set pieces also help lift the game from poor into the realms of decent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Button Thrashing fun, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
While I have totally enjoyed this game I am a bit shocked that some many people have given it a 5 star review.

Yes it's a welcome change from the big titles like COD, but it's nothing more than good old fashioned button thrashing fun. I like the way your skills build up and the combos get more elaborate.
It reminds me of older titles from days gone by, the closes game I can compare it to on the Xbox is Wolverine which I loved.

Do not be fooled by the portrayed cute girly looking image of this game. The language is dirty and there are plenty of sexual innuendoes which I like ;-)

The main character Juliet is a babe which really makes me want to give this game a 5 star rating but she can get a little bit tedious when she repeatedly dishes out teen says such as O.M.G, awesome and this is totally cool etc etc.

One other bad point is the game save points. I like to switch on the Xbox and have 15 - 30 mins on it while the misses is in the shower or something, the problem is that each chapter seems to last a lot longer than that and there are no midpoint saves. On the same note if you die it sometimes puts you annoyingly far back in the game.

Please don't hate me for not giving this game 5 stars. I am just trying to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lollipop Chainsaw - Played through 4 times now., 15 Oct. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I rarely ever review a game but I feel like I had to for this one. I might even review more games if people care about this review.
I wanted to get this game ages ago because it's made by Suda 51 and I'm a fan of other games they've made such as Shadows of The Damned. I've been struggling for money lately so I put off buying it until I saw it for £15 on amazon and for £15 it is a definite buy. I think loads of people should get this game.
Lollipop Chainsaw is really difficult to sum up. The main character is a zombie hunting cheerleader who is on her way to school on her birthday to meet her boyfriend when zombies start showing up. At the end of the first level her boyfriend saves her from a zombie and gets bitten. To save her boyfriend she cuts of his head and performs a ritual so he is a talking head that is attached to her belt loop as a companion for the game. Your goal is to hunt down the five zombie bosses summoned by one of your classmates who wants the world to rot.
I apologise for any spoilers but I'm only talking about events revealed in the first level so that shouldn't really matter right?
I love the humour in this, I can't remember a game I played when I actually laughed at loud at a joke. The cast in this game is amazing. The main character, Juliet, is voiced by Tara Strong who also voices Bubbles in the Powerpuff Girls and Dil Pickles in Rugrats. Juliet's boyfriend, Nick, is voiced by Michael Rosenbaum, who plays Lex Luthor in Smallville. I love Nick in this game and has quickly become one of my favourite video game characters, his dialogue is so funny and clever, also he is the only character I've seen in a zombie game to actually question what's going on around him and near the end says "whatever... It doesn't even phase me anymore." a thought I had half way through the game where it is so insane it takes you by surprise to where you can't actually predict what will happen next.
One of the bosses is Jimmy Urine from Mindless Self Indulgence who helped compose the boss battle music tracks. I am a huge fan of the music in this game because it fits so well, that may be due to the person who was in charge of the music and composed nearly all of it is the same person who composed the music for the first Silent Hill games which are legendary because of the music and how the music made the gamer feel.
As much as I love this game, it has it's flaws. The camera can be tricky at moments, unfortunately the camera is only bad in the first level in the school and in the first boss fight.
Apart from that, the game is near perfect. I have played through it twice in the past few days, an immediate playthrough and I have never done another playthrough of a game immediately after going through all the levels once so it's a big deal for me and I play a tonne of games so it's definitely worth getting.
The graphics agents great, they're pretty good but it runs on Unreal Engine 3 and it does have some texture loading time, only of a second or so, nowhere near as bad as other Suda 51 games but amazon didn't sell the game that well so they're still giving out pre order bonus dlc codes so try to get it from there, it's only £15 and definitely worth the money. I'd say, if you can get this for under £25 then definitely get it, it's one of my favourite new games in quite some time so definitely go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360)
Lollipop Chainsaw (Xbox 360) by Warner Bros. Interactive (Xbox 360)
£9.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews