Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book for beginners
Firstly let me say that I have bought all of Barry Maz's ukulele books, these little nuggets of information for such a small price are a font of knowledge if you are just starting out learning to play the ukulele,they give you buying tips and all sorts of information regarding getting started, with the second book he touches on most issues you will come across including...
Published on 23 Mar 2012 by Kaizersoza

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't buy if you have a Baritone Uke
this book promised to be decent... the coverage for standard ukulele certainly is... however, the baritone chord coverage is seriously lacking as only the following chords are present:

A, A7, Am, Am7, Adim, A6
B, B7, Bm, Bm7, Bdim, B6
C, C7, Cm, Cm7, Cdim, C6
D, D7, Dm, Dm7, Ddim, D6
E, E7, Em, Em7, Edim, E6
F, F7, Fm, Fm7, Fdim,...
Published on 22 July 2012 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book for beginners, 23 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chords That Ukulele Players Really Want To Know (Kindle Edition)
Firstly let me say that I have bought all of Barry Maz's ukulele books, these little nuggets of information for such a small price are a font of knowledge if you are just starting out learning to play the ukulele,they give you buying tips and all sorts of information regarding getting started, with the second book he touches on most issues you will come across including the dreaded E chord and some basic music theory written in laymans terms so you don't have to trawl through a load of jargon, together with his blog page you will be well on your way to becoming an accomplished player before you know it, I have been playing the uke for 10 months so I am no expert but the support I have received from Barry via his blogpages have been a great help to my learning this beautiful instrument, as I have said I have been playing for 10 months but there are still some good snippets of information within Barry's books for me to resort to when I get a problem such as setting the ukulele up, The chord book is quite a handy tool for me because I want to learn the chord shapes for baritone ukulele as well as the standard GCEA tuning and there are still some chords in there I want to learn,it is clear, concise and easy to read, I would also just like to put the books into perspective as well, for little more than the price of a sunday newspaper you will be getting a wealth of information for a beginner, the other books mentioned in a previous post are very good as well, but the difference in cost is vast and if you are just dipping your toe into the ukulele water, you wouldn't want to spend 10+ on a book that you may never use if you don't like the instrument, I would highly recommend 'The Ukulele For Dummies' book if you do decide to learn the instrument, but then so would Barry himself, thats the kind of guy he is, also if you are at intermediate level, you will probably not find much in the books you don't already know, but Barry makes no secret that these are for 'BEGINNERS', I would love to see Barry write an intermediate type book because for me I am moving into this area of my development, also Barry a songbook for the kindle would go down very well if you have time, a great series of books for anyone beginning the uke buy with confidence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is Busybee talking about?, 23 Mar 2012
By 
Corinne F (Nantwich, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chords That Ukulele Players Really Want To Know (Kindle Edition)
Barry Maz's new book does what it says on the tin...I'm a bit mystified by one reviewer's comments about errors in written theory, when apart from the explanatory intro, there isn't any writing in it! Maybe Busybee was referring to the other two highly successful books??? Patently obvious this person hasn't bought the book, or they would realise it's just a handy chord manual to have when gigging or practising alone. Of course you can find stuff online, but this book saves you time and effort, and it's affordable enough! Don't know whether there's a paperback version, but it would be handy and compact enough to shove in a uke case. Busybee seems to have a not-so-hidden agenda - is s/he a rival uke writer just seeking to discredit a successful rival? I wonder... I'm a uke player so I go for simplicity and convenience, and this book ticks both those boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. AJW Crowle (Rose of the Shires, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chords That Ukulele Players Really Want To Know (Kindle Edition)
Full of great tips. Complements many of the other Uke books and worth getting if you are a beginner in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy, 26 Mar 2012
By 
I. Shaw "Ooky" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chords That Ukulele Players Really Want To Know (Kindle Edition)
Man I'm pleased with this - the chord boxes look REALLY clear on the Kindle and it's great that I can now carry them around with me all the time. A good idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leftie Heaven!, 24 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chords That Ukulele Players Really Want To Know (Kindle Edition)
An excellent follow on from the authors other brilliant books! As a leftie having to reverse everything is a real pain. Barry has moved everything a massive step forward by creating a set of leftie chords in a format that is durable and user friendly. Having it electronically has really helped me keep everything all in the one place and in mint condition. Whether as a newbie or intermediate I believe this to be a really useful helpful little book and one I'd definitely recommend to you. The enthusiasm of the author for the Ukulele and his role as an ambassador for the instrument is refreshing as he seeks to encourage and assist players. Like I said - helpful, useful and a definite " must "have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In tune with the students needs, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Michael J. Mcguire (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chords That Ukulele Players Really Want To Know (Kindle Edition)
The book delivers what is says on the covers. A great tool for the beginner. A must for all new Ukulele students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't buy if you have a Baritone Uke, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book promised to be decent... the coverage for standard ukulele certainly is... however, the baritone chord coverage is seriously lacking as only the following chords are present:

A, A7, Am, Am7, Adim, A6
B, B7, Bm, Bm7, Bdim, B6
C, C7, Cm, Cm7, Cdim, C6
D, D7, Dm, Dm7, Ddim, D6
E, E7, Em, Em7, Edim, E6
F, F7, Fm, Fm7, Fdim, F6
G, G7, Gm, Gm7, Gdim, G6

As you can see, the sharps/flats are ALL missing... making the baritone sections useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Standing on the shoulders of giants, 23 Mar 2012
This review is from: Chords That Ukulele Players Really Want To Know (Kindle Edition)
The content of this book is easily found online, for free, or from books that are better written and more easily understood, much like the earlier books in this series. He seems to know much theory and ukulele history, with no credit given to any of the sources he copied from.

The "theory" in this book is difficult to understand indeed. For example, he talks about how notes comprise a chord, but never mentions the word triad. He describes the stacking of the notes in semitones, when maybe just drawing the staff and would have helped the reader more easily visualize the concept. Theory wise, this is barely theory. Telling someone that notes are measured in a distance of semitones, and how those semitones are stacked to make a chord is not theory. If the authors defense is that this is the only way to get chord charts on a kindle, he's sadly mistaken.

The reader is better off getting Ukulele For Dummies, or Roy Sakuma's Treasury of Chords, or purchasing lessons from UkuleleUnderground, or any of the books by Jumpin' Jim. These are the people that put in the time and research and knowledge to pass on to the ukulele player. This guy is just self-publishing work that copies what came before him. In the uke community we don't throw around the term hack or sell-out often, but this guy is.

My suggestion to the author is give credit when you are using other publications. You certainly didn't remember all those charts and theory explanations on your own. Likewise in his other books, all that uke history and and background didn't just come from sky.

It's also no good to just spit out a bunch of copied text from different sources when it comes to the theory of how to make a chord. There are so many great method books out there, and even better chord collection books. It's best to take a fresh approach. What worked for you when learning this? And then pass that on in a way that doesn't sound like it was copied from a textbook.

This basically all sounds like the kind of theory you learn with no formal education. When people think of the downside of vanity publishing, they think of works like this one. Your money is better spent elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews