Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best book I have ever read
this is my first ever Amazon review, and possibly my last;

I'm writing it because I cannot believe this book has got only two reviews, and one is negative.

The Toaster Project is simply genius. The book is a brilliantly self-deprecating analysis of the strange world we live in, and the hidden costs of a consumerist society. The author describes how...
Published 9 months ago by Last Mango In Paris

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother
I have just read this and it is complete and utter rubbish. Just the inane ramblings of a 2nd year MA student who is trying to blag his way through his degree rather than actually doing anything constructive. A few copies of some emails, random quotes and poor pictures. The title is completely misleading as he doesn't go into details about how he actually does anything...
Published 24 months ago by Mik Haycock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best book I have ever read, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Toaster Project (Paperback)
this is my first ever Amazon review, and possibly my last;

I'm writing it because I cannot believe this book has got only two reviews, and one is negative.

The Toaster Project is simply genius. The book is a brilliantly self-deprecating analysis of the strange world we live in, and the hidden costs of a consumerist society. The author describes how gobsmacked he is that a toaster in Argos costs a few quid. How is this possible? How can a few pounds pay for the labour, the constituent parts, everything it cost to produce them, the travel incurred, the rent of the shop it's displayed in, the cost of the staff in the shop, and all of the other costs implicated in the price tag?

Because this makes no sense to him, he goes out to build a toaster himself - from scratch; down to mining for all the raw materials!

What he produces looks abysmal. And it costs him £8000 and a year of hard labour, or thereabouts - perhaps reflecting on the true cost of our consumer goods. The money shot is at the end of the book, where he smuggles his bastardised toaster into Argos with an £8000 price tag on it, and displays it next to a proper toaster.

I am hereby aware that this review is pants. I hope other people who have read it can do it justice. It really is one my favourite books - I've bought at least ten copies for friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A witty exploration of our complex economy, 29 Jun 2014
By 
gerryg - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Toaster Project (Paperback)
The author tries to make a toaster (price £6.95 retail) by starting with the raw materials and takes us through an entertaining journey on how the division of labour brings many benefits by describing his complete failure in trying to go solo (cost £100s manufacture)

Anyone with any level of interest in economics, technology and logistics will gain much from this.

The economist Adam Smith got there first in 1776 with the description of how a pin factory increases productivity in Wealth of Nations but the text could seem a bit dry and historic.

This book is a well written, vivid and witty narrative of the counter-factual "lest we forget" the many benefits of industrialisation and brings to life reference books such as How Things Work Encyclopedia (First Reference)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Toaster Project: Or A Heroic Attempt to Build a Simple Electric Appliance from Scratch (Kindle Edition)
A look at how complicated the simple things we take for granted are. Technically interesting, and a great political view of the true cost of cut price gadgets and who really pays the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything is awesome, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Toaster Project (Paperback)
Fun! Used it in my essay and got a 2:1, thanks Thomas Thwaites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars conceptual approach to a practical problem, 30 April 2013
This review is from: The Toaster Project (Paperback)
i'm giving this book 4 stars based on the scope of the project and validity of its ideas. the book itself may not be the best book, but with a modest budget for documentation, editing, printing and distribution, it is quite an achievement. if one is interested, as i am, in implications for making/ producing vs consumption, and not in a practical guide on how to make an actual toaster, this book is completely valid food for thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother, 20 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Toaster Project (Paperback)
I have just read this and it is complete and utter rubbish. Just the inane ramblings of a 2nd year MA student who is trying to blag his way through his degree rather than actually doing anything constructive. A few copies of some emails, random quotes and poor pictures. The title is completely misleading as he doesn't go into details about how he actually does anything and as for the construction chapter, somehow he has mistaken the definition of the word construction as he doesn't at any point detail the construction of his very poor attempt at building a toaster, all he seems to do is have a psuedo-environmental rant about consumerism. A complete waste of money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews