Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend it to others
A really great feel good film! Watched it with a group of friends and had a thoroughly good fun evening
Published on 4 Dec. 2012 by Deborah Akehurst

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Warms the heart, makes you smile.
Dolly was a bit wooden, and, as you'd expect, it's a bit cheesy. Queen Latifa is superb and the Gospel choir are incredible. Great, heartwarming story which leaves you feeling upbeat.
Published 5 months ago by Mrs Kerry A Connolly


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend it to others, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyful Noise (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
A really great feel good film! Watched it with a group of friends and had a thoroughly good fun evening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT ENOUGH LOVE IN OUR HEARTS, 13 July 2013
This review is from: Joyful Noise (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
The film is a long TV sitcom with a "Romeo and Juliet" theme. In the first scene Bernard Sparrow (Kris Kristofferson) dies, which I found amusing because I thought K.K. was already dead. Queen Latifah, who was the assistant choir director takes over the top position. G.G. Sparrow (Dolly Parton), who was married to Bernard believes she should have the role because of all the pillow talk they shared and the fact her face does a pretty good Joan Rivers impersonation.

Dolly's long lost bad boy grandson (Jeremy Jordan) shows up out of nowhere and wants Olivia (Keke Palmer) to be his Juliet. Dexter Darden stars as Walter Hill, Olivia's brother who has Asperger's Syndrome. He is mono-focused on "one hit wonders."

The film has a number of wonderful scenes that work. Unfortunately it uses some dumb lines such as Dolly Parton at her husband's funeral, "man had five kids, he must have loved something." or "[He is] so country he has married three times and has the same in-laws." Dolly Parton has a distinctive voice. You know when she is singing and you know when she isn't i.e. just lip syncing as part of the chorus.

The movie had a few good dramatic scenes, but the film worked best when it is attempting to be a comedy. The only different between this a sitcom, is that in the sitcom they have to win to pay the mortgage or mom's operation. (Oh what are TV writers going to do once everyone has insurance?) Okay rental if you love TV sitcoms. Don't expect any come to Jesus moments. 4 stars maybe a little overrated, but I laughed at every close up they did of Dolly's face (she did this to herself.)

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. One implied sex scene. Use of "S" and "BS" words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 6 Nov. 2012
By 
Ms. Gillian D. Barr "gibarr" (Edinburgh,Mid-Lothian,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joyful Noise (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I watched this movie when I was on Holiday in Los Angeles back n May & loved it 100%. Well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film - must see, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyful Noise (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
To date- this is my daughter favourite film. She can watch it over and over again- she's only four years old.

Great humour, nice songs - a really diverse story. I was particularly touched with the disabled son- experience as I have a similar challenge in my life.

Must see- great Sunday - family movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars happy film, 23 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyed this film a good all round family film dolly lips look bigger
in this film . a good feel good singing happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joyful Noise, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyful Noise (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Really liked this film. Great music and I really liked the interactions of Dolly Parton and Queen Latifa's character. One restaurant scene in particular is hilarious!! Feel good movie. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A great Combination, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyful Noise (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Who ever thought of putting Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton to should win an Oscar. This film had us Laughing and Crying. Fab Film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for those who love music!, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyful Noise (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I absolutely love Dolly and Queen Latifa in this movie. The kids they chose for the cast are so talented it is no wonder people love this musical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyful Noise (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
This film was awesome! i loved Dolly Parton and Queen Latifah together! funny duo. Music was great had me dancing and singing along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyful Noise (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
A happy moving uplifting story. Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton are excellent together and their voices work so well together. Can watch it over and over it is brilliant. The sound track is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joyful Noise (DVD + UV Copy) [2012]
Joyful Noise (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] by Todd Graff (DVD - 2012)
£7.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews