Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catchy and Clever, 21 Jan 2013
This review is from: The House That Jack Built (Audio CD)
I first heard Jesca Hoop singing outside Tate Modern a few years back, was impressed enough to find out more and thus became a fan of her music. This is a very good album with a nice mix of cleverly written songs, several of which you can easily find yourself singing along to. It's an excellent introduction for newcomers to Jesca's music and, if it gets you interested in the back catalogue, then all the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House That Jack Built (Audio CD)
I bought this on a whim having heard a track on 6 music. So glad I did as it's the best album I've heard all year. It's full of folky popiness and surprising melodies which can't easily be compared to anything else - maybe a tiny bit like Shawn Colvin at her best?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesca Hoop - The House That Jack Built, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House That Jack Built (Audio CD)
Great album. Just what I expected from this talented artist. I give it all five stars. Nothing more to add, just get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beguiling Presence, 28 Jun 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The House That Jack Built (Audio CD)
My first encounter with Jesca Hoop was as support act to Teddy Thompson at a
London Southbank Centre "Meltdown" concert in June 2010. She was a beguiling
presence with her warm, quirky voice and unpredictably-structured songs.
Her new album 'The House That Jack Built' confirms my belief that she is a
force to be reckoned with. Perhaps too left-of-centre to conquer the mainstream
but I suspect that's not where she would want to be anyway. If you like Regina
Spektor and Imogen Heep it is very likely that you will find much to admire
here too. These ten compositions are melodically strong and lyrically intriguing.

It's a very varied set ranging from the delicate folksy reflections of 'DNR';
through the powerful resounding chords of 'Peacemaker' with its complex
harmonies and near-Asian ambience; the Wild-West ghost town ebb and flow of
'Deeper Devastation'; to the darkly upbeat ironies of 'Hospital (Win Your Love)'.
The title track 'The House That Jack Built', however, wins the prize for top
track. It is a song which somehow manages to burrow deep into one's soul by
stealth and displays Ms Hoop's impressive vocal range to particularly moving effect.

I have a feeling that this album is going to become a very good friend of mine.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ADVENTUROUS, 8 April 2014
This review is from: The House That Jack Built (Audio CD)
The House That Jack Built
Jesca Hoop is a Californian born Alt/Rock singer/songwriter who now, after a close association with Elbow lead man, /Guy Garvey, now lives in Manchester UK.
"The House That Jack Built" is her fourth full length release and the most adventurous to date.
It's an album that with its expansive percussive rhythms and gentle mood laidened tracks, swings between energetic, as well as intimate and personal as in the poignant title track about the passing of her Father and one in which you hear Jesca's full range of super vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great value package! I have listened to the downloaded version for a while now, love the album! But listening to the vinyl version I can hear what I've been missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House That Jack Built (Audio CD)
saw her perform a lot of the songs on this album when she was supporting "I am Kloot" and bought this on the back of that. brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Varied, intense and stimulating. Oh and fun too!, 23 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: The House That Jack Built (Audio CD)
A beautiful combination of satisfying melodies, well written lyrics and energetic rhythms. Highlights for me are the energetic opening track 'Born To' and tribal sounding 'Deeper Devastation'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House That Jack Built
The House That Jack Built by Jesca Hoop (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews