Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...All Your Lovin'...Thrills Me So..." - All Through The City Box Set by Dr. FEELGOOD
As you've no doubt already guessed from the avalanche of five-star reviews this Dr. Feelgood retrospective has already received - "All Through The City" is frankly a bit of a box set barnstormer. Covering the Wilko Johnson/Lee Brilleaux/John Sparks/Big Figure years - it features 4 full album's worth and a large haul of previously unreleased studio outtakes and live cuts...
Published on 8 Jun 2012 by Mark Barry

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty Mastering on Disc 2
After reading the review of G. M. Dobb "lord_vinyl", YES there is crackle throughout cd 2, mostly on the Sneaking Suspicion disc. This is a shame as this has never been mastered correctly for CD, and the box set was expensive here in Spain. It is truly sad that the time and effort put into this boxset that EMI could not check their work. I am not sure if it a result of...
Published on 22 Jun 2012 by RollingRock


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...All Your Lovin'...Thrills Me So..." - All Through The City Box Set by Dr. FEELGOOD, 8 Jun 2012
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As you've no doubt already guessed from the avalanche of five-star reviews this Dr. Feelgood retrospective has already received - "All Through The City" is frankly a bit of a box set barnstormer. Covering the Wilko Johnson/Lee Brilleaux/John Sparks/Big Figure years - it features 4 full album's worth and a large haul of previously unreleased studio outtakes and live cuts from the time. There's even a lengthy DVD that in itself would make a superb stand-alone release. And it's just dropped in price too. Here are the finite details...

Released 16 April 2012 in the UK - and taking its title from a track on their debut LP - "All Through The City (With Wilko 1974-1977)" is a 3CD + 1DVD box set on EMI 5099955980524 and breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (79:11 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 13 are their debut album "Down By The Jetty" - released in the UK in January 1975 on United Artists UAS 29717
Tracks 14 to 24 are their 2nd album "Malpractice" - released in the UK in October 1975 on United Artists UAS 29880

Disc 2 (73:27 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 13 are their 3rd album - the live set "Stupidity" - released in the UK in September 1976 on United Artists UAS 29990
Tracks 14 to 23 are their 4th album "Sneakin' Suspicion" (and last with original guitarist Wilko Johnson) - released in the UK in May 1977 on United Artists UAS 30075

Disc 3 (72:41 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 13 and 18 to 20 are PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
Track 14 is "(Get Your Kicks On) Route 66" and is the non-album B-side of their 1st UK 7" single "Roxette" released November 1974 on United Artists UP 35760
Tracks 15, 16 and 17 are "I'm A Hog For You Baby", "Stupidity" and "She Said Alright" and are all album outakes from the "Down By The Jetty" sessions.
They were first issued on the May 2006 2CD 'Collector's Edition' of "Down By The Jetty"
Track 21 is "Keep It Out Of Sight (Live)" and is a non-album B-side of their 4th UK 7" single "Roxette (Live)" released October 1976 on United Artists UP 36171
Original copies of the live set "Stupidity" came with a free collector's 7" single [FEEL 1] - two extra live tracks - "Riot In Cell Block No.9" b/w "Johnny B. Goode".
They are Tracks 22 and 23 on Disc 3.

NOTES - EXCLUSIONS - INCLUSIONS:
Even though the catalogue number for "Down By The Jetty" uses the UA code for Stereo (UAS) - the album was famously recorded and released in MONO - and that MONO remaster is what's included on this box set (the 2006 version). The 'STEREO' mix is on the 2CD "Down By The Jetty - Collector's Edition" released in June 2006 - both versions remastered like this box set by PETER MEW at Abbey Road Studios.

Track 13 on Disc 1 is a duo of cover versions "Bonie Moronie/Tequila" and was recorded live in London's Dingwalls in July 1974. Six more tracks from that concert are on Disc 2 of the 'Collector's Edition' of "Down By The Jetty" and are NOT on this box set.

"Malpractice", "Stupidity" and "Sneakin' Suspicion" have all been available before on CD on Grand Records in the Nineties - but this 2012 box set offers properly remastered versions of them for the first time.

PACKAGING:
Wilko Johnson had always adored Johnny Kidd & The Pirates and especially their guitar player Mick Green - and tucked away on the B-side of their 1964 hit "Always & Forever" on HMV Records POP 1269 was an obscure cover version of a Piano Red song from 1962 on Okeh Records called "Doctor Feelgood" (Red's group was actually called Dr. Feelgood & The Interns). Wilko chose this apt name for his new rockin' band from Canvey Island in Essex - and a kick ass British Rhythm 'n' Blues legend was born. I mention all of this because the single is pictured on Page 3 of the superb booklet centred in the hardback pack - along with interviews with Wilko (December 2011), liner notes by HUGO WILLIAMS, discography details that picture the albums, comic book strips, trade adverts, 7" singles on United Artists, NME and Melody Maker reviews and all the usual memorabilia associated with a retrospective like this.

A very, very smart move is the inclusion of a non-region-coded 23-track DVD (22 songs and 1 interview). Recorded in England (20 cuts from 1974) and Finland (2 cuts from 1975) - the Concert/TV appearances show the full-on thrill of a Dr. Feelgood live show in their prime. They were little short of sensational and regularly annihilated most other bands in their path. Their manic no-nonsense fast and furious songs were also beloved by Rock 'n' Rollers and even pre-dated Punk by two years. I can't stress enough how the DVD adds so much to the 3CDs of rocking mania - remastered to perfection by PETER MEW at Abbey Road.

MUSIC:
I know people rave about the debut with "She Does It Right", "Roxette" and so many more (and quite rightly so) - but for me the follow-up "Malpractice" is the absolute balls too. I wore out the 2nd track "Going Back Home" on my original vinyl copy. Co-written with Wilko's guitar hero and mentor Mick Green - it has the most fantastic Lee Brilleaux harmonica solo. I also love the Bo Diddley cover "I Can Tell" and their menacing version of Bobby Parker's "Watch Your Step". Original gems include "Another Man", the sleazy "Don't Let Your Daddy Know" and the chugging "Because You're Mine" (co-written with Big Figure and Nick Lowe). The remastered sound too - what a punch. Love it...

It all came to a frenzied head on the live "Stupidity" set when the British public feel completely for their charms and put it on the Number 1 spot in October 1976. Again - I'd forgotten how good it is - frantic - urgent - "Walking The Dog" and "I'm A Hog For You Baby" sounding so exciting and huge. Following that pinnacle was always going to be difficult and I remember at the time 1977's "Sneakin' Suspicion" was met with disappointment - like the band was threading water - and their sound was now limiting instead of being fresh. But relistening to the cracking title track (the only single off the album), "Walking On The Edge" and especially what should have been the follow up single "Paradise" (all Wilko originals) - they're fantastic (lyrics above). I also so dig their take on the Eddie Fontaine hit "Nothing Shaking (But The Leaves On The Trees)" with Lee's harmonica tearing through your speakers. The Lew Lewis cover "Lucky Seven" and the Willie Dixon/Howlin' Wolf take on "You'll Be Mine" are great fun too.

UNRELEASED:
I had expected the unreleased stuff on Disc 3 to be workmanlike - and some of it is - but there are shockingly good studio outtakes that will get fans animated in the trouser area. It opens with a rough and ready take on Piano Red's "Dr. Feelgood" which is very good - but it ups a whole different notch with "Everybody's Carrying A Gun", "I'm A Hog For You Baby" and "Time And The Devil" studio recordings from January and August 1976. They're brill. Less successful is a weedy demo of "Sneakin' Suspicion" and a limp instrumental called "Malamut" which features Mick Green on guitar. Better by far is a cover of Alvin Johnson's "Casting My Spell On You" which is pure Wilko Feelgoods - it's brilliant. The crudely recorded cover of Chuck Berry's "I'm Talking About You" is good too with a great chucking beat and again they hit you with another nugget - a properly rocking version of "My Girl Josephine" by Fats Domino. The live stuff is very much in the vein of "Stupidity". Very tasty indeed...

To sum up - I've loved working through this sonic blast - this memory fest - and now at a bargain price of twenty-eight pounds new - it's time to don the sharp suit music lovers and do the leg-splits boogie. In fact mention Dr. Feelgood to those who saw the band in their prime and a manic grin will fill their wrinkled visage that no cigarette-smoking scalpel-wielding surgeon will be able to remove.

On a more personal note - I once glimpsed Lee Brilleaux in 1989 clacking his way down Berwick Street in his steel-heeled leather shoes - looking like a cross between Arthur Daley and a man ready to blow a demonically possessed harmonica no matter what the cost. I wished I'd stopped him, shook his hand and just said thanks. Well this is for you Lee - Wilko - and all the boys in the band.

Bootiful my son...

PSL see also my review of "Taking No Prisoners - The Gypie Mayo Years" 5CD/1DVD Dr. Feelgood box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, disc 2 plays PERFECTLY..., 26 April 2013
By 
Stéphan (Marseille, France) - See all my reviews
Dear all DrFEELGOOD aficionados,
i can confirm that on the new (2013) set there is the following number on all printed discs :
50999-958040-2-6, so although looking quite the same, it is a different (new) release.
But MOST important, i have just listened again (with headphones) to both discs 2, and , DEFINITELY, on the new one,
the volume is decent/correct/fine, and no more defects, not a single one.
Okay we have to buy it again, but now you can buy with CONFIDENCE !
Thanx but no thanx to EMI, but at least we can indulge in aural orgasm while listening to 'Stupidity' live.
Take care,
Stephan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DVD review - The Feelgoods do it right, 19 April 2012
By 
Paul M "ROYALSFAN" (Reading ,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This fantastic anthology has much going for it,from a complete overview of the recorded Wilko years, to a stunning DVD that shows beyond doubt that the Feelgoods kept the rock and roll flame alive in the grim mid seventies before the advent of punk and new wave in 1976. And,as the fantastic DVD shows the Feelgoods had menace,attitude, and a rock and roll heart hardened by years of touring the clubs,pubs, and festivals of Britain.

This review will leave the music to others [ and , besides the music speaks for itself], and concentrate on the DVD, purely because there are some real gems to be found in its hour plus length, and it serves to tantilise the what might have been if Wilko hadn't jumped ship in 1977 [ my personal feeling is that they would finally have broken the US, and sold millions with just a couple of small pushes]. Still,there is this brilliant live anthology to enjoy so here we go.

The Geordie Scene - Feb 1975

This set of seven numbers has the Feelgoods in blistering form in front of a shy, and slightly bemused audience of Geordie teenagers [ who were probably really waiting for the Bay City Rollers]. The real joy is watching Wilkos manic stage craft as he runs about the stage like a man possessed in "She Does it Right", whilst Lee Brilleaux, John B Sparks, and The Big Figure just add to the bands overall menace. With great versions of Boom Boom, Roxette, and Riot in Cell Block #9, this early TV appearance shows a band who know exactly what they are doing and where they are heading.

Old Grey Whistle Test - March 1975

A slightly more subdued set from the band as they blaze through "Keep it out of Sight", "Roxette", and "She does it Right", but the sound is great, and theres a great mini showcase for The Big Figure in the first number. Maybe it was the BBC's resources, or lack of an audience at the show that gives this 3 song set more subtlety. Thats not distracting from the band, its just that the genuine live stuff is so much better.

45 With Kid Jenson

Regretably only Back in the Night, but again the band look great.The sound is also so clear I suspect this version may be mimed or supported by a backing track.

Live at the Kursaal Southend - November 1975

Although already released on DVD [ with a great audio cd to boot], this is one of the best live shows I have ever watched on DVD. Its grainy quality just adds to the down and dirty vibe of the band, as they lay waste to an adoring home town crowd. This is live British rock and roll at its finest, and by the time of Im a Hog For You Baby [ with Wilkos most manic performance running across the stage like his life depends on it,to Brilleaux's white suit looking like its been lived in for months], this incarnation of Dr Feelgood show just why their legacy remains untainted. Simply put, this is brilliant stuff.

Kuussrock Finland - July 1975

Two songs " She Does it Right" and " Roxettte" filmed close to the stage, means that you see every bead of sweat, every sneer as the band thrill,and bemuse an enthusiastic Scandinavian audience.
However,what really makes this set is an unintentially great interview, where the band politely answer a series of banal questions from a slightly awestruck interviewer.The band do their very best to appear interested as the hapless interviewer struggles to make his points, whilst the band drink their beers and try to make the discussion work.

Overall the material on this DVD is a real testament to the early Dr Feelgood, and serves to enhance their reputation even more in the wake of Oil City Confidential. The tragedy is that Lee Brilleaux didnt live to see his band take their rightful place in British music history.

MAY 2013

EMI have recently reissued this set for a paltry £16.99.Although now housed in a conventional thick 4 cd box, there really is no excuse not to buy this set if you were previously sitting on the fence.Like much great music, the whole set just gets better with every listen!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Business Fixed, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
EMI (and the Feelgoods) have done an outstanding job in presenting this box/booklet. Hadn't heard the 2006 digital remaster of "Down by the Jetty" before (digital remaster of mono product - loving it!) and this sounds just absolutely perfect. The 2012 jobs and the bonus material are equally well done.

The DVD is an absolute treasure and brought back happy memories (especially the Kursaal gig which was my first live recording as an audience member). The interview sequence really underlines the link between the band and punk with Wilko especially providing a pretty good J Lydon before we'd heard of him.

Invest, invest, invest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disc 2 revisited, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just played disc 2 from the "new" version of this box set and it's fine. The graphics on all 4 discs are exactly the same and state copyright 2012 but it's definitely a better sound with no obvious scratches, clicks or glitches now. Play it loud to get the best sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning collection, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a no brain essential buy for anyone who has even the vaguest interest in Dr Feelgood during Wilkos tenure with them.

The audio part collects all of the essential album and single material together in superb quality remastered sound, along with a good dose of live stuff that really captures the raw essence and sweat of a Feelgood gig.

The DVD is just pure gold. Seeing the band in action is an unalloyed pleasure. Lee Brilleaux looks like he is ready to explode, menacing and strutting around giving 110%. Wilko looks like he is possessed with a manic energy that dare not be interfered with.

An absolute essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oyeh!, 25 April 2012
By 
G. M. Dobb "lord_vinyl" (Bicester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Five stars for the music, particularly the disc of unreleased tracks which is worth the purchase price alone. Every Dr. Feelgood fan should hear the original version of Roxette, before the trademark riff was added.

On my copy purchased from Amazon however, disc 2 seems to suffer from lots of crackle. Listen to the intro to Sneakin' Suspicion or Paradise, although the crackle is evident throughout the whole disc.

The other discs seem fine, has anyone else noticed this problem or do I have a faulty copy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty Mastering on Disc 2, 22 Jun 2012
After reading the review of G. M. Dobb "lord_vinyl", YES there is crackle throughout cd 2, mostly on the Sneaking Suspicion disc. This is a shame as this has never been mastered correctly for CD, and the box set was expensive here in Spain. It is truly sad that the time and effort put into this boxset that EMI could not check their work. I am not sure if it a result of bad disc or a problem overlooked by the mastering engineer at Abbey Road. Anyway you would expect more from Abbey Road and EMI. A very careless on glaring error on their part, it really destroys the whole excitement of this long awaited package. Check your work, not the best way to represent one of the UKs greatest bands of the 70's Refund please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic stuff!, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw Dr Feelgood live many times mesmerised by Wilko looking like a psychotic insurance salesman with his black Telecaster and HH Combo chopping away like a maniac, Lee Brilleaux playing lewdly with his microphone and adding a bit of slide guitar here and there, Sparko rolling on his back while playing his bass guitar and the Big Figure being Big. Somehow I didn't buy a Dr Feelgood album until Private Practice was released in 1978 by which time Gypie Mayo had become guitarist after Wilko left.

Now I've found this fantastic package and perfectly for me all the albums with Wilko presented in chronological order and not 'mixed up or selected by a fan'. Plus the extra tracks and DVD.

One of the best live bands I've ever seen and I will always remember the controlled chaos as these characters did their thing, funny riveting and powerful.

Bargain price too. Thanks Wilko and the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true legend, 28 Aug 2013
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only reason I have given this 5 stars is because I can't give it six!

A superb set and great value for money. You get the first four Feelgood albums in their entirety, plus a CD full of demos and live tracks, including the original doo-wop version of Roxette which I had never heard before. On top of that there is a DVD with clips from TV shows and the same 1975 footage of their Kursaal concert that is on the Going Back Home DVD. Some of the clips have been seen before many times on music documentaries, but usually they are cut short or have loads of captions all over them, and it is always the same couple of clips. Here you also get the ones that are not usually shown.

On top of all that there is a booklet with the usual photos and track listings, plus a lot of words from Wilko himself about the history of the band and the story behind a lot of the extra tracks. It really helps to be able to read about a particular session and then listen to the results of the session.

I already have the Going Back Home DVD and a couple of the LPs on CD and this is still good value for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews