Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year
Drake is a paradox; he's filthy rich and loving life, but since extreme highs lead to extreme lows, he also often finds himself depressed and insecure. "We live in a generation of/not being in love," he croons for perhaps the pivotal lyric of the whole album. He has all the girls he could wish for yet can't trust any of them. Drake makes music to reflect the generation...
Published on 14 Nov. 2011 by stage_one

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy this cd!!!!!!!!!!
the whole point of buying the deluxe version is so that your take care CD has the song 'the motto', but this cd despite being a 'deluxe edition' doesn't include the song 'the motto'.
Published 13 months ago by Daniel Dunbar


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible!!! not even woth 1 star, 26 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Take Care (Audio CD)
terrible half @ssed album with horrible whiney vocals from the b!tch himself drake aka fake

easily one of the worst rappers he belongs in the garbage bin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure, 29 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take Care (Audio CD)
As a pure lover of hip hop, I almost feel embarassed buying and reviewing an album as mainstream as this; it has to be said however that even though Drake is not the best rapper he does make some gorgeous, gorgeous music! The slow, pounding bass the listener experiences on so many of these tracks is relaxing and infectious, and songs like Marvins room, the real her and doing it wrong is when Drake is at his best. I think I love Drake's music so much because his songs are easy to relate to for most people, I cannot hear Thank me Later without thinking about my ex girlfriend; and I'm sure in a couple of years this album will ellicit nostalgic memories from me to do with the important people in my life right now; and I think the ability to associate and connect music with your life is really important because it makes the difference between good music and meaningful music. Drake acheives this better than anyone else in the game right now. My only criticism is some of the guest appearances seem a little out of place; the real her would have been much better off without wayne or andre's verses and as a lover of hip hop, lord knows offends me because the beat is soo good yet is wasted on rick ross!! That being said, this is a strong 2nd album, I think better than his debut, so it's a step in the right direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take Care (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take Care (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take Care (Audio CD)
like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mysogynistic rubbish!!!!!!!, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Take Care (Audio CD)
Oh. My. God. I have never disliked an album so much. And why? Well, read on ........

This album is easily a handbook for the misogynistic breed of rapper. The only words in the album seem to be b**ch, ho, ni***r. Oh, and obviously Drake took a lot of time out on his yacht (surrounded by bi****s and his ni****s, of course) to work out exactly what ryhmes with f**k. Obviously a lot of brain cells and artistic integrity went into this album - NOT!!!!!!!!

If anyone else used the word n***er, they'd find themselves rightly ostracized, accused of being a racist, but when Drake spits it out every few seconds, no-one complains! I can't get my head around why someone would want to be called that AT ALL!!!!!!

There's not one thing in this album for women. Obviously the only women Drake is interested in are "hos" and - as he often calls them - bi****s. A step forward for feminism I think you'll agree - NOT!! That's when he's not bragging about substances or how much cash and how many yachts he has. Big deal, Drake - every one of your songs still sounds the same.

Now that we've perused the MENSA-level lyrics, let's look at the album as a whole. Well, as one of the b*****s Drake loves to talk about, I think his album is pretty damn rubbish. There's no emotion, no hooks, nothing even remotely memorable about any one of the songs on this album. He even makes a duet with Rihanna sound dull.

One to avoid if you have more than one brain cell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take Care (Audio CD)
Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me this is, and will end up as the best R&B album of 2011.., 1 Dec. 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take Care (Audio CD)
Take Care is a slower, more thoughtful and less obvious second studio album (he now has 3 albums), being more romance fuelled, but does have the characteristic bragging and the fooling around of MC Drake.

The album does extremely well to soothe, entertain and address how people change with fame, modern relationship issues and is deep, emotion full, honest banter. Fans of this music genre should detect all I mention but non-fans may not appreciate the tongue in cheek street art here.

Drake takes a more piano, keyboard, organ, instrumental led approach and theme here, in an effort to provide weight to his characteristic witty, if not rambling, observations and raw thoughts. This could have something to do with duetting with the likes of Stevie Wonder. TC is mostly low-tempo and low-key but there are the odd injections of energy that make this an unpredictable urban music ride.

The Wikipedia summary is excellent:
"Expanding on the sonic aesthetic of his debut album, Take Care features an atmospheric sound that is characterized by low-key musical elements and incorporates R&B, pop, and electronica styles. Drake's lyrics mostly eschew boastful raps for introspective lyrics that deal with topics such as failed romances, relationship with friends and family, growing wealth and fame, concerns about leading a hollow life, and despondency. "

Fans of the more hip-hop/ Cash Money Drake will notice an obvious lack of real, raw hip-hop with Drake's main stream albums very different to his brash, bragging mix tape show-off rants. However Drake does comically hail himself as 'the truth' and is a sex pest in several songs.

The poppy element comes in the form of another ace duet with Rihanna.

Enjoy folks

PS - my favourite tracks are 'over my dead body', 'crew love' and 'Marvin's Room'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drake - Take care, 15 Nov. 2011
By 
Matthew (Good old England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take Care (Audio CD)
Absolute brilliant album!

The lyrics, music and Drakes voice are just amazing! You won't regret owning a copy of this album...
I'm a huge fan of 50's, 60's, 70's and 80's music, but this modern sound from Drake just does it for me compared to other artist atm. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the massive Drake fans, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take Care (Audio CD)
Defo a must have, good quality and arrived very quickly. Good as a present for the Drake fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews