Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
cant wait to see this one
Published 7 days ago by sarah morris

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absollute bollo%
World on fire has to be the worst film I have ever had the misfortune in watching, let alone buying!
The synopsis on Amazon, and on the DVD box, is very misleading. The "series of volcanic erruptions around the globe cause panic and chaos!"
The only part of the world affected seems to be Miami, and then only one beach and some random petro chemical plant...
Published 21 months ago by Dave, Leeds


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absollute bollo%, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World On Fire [DVD] (DVD)
World on fire has to be the worst film I have ever had the misfortune in watching, let alone buying!
The synopsis on Amazon, and on the DVD box, is very misleading. The "series of volcanic erruptions around the globe cause panic and chaos!"
The only part of the world affected seems to be Miami, and then only one beach and some random petro chemical plant
The film is so bad it remains bad, not one of those cr&p films that are unintentionaly hillarious. The only parts I found amusing enough to laugh out loud at were the tennis court scene, which appears to be inspired by the Final Destination series. Tennis ball travels through an erruption of magma, burns through dropped raquet and then through the unfortunate bit part actor, who remains standing looking upset, then drops to the floor
The other scene is where Emily, sister of RH's character attempts to escape the threat from a bad guy, she unbelievably fills a bucket with liquid nitrogen, with another cardi (seems to be loads of spare carigans) for protection and chucks it over the baddie, then she stands there watching whilst he shoots her through the shoulder, now any normal person would have run away, no she remains standing long enough to get shot!
The baddie freezes, then remains upright...hillarious
Even the talentless Rachel Hunter seems to be having a bad day, mumbling something and then looking into the middle distance, standing up and running around wearing her grannies cardigan
The story line is unoriginal, bad guys mess with eco system end up dead whilst good guys win in the end. Usually there is some decent subplot, however this would have meant some dialogue. I guess this would have been too demanding for the team responsible for this tosh
The special effects are poor and unimaginative, the budget must have limited these to a few gas jets and " twinkly lights"
I saw this film while under the influence of prescrbed morphine, I would not recommend anyone waste money buying this, I will be taking World on Fire directly to the local hospice shop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World On Fire [DVD] (DVD)
cant wait to see this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear!, 14 April 2012
This review is from: World On Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Like many others, I have a morbid fascination with disaster movies and providing they have an "acceptable" standard of acting,decent special affects and hopefully a story line that makes some sense I will watch them. This film has none of the latter. Brad Douriff may have been drugged before performing his lines as it seemed he was unfamiliar with the script and Rachel Hunter of all people put in one of the only half acceptable performances. There is one decent bit of special of effects when a hot steam tsunami wipes out a load of beach bums and babes during a "wet bikini" competition although the scene was reminiscent of the hysteria scene in pirhana 3D.
However the worst "special effect" scene was 2 people playing tennis when magma suddenly explodes through the centre of the court just as a return serve is being made resulting in the tennis ball becoming a fire ball on contact with the magma and somehow making its way through the opponents mid section and out the other side. The one bonus for me was that I purchased it on blu ray at Tesco and it did'nt work properly (would only play on PS3) so I returned it for a full refund meaning at least I did'nt have to pay for the privilege!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was amazed..., 26 Sep 2012
By 
Vicki Moore (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World On Fire [DVD] (DVD)
....amazed that is, that the best thing in this movie was Rachel Hunter, who surprisingly can actually act. Apart from that, this film was a less than B grade effort. Poor special effects; supposedly a global disaster - but only Miami (which did make a refreshing change from The Coast Being Toast or New York under threat for the zillianth time), and enough glaring plot and continuity holes to fly a jumbo jet through. One of the worst for me was towards the end, when a soldier in the place they were going to blow up, was dismissed and told to leave. It seemed like supposedly seconds later that the main cast were hi-tailing it out of there too, and got into the lift that would take them up and out of the building. So how could the soldier and his cohorts have gotten out so fast? Then there was, earlier on, the scene with Brad and the sister in the old silo, climbing down, and Brad going "Something doesn't seem right". Oh. Could that have been the OBVIOUS clouds of steam rising when you started to go down there maybe? The heat? And of course there was the student in the boat out on the water early on. Disappeared, and while the other student did a body count and omitted him, surely someone would have noticed he was missing? Either then or later? There were others, many others, but going to leave it there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World On Fire [DVD] (DVD)
This film has a great story line, The film will keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disasterama, 26 April 2012
This review is from: World On Fire [DVD] (DVD)
I abosolutely love disaster movies they are my fave genre, and World on Fire didn't let me down. More more please I love the way the movie was shot and the choice of actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth the money, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World On Fire [DVD] (DVD)
as a volcano lover i enjoyed the film good quality worth the money and it was delievered in the time frame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good disaster film, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World On Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great fan of disaster films and this one was very good indeed. much the same storyline as other disaster films but that's what you expect with them. This one was just a bit short in the special effects department but it was still well worth watching. Recommended for anyone fan of disaster films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World On Fire [DVD]
World On Fire [DVD] by Todor Chapkanov (DVD - 2012)
2.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews