Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the premise of what wartime Britain would call a “rattling good yarn”, as a dashing, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer: Apocalypse Then Part One (Kindle Edition)
Take one thief, who happens to be fluent in German, manoeuvre him into working for British Intelligence and then set him up as an SS officer and you have, in essence, the premise of what wartime Britain would call a “rattling good yarn”, as a dashing, if reluctant spy inveigles his way into the higher echelons of the Nazi Party.
I shan’t bother to name our hero, since he works under many different aliases and is a fearsome liar but he spends much of the story as Sturmbannfuhrer Michael Krause, who rises to become a decorated hero of the Reich, confidante of generals and privy to a good deal of information, on which his masters would dearly love to get their hands.
Thanks to Daniel Delacy’s well-researched historical detail and deft storytelling, the reader becomes totally immersed in the period and winds up by turns rooting for Krause and (never 100% certain of his motivation), hoping he gets some kind of come-uppance.
There are some minor editing concerns in the Kindle edition but not enough to spoil the enjoyment. Any lover of war stories, spy stories and just plain old stories can’t fail to find this an engaging read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Went Straight For The Sequel - What More Could An Author Want?, 8 April 2014
This review is from: Stormbringer: Apocalypse Then Part One (Kindle Edition)
This was, for me, a free download. My first action upon reading it was to go online and look for a sequel (it was there, and I have reviewed it). I was happy to pay the going rate for the sequel. This is the reaction an author would hope for, and the reason for putting fee downloads out there. This time it worked. More often it does not.

No point me reiterating the admiration expressed in the other reviews. I endorse them. Great character. Entertaining story. Very educational about WWII. Gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan Tab U Lous, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer: Apocalypse Then Part One (Kindle Edition)
As a "Don't read very much" type of person this is well written and kept me captivated from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Different Way To Tell A Tale, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer: Apocalypse Then Part One (Kindle Edition)
A bit unusual for me. However persevere and you will be pleasantly surprised. After two attempts to get into the plot I was finally into the story and enjoyed the book very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting version of history., 13 July 2014
This review is from: Stormbringer: Apocalypse Then Part One (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable tongue in cheek read pulled together by the commentary of actual events. Sometimes humorous take on dark circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer: Apocalypse Then Part One (Kindle Edition)
This is a rip roaring, page turning yarn set at the start of World War Two. It's plot whilst obviously a work of fiction is interspersed with quotes taken from well respected sources of the time and based on accurate historic events which give the book a true depth of plausibility. What I would describe as a masterful creation. Entertaining, amusing but with a touch of gravitas because after all World War Two was no laughing matter. Thoroughly readable.
I loved this book and am about to read the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A 20th century Flashman, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer: Apocalypse Then Part One (Kindle Edition)
A good fun , fast paced romp through the early part of WW2 - very similar to the Flashman series of books a rogue with a talent for being in the wrong place at the wrong time but still being the hero
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer: Apocalypse Then Part One (Kindle Edition)
I highly recommend to anyone with the slightest interest in WW2 to read this book you will be entertained and at the same time will learn many fascinating facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer: Apocalypse Then Part One (Kindle Edition)
The story bounces along and there are many twists and turns that keep the reader interested. The interspersed facts complement the fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating from Page One, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer: Apocalypse Then Part One (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy reading anything about WWII and that includes the good the bad and the ugly stuff. For me it is an era we should never ever forget. My first reaction to this free download as it was when I received it was the old adage: it's free, it can't be good - this is too good to be true. How wrong I was!!!!!!

Captivating from the first kindle page, lovely flowing and written as though I was inside the characters head who was telling the tale. Amazing talent this author has to enable this to happen. In addition it offers a small insight into MI6 and the SOE as it was in WWII and since at the time of this review we are celebrating the D Day veterans past and present and there is much media coverage it seemed apt to read it.

I want to say download and read this amazing book, you won't be disappointed but we all have different tastes.

I will be downloading Book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stormbringer: Apocalypse Then Part One
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews