Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Disney film ever made (well in my opinion anyway)
Ever since I first saw Pocahontas when it first came out, I knew that Disney were onto a winner. Yes,I admit it's not historically accurate but it's only a Disney film designed for a bit of fun! The songs however,are the making of this film with highlights including the beautiful 'Colours of the Wind' and the very catchy 'Just around the River Bend'. If you have young...
Published on 6 Nov 2007 by J. SCARROTT

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 2-Disc Special Edition DVD Special Features
For anyone who's a Special Features geek like myself!

FEATURE DISC

Audio Commentary with Jim Pentecost, Eric Goldberg and Mike Gabriel

Disney's Art Project
- Create a Dreamcatcher
- Build a Drum

"Follow Your Heart" Set Top Game

"Colours of the Wind" Sing-Along Song

"Just Around the River Bend"...
Published 15 days ago by losthaze


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Disney film ever made (well in my opinion anyway), 6 Nov 2007
By 
J. SCARROTT "me" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ever since I first saw Pocahontas when it first came out, I knew that Disney were onto a winner. Yes,I admit it's not historically accurate but it's only a Disney film designed for a bit of fun! The songs however,are the making of this film with highlights including the beautiful 'Colours of the Wind' and the very catchy 'Just around the River Bend'. If you have young children (or you just fancy a enjoyable watch yourself!), this film is a must buy. A lot of animated films may date with time but Pocahontas certainly won't! Top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fair Effort From Disney, 30 May 2012
This review is from: Pocahontas [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was always iffy about buying this one; as a child I loved it - until learning the truth about the story with Pocahontas being a very young girl, and it just kind of creeped me out to go back and watch. But I found this for an incredible price so added it to my collection -
The picture quality is great - this film has always had use of dynamic angles and colours, which lends itself to a very polished and beautiful look, almost working as a 90 minute screensaver at times.
The story - is pretty standard "man is evil against what it does not understand" but is passable with only a few dud moments (such as occasions painting the villains to be evil when if you do put thought into the circumstances, the villains are actually just defending themselves against the heroes who attack first)
The voice acting - is pretty hit and miss, with Pocahontas feeling like a real character, as with the villain and a few other characters, however Mel Gibson and Billy Connolly's very distinct voices can prove distracting and unimmersive at times.
The sound - incredibly crisp and clear, not much else can say really
Extras - this is where it surpasses the other Disney release this year Tarzan, as there is a pretty reasonable bulk of extras here ranging from music videos, items from the dvd, and a couple of new original documentaries.
Overall this is a fine addition to your collection - if you're a Pocahontas fan, you'll love the treatment it has received, and if you just collect Disney's you could do far worse than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly beautiful., 3 Aug 2012
By 
N. J. H. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pocahontas [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is my first venture into the Disney Blu-ray world and I can't get over just how beautiful it was. The question that I think a lot of people will have is: Why bother?

Pocahontas is the story of a headstrong daughter of a chief and her relationship with the English settler Captain John Smith and his crew. Two worlds completely set apart with very little in common essentially collide where Pocahontas fights for the peace and the preservation of nature that Smith's crew threaten to destroy in an effort to find Gold.

It's a story many of us already know so investing in the Blu-ray version may seem pretty pointless but I can assure you that this movie had me captivated more so than it ever has before simply because of how beautiful it was. The colouring, detailing and textures that you can now make out are so superior to the originals that I have seen. I can honestly say that before this I didn't think that Blu-ray could possibly improve on a Disney film that is relatively old and drawn - it really surpassed my expectations. I only hope the next set of Blu-ray Disney movies released look as spectacular.

There are some special features which look into the making of the original movie and music and when you watch these you can see and hear what a change has been made. I was very grateful for these particular features actually because they showed the difference so well so I recommend giving those a watch too. Speaking of special features, there are also a few deleted scenes and a deleted song "If I never knew you" which is surprisingly good".

I can't recommend this version enough, even if you have the original. If I could give this more stars I would - perfect for all ages and Disney fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant extras, 27 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocahontas [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is an all time favorite Disney film. The part I loved the most about this BluRay was the bonus features. Lots on the Art of the film, production and history. It also included a sneak peak of another similar disney film from the 1930's that never went ahead. I really enjoyed these extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical & innovative Walt Disney love story, 16 Sep 2006
By 
Marco Busani "Proven Intellect" (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I really enjoyed this production from Walt Disney. It is unique for Walt Disney in that the animation is based on a real person and story. The love that Pocahontas and John Smith have for each other is enough to bridge their different cultures.

The animation and the musical composition are of a very high calibre, with the 'Colours of the Wind' song being especially stirring. I also like 'If I never knew you' which, is a restored song in this Special Edition dvd. Furthermore, the voice acting is commendable throughout. The lovely Irene Bedard provides the voice talent for Pocahontas and big name actor Mel Gibson voices John Smith.

The movie is also especially funny in places with the animal characters of Meeko, Flit & Percy providing much of the humour. Wiggins is an interesting side character also worthy of note.

The movie ending is particularly powerful with Pocahontas casting herself over the prostrate John Smith to prevent her father from felling the love of her life. This dvd is crammed with special features that enhance your enjoyment of the main movie: an audio commentary, a veritable library of still images and fascinating featurettes amongst other things.

To conclude, a refreshing, uplifting animation that is enjoyable for all age ranges and a visual rendition that merits maximum marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, Colourful, Beautiful., 7 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This is truly a Disney classic. With a wonderful story, breathtaking scenery and inspiring music, Pocahontas is a film I think everybody can enjoy. Based on the true story of Pocahontas, the film tells us of the sruggles faced by the Powatan Indians when their native land is invaded by English soldiers. Matters become more complicated when Pocahontas falls in love with Captain John Smith. What follows is an uplifting story of courage, bravery and acceptance. I think this film has some of the most wonderful settings ever seen in the cinema and this 2 disc DVD has some great extras. The Acadamy Award winning music, characters and story compliment eachother so well, I can't praise this film enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated classic, 5 May 2004
Pocahontas is a sweeping spectacle of a film, which desreves greater recognition than it has recieved thus far. Inevitably, coming hot off the heels of The Lion King, Pocahontas was never going to match its success, but that doesnt make it any less enjoyable.
It is the first Disney animated feature to be based on historical events, and perhaps this shines through as the film is perhaps more serious than other Disney fare.
The stroy deals with Captain John Smith, who, along with a group of sailors heads to America in search of gold. However, whilst there he meets Pocahontas and the two characters are let into eachothers worlds. Things become complicated however, when Pocahontas' father and General Radcliffe (head of the mission to the 'New World') prepare to wage a war against each other due to their hatred and discriminations of the other's race. Naturally Pocahontas and John Smith fall in love, though the usual happy ending is traded in for something much more effective.
Comedy comes in the form of sidekick pals Meeko the meerkat and Flit the humming bird, and the magical element of the movie is portrayed in the form of Grandmother Willow, the advice-giving tree.
Accompanied with rich animation, beautiful music and real heart, this is an essential buy for any Disney fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully crafted and magical romance/ animation., 11 July 2000
By A Customer
This film has some of the most lovable and memorable songs, characters and truely wonderful moments that I have ever wittnessed. One of my favourite Disney films it has everything that you could ever wish in one film. Mel Gibson plays John Smith, the heroic English settler who has his eyes opened to a new way of life by the Indian Princess Pocahontas. Every sort of song enters into this film in some form or another with the main ones of " Just around the Riverbend" and " Colours of the wind" stealing the show. However I would warn some as the plot is based around a real historical character and those who know the true story may not appriciate this animated interpretation. I do however firmly believe that if you watch this film with an open mind and heart you too will learn to "paint with all the colours of the wind!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can never grow old of watching Disney films, ..., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocahontas [DVD] (DVD)
You can never grow old of watching Disney films, I have watched Pocahontas on VHS with my children and now I am watching them again on DVD with my grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars God bless America, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocahontas [DVD] (DVD)
Good film to have in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pocahontas [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Pocahontas [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Eric Goldberg (Blu-ray - 2012)
11.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews