Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabba Gabba Bleep!
Eight years after their alleged farewell with "The Blue Album" and some rapturously received live shows, Orbital return to record with "Wonky" and - having already been playing live for a few years - have given the world a chance to experience them again.

And this is how its done. Unlike their peers : Leftfield are noticably twelve years since any new material...
Published on 9 April 2012 by Mr. M. A. Reed

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
When Orbital bowed out with the "Blue Album" I felt their best years were behind them, that album featuring only two tracks I really loved (the first and last tracks), and its predecessor being frankly rather dire when compared to their previous albums. Upon their return to touring a year or so ago I thought an album was probably on the cards and now we have...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Peter Lee


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabba Gabba Bleep!, 9 April 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wonky [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Eight years after their alleged farewell with "The Blue Album" and some rapturously received live shows, Orbital return to record with "Wonky" and - having already been playing live for a few years - have given the world a chance to experience them again.

And this is how its done. Unlike their peers : Leftfield are noticably twelve years since any new material and still touring, The Pixies have been together longer now than they first were with no new material to show for it, and The Stooges managed to scupper their reputation with a muscular record of great songs with disgracefully rubbish lyrics in "The Weirdness". Orbital though? "Wonky" is as good as anything they have done in recent time. Perhaps not quite as overall grand as "Insides", but still the new stuff is as good as any other record. I always had a soft spot for latter period Orbital, particularly "The Middle of Nowhere", and this covers the same ground - the first half, coming in at five distinctly different, but related songs, creates a suite of expansive grooves, textures, and reaching, absorbing and layered, immaculately constructed motifs : each fall over each oither, rise, fall, ebb, flow, creating an everchanging landscape of beats and bounces. "Straight Sun" is ideal material for musical meditation, reminding me of the kind of evocative precise timing that Pink Floyd particularly excelled at. As one movement ends, the silence is replaced by a timely and appropriate following number, so it all flows in an immaculate, impressive sequence of experiments.

"Never" is not the sound of a bored band in their creative death-throes tinkering at the edges, like some kind of moribund middle aged couple suddenly turning to swinging. This is the sound of an invigorated duo in love with the endless possibilities of banks of technology. I press down a special key and it plays a little melody!

I was, truth be told, ready to write off Orbital without new material. The endless musical museum of touring acts that hide from anything new, being simply their own best tribute acts, without a new song since 1983, bore me rigid after the first tour. Then again, "New France" sounds caved out of the same rock as anything they have done after the date Kurt Cobain killed himself. Certainly, there's not a huge amount of progression since 1994, nor have the sounds changed particularly. But does one contemporize a classic? Does anyone criticize AC/DC for not having a guest rap by Kayne West?

On second thoughts, remembering Metallica's ill-advised rap with Swizz Beatz, or Jimmy Page and Puff Daddy, and not all progress is forward leaning : not that there is any change of the formula here - as good as Orbital ever were. It is only the closing notes of "Distractions" and the tired "Stringy Acid" that bore, because it is the same kind of uninspired, and forgettable near-the-end-of-the-album stuff that Orbital have been occasionally putting out since they formed. And for all the hype, "Beezeldub" is a reworking of "Satan" with all the good bits taken out being basically a experimental dub b-side remix of the type that New Order tossed off in half-an-hour to pad out a 12" : it's not bad, but it isn't their best thing ever.

The title track is fine as well, albeit living on the shadow of phased drum beats that are a Eighties throwback. The rap by the lamentable Lady Leshurr is though, tragically inarticulate, largely consisisting of the words "Dancefloor!" and "Wow! Wow! Wow!". How impossibly dull and boring, with tediously stupid words, and utterly unimaginative vocal melodies. The track would be a much better instrumental.

And here's the rub : with this music, the words have to matter : the music itself is so strong, and well constructed, any lyrical input has to have a reason to exist, otherwise it's vandalism of sound. Were this a home made cassette recording, the title track would be relegated, and deservedly so, to "rubbish b-side" status. Thankfully, order is restored with the final "Where Is It Going?", which picks up the mantle of rising sounds and aspirational, positive string sweeps. Built on buzzing bass strings and a set of delicate interwoven arpeggios, its the type of stuff I'd happily listen to all day long in the summer. The album peters out into the ether on these chords, disappating elegantly, with an assured, confident flex of musical muscle. Orbital. I have missed you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By no means their best work . . . but, 12 April 2012
By 
Beverley Man (Beverley, East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonky [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Us of a certain age will always hanker back to the halcyon ;-) days of the first two albums. That was ground breaking stuff and most of the tracks stand the test of time imo.

This album was a strange one for the first couple of listens but is definitely a grower. Wonky is the weakest track by far I guess and seeing them do it live at Cambridge and The RAH didn't change that opinion for me. However, One Big Moment as the live opener was a stunner (as where all the other tracks they played off this album - barring Wonky of course) and that has really helped me get into the album as a whole. It certainly appears to be an album of tracks the Hartnoll's can work their magic on during their sets.

Welcome back boys - can't wait to see you live again in December.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 19 April 2012
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wonky (Audio CD)
When Orbital bowed out with the "Blue Album" I felt their best years were behind them, that album featuring only two tracks I really loved (the first and last tracks), and its predecessor being frankly rather dire when compared to their previous albums. Upon their return to touring a year or so ago I thought an album was probably on the cards and now we have "Wonky".

A look at the booklet reveals that the tracks were almost all written by Paul Hartnoll, so in some respects this is something of a solo album albeit with Phil performing and producing alongside him. It starts fantastically well with "One Big Moment" and "Straight Sun", two tracks I immediately loved, and their sound is familiar but a little more mature. There's a bit of a lull with "Never" before the tremendous "New France" begins, but then the album loses its way a little for me, and the tracks are merely okay rather than great, the title track actually being rather awful and I doubt I'll listen to that one again. The much heralded "Beelzedub" is a remake of their own "Satan" played in a dubstep / drum & bass style, but for me it didn't really work. The album ends with the pleasant if unremarkable "Where Is It Going?" which features flashes of some of their previous songs (I heard echoes of "Impact" and "Belfast") and fifty minutes after it began the album ends.

There's nothing here that I'd list among their best work, and if I had to rank their albums I'd place it mid-table ("Snivilization" at the top). Not bad, but far from their best. Still good to have them back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars orbital at possibly there best, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonky (MP3 Download)
having listened three times now to this album i find myself evermore drawn into the blend and mix of tracks the seamlessly blend and flow together .although each track has its own individual merit this is what and album should be a whole piece of music that captures your thoughts and imagination
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Derivative and forgettable, 23 Sep 2012
By 
J. C. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wonky [Digipack] (Audio CD)
I've listened to this since release - I'm a huge Orbital fan - I went to see them perform the Wonky set on their recent live outings - tellingly, Impact and Remind (from the second album) went down an absolute storm live - Beelezedub on Wonky is without a doubt the only track to really hit home (and it's a remix of Satan) *sigh*

Where they once led they now follow I'm sorry to say. The melodic progressions seem like Hed Kandi esque Euro Club/Trance lines - sub David Guetta fare. I totally get that they probably want to try and get a younger fan base, but really? Some of this is just awful.

File under another missed opportunity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The masters return to show the whippersnappers how it should be done, 18 May 2012
This review is from: Wonky (Audio CD)
The brown album is one of the greats of electronic/dance music and a bona fide 5 star job is ever there was. Wonky falls slightly short of it due to a couple of so-so tracks, not bad just not memorable. However, in Stringy Acid they have made one of their best ever tunes. IMO it's the outstanding highlight and the one which I play on rotation it's that great. In short it's a relief they're back considering the bunch of 3rd raters currently being touted as the best on offer e.g. Skrillex. In the context of their discog I put this just behind the brown album and on a par with Snivilisation in 2nd place. After the relatively poor previous two releases Wonky is a major return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumphant return for the brothers' Orbital, 4 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Wonky [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Wonky is the incredible new LP from Orbital, their first in about eight years. An upbeat, acid-tinged wonder of an album; it sounds distinctly Orbital but at the same time branches out in new and interesting directions. I got my hands on the album three days ago and I have listened to it from start to finish 8 times already! I like every single track so it's difficult for me to pick favourites, obvious stand-outs and potential single-material include the title track, New France and Stringy Acid, but the album is of that rare quality where any track could probably be released as a single and received well. I've always admired Orbital and enjoyed most of their music but I've never been a massive fan, but this album has made me go back and dust off my old Orbital CD's, and now they feel fresher and newer than ever thanks to this brilliant record! I won't go into detail about the sound of the tracks or the apparent genre influences, that would ruin the fun. Buy now and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't pack your glowsticks away just yet., 27 April 2012
This review is from: Wonky (Audio CD)
After an eight year absence in the studio, The Hartnoll brothers return with arguably their most instantly likeable album since their 90's heyday. Not venturing too deeply into the slightly more experimental territory they had begun to delve into post "In Sides" (not that I dislike a band being experimental). It's Orbital back to doing what they do best and bringing a huge beaming smile across your face while you lose yourself within the inviting lush soundscapes and beats. So it seems the hiatus they had been on has done them good and got them back on track.
The only questionable inclusion for me personally is "Beelzedub". Not a bad tune, but it's dubstep inspired sound kind of goes a little off kilter with the rest of the album as a whole and sounds a little out of place. I understand they wish to push their sound into new directions, but Orbital to me always seemed more like the pioneers rather than reproducing a sound that's already been making a name for itself during their absence over the last few years. But as I say, just a slight niggle and in it's own right not a bad tune. Overall, an excellent return to form from one of Britain's electronica legends. Welcome back lads, more of this please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to have them back, 18 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Wonky (Audio CD)
Orbital back on form and only one duff track. The sound is unmistakenly Orbital and instantly likeable. I shall be playing this a lot in the next few days. Apart from that duff track I mentioned, which oddly is the album title, namely track 8. Did we really need to have all that 'urban' rapping nonsense? Apart from that, well done boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back Orbital. Don't ever leave us again!, 5 April 2012
By 
Mr. Gareth I. Davies "giddig" (Dudley, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonky [Digipack] (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Orbital since way back in their pioneering rave days so was gutted when they split and thrilled to hear they had reformed for Wonky. Wonky is another example of Orbital doing what they do best with their expert use of playing with their style of layering sounds for unique soundscapes only they can create so well but also evolving their sound at the same time. This album is nine pretty separate tracks rather than the all mixed and flowing style from some of their previous albums (well two or three of the tracks sort of overlap in a way), however I feel each track is strong enough to stand alone rather than need the whole mixed together album approach, my only grumble is that there are no mammoth ten minute plus length tracks like on some of their older work. It is a great balance of brilliantly produced fast to slower paced tracks and the strength of the brother's differing strengths (cinematic versus club friendly) really shines through on this album and it shows they are okay about dabbling with recent electronic genre influences too (although to be fair any recent electronic music probably has some connections to being influenced by Orbital to begin with anyway). Distractions is THE track of the album for me with it's change of pace and the way it just builds and builds and builds. The inclusion of the bonus live in Australia tracks CD is excellent as the five tracks are a much sharper sound quality than on their Glastonbury Live CD from a while back and these five live tracks have the usual live flourishes that Orbital do so well and make these versions that bit different to previous live versions I have heard. If you are new to Orbital then this bonus CD gives a great taste of where you need to go next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wonky
Wonky by Orbital
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews