Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Nightmare --Lars Kepler
'The Nightmare' is an action-packed thriller,which I found to be
more assured than the authors' first novel,'The Hypnotist'.
A young female's body is found on an abandoned boat.This sets in
motion a frantic chain of events,carnage and many deaths,which the
intuitive Stockholm Detective Inspector Joona Linna finds are related
to a very sinister...
Published 18 months ago by Simon Clarke

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish. Cynical Cash-in on Scandinavian Crime Fiction
I really enjoy the best of Scandinavian crime fiction but there is some much rubbish being published these days cashing in on the Stieg Larsson boom and this is one of the worst. Written by a literary couple in a blatant attempt to get some of the action while it lasts. Everything about it stinks. The fact that an earlier book of theirs is being made into a film is just...
Published 17 months ago by Derek E. Coster


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish. Cynical Cash-in on Scandinavian Crime Fiction, 6 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: The Nightmare (Paperback)
I really enjoy the best of Scandinavian crime fiction but there is some much rubbish being published these days cashing in on the Stieg Larsson boom and this is one of the worst. Written by a literary couple in a blatant attempt to get some of the action while it lasts. Everything about it stinks. The fact that an earlier book of theirs is being made into a film is just depressing.

The brilliant detective who is also an expert at self-defence, the beautiful secret service woman who is also a great boxer and who also happens to be great at her job. Honestly, it's almost as bad as a Robert Ludlum book and I never thought I'd say that.

I disliked this book so much I gave up after reading half of it. Do your self a favour and dig out some of the best of Scandinavian fiction like Mankell, early Jo Nesbo, Jussi Adler-Olsen among many others and give this one a miss..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Nightmare --Lars Kepler, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Simon Clarke (Hackney, London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightmare (Hardcover)
'The Nightmare' is an action-packed thriller,which I found to be
more assured than the authors' first novel,'The Hypnotist'.
A young female's body is found on an abandoned boat.This sets in
motion a frantic chain of events,carnage and many deaths,which the
intuitive Stockholm Detective Inspector Joona Linna finds are related
to a very sinister and illegal trade in weapons.
The action and suspense never let up in this lengthy novel,and provided
one can suspend belief on some occasions,will provide much enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately compulsive, 25 Jun 2012
By 
Penny Waugh "A reader" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Nightmare (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found this a bit slow to start, and the style seemed awkward (maybe translation affected?) and I don't care too much for books written in the present tense, but before long all that was forgotten in the development of a rattling good story. It is a long book but I read it in a day; it became compulsive.
A girl is found dead on a boat in the Swedish archipelago; her sister and her boyfriend are chased by a hired killer for days on end; a photograph points to an illegal arms deal and the Swedish police are at first baffled. Characterisation is a bit sketchy in places but the main personal, Joona Linna, Finnish born but long resident in Sweden, is an engaging detective, and Penelope, the South American born peace campaigner, is also well drawn and mainly sympathetic. The ultimate villain, with a nasty take on 'loyalty', appears mainly toward the end of the book but is satisfying evil.
There is quite a lot of music in this book. A vital part of the plot depends on the fingering of the string quartet in the background of a photograph, and violins, and Paganini, play their part in the story. This however is a story of action, and violence, and it certainly carries the reader along.
I have Lars Kepler's previous book, The Hypnotist, but have not yet read it - after this I am quite eager to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real nightmare, 23 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Nightmare (Hardcover)
There are some very good reviews of this book available here refering directly to plot etc. I just wanted to add that the cover and the blurb give a misleading impression of the novel. the literary duo, Lars Kepler, have come up with a thrilling read, well translated but firmly grounded in reality even if the characters are somewhat eccentric. The book cover and the description gives the impression this could be serial killer/spooky territory - maybe this sells better but this is a grounded book with a nod to a serious theme - Arms trading. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And So It Continues, 5 Aug 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Nightmare (Paperback)
Lars Kepler is a nom de plume for two writers. Like the writers, I have read two of their books,. 'The Hypnotist', the first novel was well written, gory and full of blood and excitement. 'The Nightmare' does not reach the level of good read of that of the first book . I slugged through mostof it and then went to the final chapter. OK, not much of a surprise.

A man hanging from the middle of the ceiling, and a young woman found sitting on a bed in a boat. Both dead, both died by unusual means. In walks Joona Linna, the unusual Stockholm detective who can always put two and two together. Quite a worker, it seems he never sleeps. Intellectual, not socially savvy, unable to relatevromanticallymgives the impression that this man coud have Aspergers. Not a necessary label, but it is appearing more frequently to sustain interest, and to give reasoning for unusual behaviors.

As the mystery proceeds, the clues are found, and reasons to continue looking for te murderer. It appears to be one person, probably a professional hit man, but why? Joot delves further and more evidence is obtained. The continued chase, the manufactured victims and the lead detective became annoying to me. It may have been the translation, bt I wearied of the book and went to the last chapter.

Fans of Lars Kepler are enthralled, but these writers just don't give name sufficient energy to keep reading.

Not Recommended for me. prisrob 08-05-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightmare (Kindle Edition)
Apart from the extremely high level of violence, well worth a read. This is the 2nd book I have read by this author, def on my reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good page turner, 7 Nov 2012
By 
Rachel Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nightmare (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I wanted to read this after watching 'The Bridge' and I was happily surprised by the quality of the writing. A thoroughly absorbing tale that kept me up past my bedtime for several nights with that desire to read 'just one more section'.

Crime fans and fans of Stieg Larsson or Henning Mankell will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Nightmare indeed., 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightmare (Hardcover)
As I got half way through this book and abandoned it I think that says it all. It is so badly constructed, and has so many inconsequential subplots going on it is difficult to get interested in any of the main characters at all. There is no continuity and after a while you even cease to care that you can't follow what is going nor why. I have no idea why the authors felt it imperative to leave a cliffhanger at the end of every chapter. Unfortunately by the time you are reconnected to the particular hanging cliff it is difficult to remember who the cliff was and what relevance it had to the "plot". This book is so full of padding that it rapidly becomes very irritating indeed. Ghastly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars page turning churn, 5 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightmare (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this so so much more than the horror Hypnotist . A rather slow start , I did almost give up at first I gradually became caught in the action [ more of a thriller action adventure than usual swedish police ] . Def could see this as a rather gory movie . I enjoyed the more excentric characters , no one seemed to be that perfect . The novel doesnt always flow that well [ 2 authors or maybe the translation ] and I did find the little endings rather confusing [why certain things were about to happen ???? but I guess that was just one of the many twists ] . A nice change from some of the more lighter homespun scandi stuff that is around now .Got me thinking what my nightmare would be ? but hopefully not at bed time .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, there are fates worse than death.,, 14 July 2012
By 
Mrs. Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nightmare (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With a professional hit man straight from the pages of The Day of the Jackal, poignant parables pointedly positioned, lessons in peace politics and the Sudan situation effortlessly dispensed; Lars Kepler, the Swedish Nicci French writing partnership have found their feet with this their follow up to The Hypnotist.

Reminiscent of a Bond movie with helicopters hovering over hostages and an ocean going villain holed up in a decaying super yacht; arms dealers and high ups hob nob with the devil. The strains of fabulous violin music provides the sound track, the descriptions of performances good and bad being vital to the story, this is a class act crime novel.

We meet up again with Joona Linna, the `Cracker' with pressing personal struggles to overcome and Saga Bauer, the great looking `elf' like cop he works alongside. They have a race against time as in all good stories; you can hardly bear to stop reading as you pray they will succeed.

Brotherly difficulties, terrible `Paganini' pacts with far reaching consequences, the excitement and tension are maintained taut as a violin string. The idea that even taking your own life will not end the horror is unimaginable yet frighteningly possible. There is a circularity to `The Nightmare' that will stay with you long after you finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nightmare
The Nightmare by Lars Kepler
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews