Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the omega fellowship
this book was really well written and full of suspense i enjoyed the book and would recommend to all who like this kind of book
Published 11 months ago by ELIZABETH

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, but lacking substance and style.
I don't like to be harsh about somebody else's hard work, it's not like I'm in a position to tell them how it's done, I'm not an author, but I am a reader of experience and this book just didn't quite make it for me.

It is readable, it has a fairly interesting plot, and there is something to be said for it, but I have to agree with previous reviewer Cheryl, the...
Published 23 months ago by Cydream


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, but lacking substance and style., 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Fellowship (DCI Alan Parkes Crime Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
I don't like to be harsh about somebody else's hard work, it's not like I'm in a position to tell them how it's done, I'm not an author, but I am a reader of experience and this book just didn't quite make it for me.

It is readable, it has a fairly interesting plot, and there is something to be said for it, but I have to agree with previous reviewer Cheryl, the motive is missing, or at least vague, and please, please keep Debbie and Adrian out of the bedroom...in fact I found the whole attempt at fleshing out of the characters didn't work, for example Debbie and Adrian's 'romantic' encounter (engorged member, really??) and their meal out just distracted from the storyline and made you actively wonder why you were being told these things. DCI Alan Parkes also annoyed me, and I think he's the main example of how the author's simplistic ideas slipped up the plot - DCI Alan is a policeman who is happily married and a member of a church, and this is how we know he is 'good', setting up the idea of the opposing 'evil' he will have to fight. Too simple and not backed up by actions. Also poor Tracy Moran, spending all her own money on cakes and biscuits for ungrateful police officers who just moan about her typing skills...

On the plus side it does make a change to find a police/detective story which doesn't conform to all the usual cliches about modern policing - trouble with the chief superintendent and politics for example was replaced by a happy productive team. An easy read, but it won't change your world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story but..., 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Fellowship (DCI Alan Parkes Crime Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the story but there is too much repetition of certain ideas e.g. that real police-work bears no resemblance to American TV programmes, that the detective sergeant is almost his personal driver, that the civilian clerk provides cakes and more! There are too many idioms. They seem to have been included to make the story longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good story, but strange writing style, 16 Jun 2012
By 
A. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Fellowship (DCI Alan Parkes Crime Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
The plot was okay, but the style of writing seems more adequate for someone starting to learn how to read. English is not my first language, but the often really short, abruptly stopped sentences did not make it an enjoyable read.
This writing style is especially weird when the author describes Debbie's and Adrian's love life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking, 28 May 2012
This review is from: The Omega Fellowship (DCI Alan Parkes Crime Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
The concept of this story was there.... The flesh just didn't get onto the bones. Unfortunately the content was spent on too much information on unnecessary unrealistic police procedure and little side tales of the characters lives that just 'petered' out with no explanation.
Like other reviewers, I am not an author and certainly not reviewing this book to criticize the author as I said, the idea was good. Some little editing issues.... The name of DS Shaw's baby changed from Andrew Timothy to just Timothy! Oh dear.
A decent plot but just lacking a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the omega fellowship, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Fellowship (DCI Alan Parkes Crime Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
this book was really well written and full of suspense i enjoyed the book and would recommend to all who like this kind of book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars goodthriller, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Fellowship (DCI Alan Parkes Crime Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book, good from start to finish. Easy to read with no complicated plots and good characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Omega Fellowship, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Dr. R. Jameson (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Fellowship (DCI Alan Parkes Crime Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Clandestine club for the manipulative powerful elite who despise ordinary folk. Although fiction it is the the attitude of many criminal psychopaths. Justice is done and they eventualy through the hard work of DCI Alan Parkes get their cumuppance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT READ THIS BOOK, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Fellowship (DCI Alan Parkes Crime Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
This is quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. It was poorly written and no better than a schoolboy attempt at fiction. And that is probably being too harsh on schoolboys, I'm sure that some of them will have written much better works than this.
The plot was boring and predictable, and nothing surprised me. It was also incedibly repetitive, with the author telling you inane facts over and over again that added nothing to the storyline and in fact could have been missed out altogether.
I actually got the impression that Peter Croxton had written this book and then hadn't ever actually read it back through to see if it read well. Indeed it would surprise me if it was ever proof read.
I don't know why I continued reading it, I think I kept hoping it would improve. Believe me, it doesn't, please don't waste your time like I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for a quick read, 6 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. Philip M. Hornby (Middlesbrough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Fellowship (DCI Alan Parkes Crime Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
This is OK but a little to simplistic and gets to the point to easily. I agree that not every writer can be a Rankin or a Baldacci. This is not complicated in the least and throws up to many clues. Not sure any policeman had all the murderers delivered on a plate so quickly, sometimes it quite nice to read a book where their is no thinking involved. Not sure that I will read another by this author but not unenjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars kindle book review, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Fellowship (DCI Alan Parkes Crime Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
A good read well paced and well written. Kept the readers interest throughout and whilst there were certain inconguous escapades the book is certainly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb156424c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews