Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Riveting!
It is 2075 and Britain is now a dangerous, frightening place, ruled over by a cruel despot. The cities have become the stalking grounds of thugs and psychopaths and have been walled in to prevent the insalubrious citizenry from escaping to the countryside where the nice people live. Government agents prey on the people, transporting children to factories as slave labour...
Published on 24 Sep 2012 by jennytwist

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gritty realisim of a possible future
3.5 if I had the option....

I liked this look at a very potential future. It was gritty and did not hold back on the violent lifestyle of this dystopian, deprived world Chris Ward has created. Set in London, Bristol and Cornwall, the reader follows a group of young adults called the Tube Riders, named for their love of a dangerous sport; riding the side of tube...
Published 18 months ago by VRLimbert


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gritty realisim of a possible future, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tube Riders (The Tube Riders Trilogy #1) (Kindle Edition)
3.5 if I had the option....

I liked this look at a very potential future. It was gritty and did not hold back on the violent lifestyle of this dystopian, deprived world Chris Ward has created. Set in London, Bristol and Cornwall, the reader follows a group of young adults called the Tube Riders, named for their love of a dangerous sport; riding the side of tube trains in London's Underground. Those who seek thrills, don't care about dying or are simply looking for a way to forget the hardships of London life come together and have formed a 'family'. This for me was a fantastic idea and reading how Chris Ward came about it at the end of the book made me grin.

The Tube Riders soon find themselves in a heap of trouble when a rival gang find their location and call for their deaths. They run away and stumble on a murder that the government want keeping quite. So now they are on the run from the gang and the government. As their stories unfold the reader is subjected to the starkness of their terrible lives, everyone is struggling to survive one day to the next. Rape, Murder and Riots are minutes away on every street. Children learn how to wield weapons from a young age to protect themselves. Its bad enough on the surface but deep down there are worse tortures. The government steal people off the streets to use in the Labs, creating all types of monsters. Part men, Part Canine and Part Cyborg creatures come from these Labs called the Huntsmen and they are used when the government need to take out their enemies fast. The Tube Riders are their enemies.

The character development was great, the Tube Riders all had a heartwrenching past, they all had suffered, lost loved ones and struggled to get by. The people they meet along the way on their journey to get out of the country alive are interesting.

World building is definitely a talent Chris Ward possess but I found myself getting bored in places or skipping large amounts of text and description to get to the interesting bits. Though I loved the gritty violence and the author's 'don't hold back' approach to it, I did get a bit desensitized so I wasn't as shocked as I should have been in certain places. By the end, I will admit, I wanted it to be over sooner. It was very long and the cliffhanger left a bittersweet taste in my mouth. I want to read on to follow the Tube Riders adventures, but I also felt like the story should be over.

I enjoyed The Tube Riders despite this not being my favourite genre and would have given it a 3.4 star rating if I had the option. It is well worth the read if you want a unique take on a Sci-fi, futuristic Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Riveting!, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tube Riders (The Tube Riders Trilogy #1) (Kindle Edition)
It is 2075 and Britain is now a dangerous, frightening place, ruled over by a cruel despot. The cities have become the stalking grounds of thugs and psychopaths and have been walled in to prevent the insalubrious citizenry from escaping to the countryside where the nice people live. Government agents prey on the people, transporting children to factories as slave labour or worse, to be fodder for the strange cyber experiments going on in secret places underground. Every so often space rockets are launched and fall back to earth, but nobody knows why. Somewhere in London the sinister 'Governor' controls the country but few have seen his face and there are rumours he has incredible supernatural powers.
There is no future and no hope for the young people of this shadow-land, so they find their excitement where they can. One small band rides the tube trains - on the outside, clinging precariously to wooden 'clawboards' clamped to the side, looking in at the terrified passengers. They become their own legend. Their ghostly faces peering through the windows assumed to be the wraiths of the dead - they are The Tube Riders.

This is, without doubt, the most exciting book I have read for some time. I was gripped from the first page. Chris Ward's dystopian 'Mega Britain' is chilling and utterly believable, as are his characters. I loved them all - the brave young people who strive not only to survive, but to incite rebellion and bring freedom to the oppressed people of the cities, the thinkers who keep their heads below the parapet and plan for the new day, even the dreadful cyber creatures, the 'huntsmen', who never asked to become monsters. Terrible things happen in this book, but there are also ingenious strategies and heroic stands. And most of all, there is love.

This is an epic work created by a superb writer. It is one of those books you will want to read over and over again, that will stay in your memory forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From slow start to thrilling read., 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tube Riders (The Tube Riders Trilogy #1) (Kindle Edition)
Like other reviewers here I gained this novel on a special offer - and probably wouldn't have chosen it otherwise, as I don't usually read sci-fi - however I do read Thrillers.
After a bit of a slow start where I wasn't 'in the world of the book' nor 'caring enough about the characters' I was suddenly tipped into a Thriller (albeit set in a dystopian future) with the whole government backed horror driving the story, characters (now fully fleshed out) to care about, and a goal to achieve that will not only save their skins, but the future of mega-britain and all who live there - hence ending up as a gripping read!
I see Chris Ward has now released this as a 3 part trilogy - It was a very long book so this might have been a wise move! Just let me say - give the story time to grow on you - you should be well on track before the end of 'London' but 'Bristol' and 'Cornwall' are full steam ahead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling read - don't miss it!, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tube Riders (The Tube Riders Trilogy #1) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this tale. In all fairness, this has been the first book that I've read, in full, for many years....since my youth, actually.

After nattering to Chris on a forum a while back, I decided to pursue the story and finish it - boy was I glad that I did. The concept is great and Chris' ability to paint a true image of a futuristic world left me wondering if this book is based on fiction or, potential, fact.

After watching Divergent recently, I couldn't help but smile in the fact that I'd read Chris' book way before seeing a movie that has trains featured heavily in its story - not that there's any significance - I just wished to mention that fact.

Part two is out now and, needless to say, I shall be picking that up in the coming future and, judging by this book's story, so should you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tube Riders (The Tube Riders Trilogy #1) (Kindle Edition)
Thought this was an imaginative book with good characterisation. Thoroughly enjoyed both this and the second book. Looking forward to reading the third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tuberiders, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tube Riders (The Tube Riders Trilogy #1) (Kindle Edition)
A very good read about a bleak futuristic Britain lots of twists and turns. Let's hope it is not true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Over-Egged Pudding, 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tube Riders (The Tube Riders Trilogy #1) (Kindle Edition)
It's a dystopian Britain in the not too distant future. The London Underground is still running but the trains don't stop in the riot-prone urban area - this is left to the hood rats. But then where are the trains coming from, going to? And who are the people on board? Why is the urban mass transit running when it never stops to pick up or drop off passengers? And how come the trains keep on running when there is nothing to stop any self respecting hood rat vandal from dropping a baulk of timber across the rails for the pleasure of seeing a high speed derailment?

There are two gangs who hang out in the disused stations - the Tube Riders (goodies) who latch on to the train as it comes into the station and hang on until it goes back into the far tunnel, and the Cross Jumpers (baddies), who jump from platform to platform in front of the train. There's a certain animosity here for no obvious reason - you would have thought that neither group lived long enough to bear a grudge.

Then there's the dreaded DCA, the Feds (real baddies) - the men in suits who go around doing - what, exactly? They are a very inefficient police force, if that's what they are, judging by the anarchy in the UK. The tube riders see a bunch of them beating up and murdering the European ambassador, so maybe they are the provisional wing of UKIP? But why bump His Excellency off in a disused Underground station when you have converted Canary Wharf into a perfectly good Lubyanka? Plus the DCA have produced the dreaded Huntsmen (double plus ungood baddies) - part bloodhound, part human, part cyborg - to hunt down their enemies - which in this case is the Tube Riders.

So the Riders catch a freight train out of London and head for sunny Bristol. Hey, that's where I live! So I have the added pleasure of seeing what's left of Bristol after a few years of rioting and totalitarian government (not much). But the Huntsmen pursue...

There's a lot of good stuff here. But also lots of unresolved anomalies, rather as if the author was making it up on the fly. On balance it's worth putting up with the oddities for the pleasure of seeing what happens next. But I fear that at any moment the book will end leaving things unresolved in an effort to make me buy book 2 , and I'm not sure I want to go that far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent free read, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tube Riders (The Tube Riders Trilogy #1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm usually dubious about things that are free. On this occasion I was pleasantly surprised. The story moves along and is an excellent read. My first thought about the book was how it would have made a fanastic story line for 2000AD comic or graphic novel as they are called now. The visual images in my head came in stronger than the usual pictorial format. While it has the familiar story components struggle, love, loss etc Chris Ward put it together well and I would highly recommend the book for fans of the fantasy/scific genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few books where i will buy the sequel., 7 Jun 2014
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tube Riders (The Tube Riders Trilogy #1) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the few books where I will buy the sequel. Set in the future but not that far the UK (Mega Britain) has become isolated from the rest of the world and is ruled by a tyrannical Governor.
With everything in decay a group of teenagers get their kicks from the dangerous game of jumping onto tube trains and riding them until they can safely jump off (hence the title). This part of the book is well paced and you can get a real sense of the despondency yet wanting action of the tube riders. The tube riders have rival gangs “Cross jumpers” who as their name implies jump across the track in front of trains. There are a number of violent confrontations.
Suddenly however everything changes when the tube riders witness a murder and the identity of the person murdered will change the whole outcome for Mega Britain if this information can be got to the European Confederation.
Nothing is as easy as it seems and the tube riders are up against the government rival gangs and huntsmen. Huntsmen are genetically modified human / dog hybrids whose only purpose is to hunt down and kill their prey.
A very violent book with every character believable and many twists and turns in a fast paced well written book. The strength of the book is not only in the original plot but also the way that I can visualise all of the characters, although some characters have larger parts none are ignored and treated as scenery all have an important part.
One of the best books I have read for a long time. It is part of a trilogy but although it ends in a manner where it is obviously going to continue it works OK as a stand-alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tube Riders (The Tube Riders Trilogy #1) (Kindle Edition)
Great story, original, well written, impossible to put down. Excellent characters and well paced storyline, would make a wonderful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews