Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Album With Newly Elevated Status
When it was announced that the entire Beatles catalogue was scheduled to be remastered & re-issued in 2009 I was in eager anticipation of hearing the band's recordings sounding as good as they do on this 1999 release. Now that the remasters are available in the shops, I very much regret to announce myself disappointed to discover that NOT A SINGLE ONE of the tracks...
Published on 26 Sep 2009 by Harvey Randall

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same music, different package
For a completist such as myself, any Beatles release must be bought. However, for the casual buyer who already has the original CD version of "Songtrack", there is nothing new here. Even the booklet is the same and the music has not been remastered from that original release. The card packaging now matches all the other re-mastered albums from a couple of years ago but,...
Published on 2 July 2012 by AJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Album With Newly Elevated Status, 26 Sep 2009
When it was announced that the entire Beatles catalogue was scheduled to be remastered & re-issued in 2009 I was in eager anticipation of hearing the band's recordings sounding as good as they do on this 1999 release. Now that the remasters are available in the shops, I very much regret to announce myself disappointed to discover that NOT A SINGLE ONE of the tracks featured on this album sound as good in their 2009 stereo incarnations as they do here. Was I expecting 'all too much'? It appears so. Whatever Apple's reasons (which I rather expect to be as unconvincing as the decision to remaster the band's first 4 albums in their original shoddy stereo versions) passing over these superb remixes they cannot help but leave this particular listener wondering what on earth's going on when the Yellow Submarine Songtrack contains tracks that still sound superior ten years later! As Allan Rouse was the co-ordinator for both this & the 2009 remasters projects, perhaps an explanation is out of the question? Again, it appears so. This album now stands as evidence, then, that whereas the 2009 Mono Remasters are a ground-breaking triumph the stereo counterparts represent an opportunity missed- squandered, even.

At the time of its release back in September 1999 this collection did not appear at first glance to be a very big deal at all; until, that is, you sat down and listened to its all-too familiar contents. It was only then that its abundant riches were exposed as track after track revealed finely tuned nuances that were a delight to hear. The chief engineer was Peter Cobbin, whose work here was so exemplary that it is to be lamented that his name does not appear among the credits on the 2009 remasters. It will be pleaded, of course, that these mixes were not the originals as issued back in the day- but neither are the mixes featured on the 2009 remastered stereo versions of Help! & Rubber Soul, both of which revive George Martin's excellent late 1980s versions, which effectively scuppers that particular argument. But if Apple's rationale doesn't make a whole lot of sense, the music on Yellow Submarine Songtrack certainly does! These tracks have been presented with loving care and a painstaking attention to fine sonic detail that places this album in a league of its own among Beatles compact discs. Sure, the bass registers have been enhanced, but that's by no means the full extent of what's on offer here as the entire width & depth of the stereo spectrum has been utilised to unlock & maximise the potentials of each track. 'All You Need Is Love', for example, may not have worn as well in our collective affections as many other Beatles hits but this version stands head & shoulders above any other available to you (& that includes the original mono single) as I write these lines. So: what in 1999 seemed like a worthwhile curiosity now enjoys elevated status as the one boasting the most impressive sound quality in the band's entire catalogue- a situation that we can be reasonably sure Apple & EMI did not anticipate when it embarked on the 2009 remasters project. If you want the Beatles sounding at their very best, you are recommended to make this album your topmost priority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Remastering, 23 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. J. A. Smith "thetoot" (Blackwell) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I wasn't convinced. The package seemed a bit like skirting around the issue, a money-spinner, a pointless exercise. Somehow it made me feel that i didn't want to buy this because it seemed like everyone elses Beatles album, and not my own.
But then, four years late, i bought it and wow.
Yes, we all know the songs - i can't bear to listen to All you Need is Love anymore, and can barely face the title track another time - but this goes beyond. Every other beatles cd release sounds dated, not because of the quality of material, but the inexcusable lack of remastering. i have heard the Beach Boys, The Byrds, Dylan, Tim Buckley, all with fantastic remastering jobs that brings the songs out of themseleves and makes them feel not so much current, as timeless. The potential is there with the Beatles to be eternally wonderful, but time and again young fans are introduced to the band through tinny cd editions and can't see what the fuss is about. The supposed greatest band in the world sound flat.
Well, in that case, this is the sound of the Beatles - gone fat. The chunky guitars sounds like I have always dreamt it to sound in my head when humming the tunes back to myself. So clear and fine, so absolutely brilliant.
Yes, Bulldog sounds current, but it is Nowhere Man, Elanor Rigby, Baby Your a Rich Man that really shine.
EMI MUST REMASTER THE CATALOGUE. Why they don't is a mystery, their arogance is losing the Beatles a lot of credit and respect, and here they are on a clean, clear, soulful cd that puts them right back where they belong.
Surely the time is due for a re-issue of the catalogue with singles as bonus tracks? Are EMI too stingy to concieve of giving value for money? Well thank God they went and remixed this, because it sounds brilliant, even if at heart it is a little pointless and silly.
Surely the Beatles are the ultimate holiday car band, the music to listen to when the whole family are on a trip, to sing along to, to fall in love with? This album can do that just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent to hear remastered, 31 July 2008
As with everything these days about The Beatles, we all seem to know what happened, musically and personally. But assessing this songtrack is really assessing the specially penned tracks for the original LP and Film. Except there is a story here...

Hey Bulldog, once described by Steve Wright on TOTP2 in 1999 as "the undiscovered Beatles classic" was actually destined as the single release whose slot was taken by Lady Madonna! Hence the promo for Lady Madonna being the actual promo film for Hey Bulldog!!! (Are you with me?)... Lady Madonna is the most understated and least regarded of all the Beatles single but it is an incredible recording. But back to Hey Bulldog, this is the real maccoy, real deal. It is the Beatles doing what they know best; JAMMING well together and totally emersed.

It's All Too Much must rank as one of the greatest psychadelia recordings of the sixties. As Jeremy is turning to the delight of colour and flowers circuling in the film's final scene, George Harrison gives a monumental vocal performance. It's lyric is very Harrison, but the whole song fits hand in glove (if you pardon the pun to the film again!!!)... Harrison was already working on the song before the film's commencement with customary no working title!

All Together Now is such a happy song, it can grace any party. Enjoy.

Only a Northern Song (another Harrison gem) was heading for Sgt Pepper LP, and was completed ahead of some other songs that made it to Sgt Pepper. It was rejected from Sgt Pepper rather harshly and revived for this project.

So, dear people, only All Together Now can actually claim to have been specially penned for Yellow Submarine... The others were ready with demos in the can!

But this CD is good, very very good and wonderfully remastered to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Wake of "Love", Don't Pass This By - It Also Brings Out The Best of The Beatles, 5 Jan 2007
By 
KMorris (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
Sadly, the pleasure of listening to the currently available UK versions of The Beatles albums up to and including "Sgt Pepper's" is marred by the poor, old fashioned stereo mixes. These appear, at best, quaint to modern ears, and at worst, downright shoddy, slapdash and inadequate. EMI should be ashamed. However, for the songs on this release it is put right and the best of The Beatles is brought out.

Excellent remixing by Abbey Road engineer Peter Cobbin and company pumps the music up and highlights the range and depth of sounds and performances. All done with loving care, and it shows. This is an essential purchase for Beatles fans and a tantalising glimpse into what ought to be properly done with all their work.

We get to hear the fullness of "Eleanor Rigby" and "Love You To" with instruments sensibly placed. "Yellow Submarine", the song itself, shines here due to the remixing bringing out the sound effects and the warm quality of the backing harmony vocals. The "Sgt Pepper's" songs are greatly enhanced, but special mention should be made of the 'rarer' tracks. "Hey, Bulldog" bites and along with "Northern Song", "It's All Too Much" and "Baby, You're A Rich Man" (my favourite) is as good as anything todays' pop/rock scene can muster.

If still not convinced listen out for the mighty massed vocals and electric lead guitar on "Nowhere Man". Loud and clear ! Oh, if only we could have all "Rubber Soul" and "Revolver" like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finest remastering yet of any Beatles collection, 5 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. J. S. Gold "Julian Gold" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I so agree with all my fellow reviewers who cannot understand why this 1999 remastering of such legendary songs did not provide the template for the way the 2009 Beatles Remasters should be delivered. Don't get me wrong, the 2009 collections cannot help but be wonderful, whether in mono or stereo, purely because the Beatles are just a fantastic band. However, when you hear tracks reborn as they are here in the case of Nowhere Man, Think For Yourself (both Rubber Soul tracks displaying incredible harmony singing)and Sgt.Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (this is what a remastered mix of the whole stereo Sgt. Pepper album should sound like), one senses an opportunity was lost. Let's hope Apple and EMI have the stamina to do such a job, even just on Pepper, having spent four years working on the 2009 versions. It is strange how a 1999 mix can be better on the ears than one ten years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great but do not buy again if you have the original, 14 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yellow Submarine Songtrack (Audio CD)
First of all I fell into the trap thinking this has been remastered, to be fair my fault as the 1999 master was excellent anyway why would they need to do it again, On receiving the CD it clearly say's on the back remastered 1999. If you do not have the original this is great, and its interesting too hear what can be done with rebalancing things. All the vocals are central, and songs like yellow Submarine, you hear things and lines like "Life is a breeze" for the first time as they are not crushed in the original primitive mix. Its almost allowing the Beatles music to get space to breath. Now of cause I am aware that many people will feel that no one should fiddle with the Beatles music, but as many have said time and time again. the stereo versions were secondary to the MONO mixes and even John Lennon stated " I don't understand why they put the vocals on one channel and the music on another". On this collection, this has been resolved and tracks Like Nowhere Man and when I'm sixty four benefit so much. Eleanor Rigby is even more beautiful and the songs from Sgt pepper are very punchy and fresh. I know many were against re mixing in this way but I for one love the sound, at one point it was even considered, that the Beatles albums would all be issued in Mono, stereo and re balanced stereo in a 3 CD set this never happened. This version is to accompany the film and is not meant to replace the original yellow submarine, the four exclusive songs all sound great especially Hey Bull dog which just rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You hear so much more on this cd !!, 22 Dec 1999
By A Customer
As a long time Beatles fan I did not rush out to buy this cd, since I already had the tracks in my collection. Then I heard it at a friends house.......I understand that all the original tapes that made up the four track/ eight track masters were dusted down and broken back so that they could be remixed on the multi track wizardry that exists today. Fed up with your tinny copy of Baby Youre A Rich Man ? Hear it properly for the first time on this disc ! Want to hear the individual vocal harmonies on NowhereMan ? Then buy the disc. This recommendation comes from a converted cynic !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so this is what can be done, 16 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The arguments on if the Beatles back cataloge should be remixed or re balanced are raised again. Anyone who knows about the Beatles history of the stereo versions of the early albums will know they had nothing to do with the mixes and were only ever involved in the mono mixes. The stereo mixes can be very harsh with instruments on one channel and voices on the other channel, this made quite hard to listen too in some ways ruining the musical picture. However the re balanced versions here are a joy to listen to and on many tracks for example Yellow Submarine you hear words and music that were lost in th original bad mix. In my view this has brought a wonderful new musical experience to these wonderful songs. Remember Eleanor Rigby where the intro ends and almost half way through where Paul sings "Eleanor" someone fads the vocals to the left channel, this is gone here is is a delight to hear it as perhaps the Beatles would have wanted. As John Lennon said I don't no why they put the instruments in one channel and the voices in another" here here John quite agree. Buy and enjoy these songs, my personal highlight is still Hey Bulldog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yellow submarine 2012?, 6 Jun 2012
This review is from: Yellow Submarine Songtrack (Audio CD)
This album was remixed in 1999 and was released alongside the original dvd release of ys .The album contains the classic songs from the film of same name . However this is a just a reissue of that 1999 master in the card sleeve form as was used on all the recent remasters. The date states 1999 on the back of the card sleeve where as the others state the year of remaster on the back sleeve. I will give it 5 stars still as its the beatles .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super album, super sound, 25 Feb 2007
Having now collected all of The Beatles albums, this is the one I left until last basically because it is Yellow Submarine and I thought I already had many of the songs on this album. Mistake. This should have been one of the first albums on my list to buy. The album sounds superb and the well known tracks take on a new life here. Of the new tracks to my collection Baby You're A Rich Man is up there with the best and it is easy to see Oasis comparisons in Hey Bulldog. A great collection of songs. Don't make the same mistake as I and leave it til last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yellow Submarine Songtrack
Yellow Submarine Songtrack by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews