Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb thriller
I downloaded this book because of the five star review it got and because I love WWII films and books. The book starts in the modern day but soon goes back to WWII and sets up an interesting character who escapes Jersey before the island is occupied by the Nazis. I didn't know where the story was going and it really zipped along once the main mission started. Lots of...
Published on 11 April 2012 by LeroyParker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read.
An interesting tale, believable characters, scenarios and plot line,
read the last third of the book in one sitting, what more can I say.
Published 7 months ago by Stephen Byrne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb thriller, 11 April 2012
This review is from: Farewell Leicester Square (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book because of the five star review it got and because I love WWII films and books. The book starts in the modern day but soon goes back to WWII and sets up an interesting character who escapes Jersey before the island is occupied by the Nazis. I didn't know where the story was going and it really zipped along once the main mission started. Lots of action and intrigue. Loved it and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating from beginning to end, 11 April 2012
By 
H. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell Leicester Square (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly enjoyable read. Full of intrigue and some shocks along the way. Historical wartime descriptions are incredibly accurate and deftly pull you into the story. It's almost as if you're there. Looking forward to the next one by Mr Kilkade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent thriller, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Farewell Leicester Square (Kindle Edition)
I love old style thrillers and this is certainly a good one of those.

It's well researched - lots of stuff about SOE and the resistance.

It's got a fast plot and lots of action and builds to a very exciting climax over London. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell Leicester Square (Kindle Edition)
Interesting plot, realistic characters. Loved the way the threads came together. Nicely written. Kept me gripped right to the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 5 May 2014
This review is from: Farewell Leicester Square (Kindle Edition)
I so enjoyed this book, Its not my favourite period of modern history but Im so glad I didnt miss this one. Its well written by an author who knows his stuff. I highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David George, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell Leicester Square (Kindle Edition)
An excellent well written story.Could not put it down.Love world war two books and this was the best I've read for a long while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it, you might too, 2 Feb 2014
By 
R. P. Smith "Paul Smith" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell Leicester Square (Kindle Edition)
Good Story, Well Written, Recommend, Well Edited

This book starts with an intrigue and in the present time but quickly moves back to WWII and a different perspective, that of the Channel Islands, the only part of the UK to be occupied by the Nazis during WWII. It quickly pulled me in and was full of pathos, well told and a story that flowed well with some twists and turns that took me off track but I pulled myself back quickly.

It was a story I didn't want to end and I enjoyed the book and would like a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell Leicester Square (Kindle Edition)
An interesting tale, believable characters, scenarios and plot line,
read the last third of the book in one sitting, what more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put this book down, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. G. Mawson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell Leicester Square (Kindle Edition)
I have a strong interest in stories of the Second World War, and once I began to read Farewell Leicester Square, I could not put it down. The characters simply leapt from the page and the suspense and tension gripped me. I even found myself holding my breath at various points when a character was in a dangerous situation. This book is historically authentic and clearly was very well researched. I look forward to John Kilkade's next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of intrigue and heroism, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell Leicester Square (Kindle Edition)
A great tale of WW 2 daring, intrigue and heroism told in a gripping way. Well researched and I'm sure based on detailed gleaned from true stories of the people who risked their lives to help other. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Farewell Leicester Square
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews