Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inpsired Dream Pop
Beach House have just churned out their most loveable album to date with their fourth LP Bloom! i could happily just leave it at that, but you guys probably need something a little bit more convincing to go on i'm sure. Myth and Lazuli are two songs that have been used as bait to reel in potential newcomers with free streams available of them before the albums official...
Published on 20 July 2012 by Kenneth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty enough, but no stayer
Sure, the first times you hear through this, you will probably like the undeniably immediate melancholic beauty of the songs. After many listenings, though, the songs tend to "fall apart," they become mere musical constructions without real soul or depth.
Published 20 months ago by aphelion


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inpsired Dream Pop, 20 July 2012
By 
Kenneth (nottingham, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloom (Audio CD)
Beach House have just churned out their most loveable album to date with their fourth LP Bloom! i could happily just leave it at that, but you guys probably need something a little bit more convincing to go on i'm sure. Myth and Lazuli are two songs that have been used as bait to reel in potential newcomers with free streams available of them before the albums official release. And it's hard to query their logic, their both stunners featuring glistening keyboards, impassioned singing courtesy of Victoria Legrand and that familarly distinctive sound of Alex Scully's Fender Stratocaster. All in all honesty though i could have just described any of the songs on Bloom as they all feature similar instruments give or take some scintillating percussion. what seperates these wonders is the plethora of inspired melodies each track has to offer combined with the heartfelt and thought provoking lyricism that's also brought to the fore. "What comes after this momentary bliss, the consequence of what you do to me" almost sliced my heart in half when Victoria Legrand romantically bellows this on Myth. And the melodies on Bloom are some of the most tender i've heard since Yo La Tengo's gorgeous And Then Nothing Turned Itself Out.

The revolving riff on "Irene" from 3.30 on follwed by the flurry of cymbal crashes is so transcendentally stunning you'll wish the song goes on for a lot longer then it's 17 minute length (or that they'd filled the silence in between at least). The moaning MY bloody Valentine guitars in "New Year" always get me to, their filled with such nostalgic melancholy. Some immediately hailed Bloom the album of the year upon it's release in April and aside from the fact that there's still a lot more music to be released in 2012, the lack of sonic innovation on Bloom does slightly hinder it from achieving such unquestionable status, as the debt to Mazzy Star and The Cocteau Twins is still rather high. Nevertheless, as i've already emphatically stated the music on here is undeniable beautiful and will be sure to please even the most discerning of listeners with repeated exposure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beach House - In Bloom, 14 May 2012
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bloom (Audio CD)
How do you follow an album which was a dreamy pop masterwork that single handidly made a lush electronic form of shoegaze music the height of fashion and left a trail of broken hearts from New York to Newquay? It also saw young men (and rather aged males) fall hopelessly in love with the dulcet dones of the sultry chanteuse Victoria Legrand and give fulsome admiration to the musical wonders conjured by Alex Scally from his pole position in Beach House. 2010's opus "Teen Dream" was a wonder indeed and from the minute Legrand crushed you with longing regret of "Walk in the park" or had you singing at the top of your voice to the wonderful distortion of "Norway" you knew you had encountered something very special.

In terms of the Baltimore duo's latest offering its safe to say that if you loved "Teen Dream" the romance is about to be rekindled. There is certainly progression on "Bloom" which makes it a cleaner more pure pop form of music but at the same time this album is certainly the first cousin of "TD" and if you had put the lovely opener "Myth" as the eleventh track on that album frankly no one would notice the joins. It is a scintillating pop song full of huge Legrand choruses and Scally instrumentation which concludes with a huge finale of bells, guitars synths, kitchen sinks et al. Next up is "Wild" a song which your reviewer has become so smitten with it is with a sense of regret that the third track comes on. It is a pounding shimmering pop song with a superb vocal and imbued with that latent regret that the sweet raspy voice of Legrand should seek a patent to protect. Equal wonders follow not least the lifting bliss of "Lazuli" (appropriately a stone, revered for its intense blue radiance) where music pundits have noticed the Liz Frazier dimensions of Legrand's huge vocal. There however a couple of minor slip ups within the album. The song "Other people" for instance is a wonderfully gossamer thin pop song all airy graces and appears to be created as a potential single. Repeated listens however suggest that it is neither fish nor fowl and it is not a song on the album where your automatically aim the needle of the record player. Similarly why do bands persist in the high irritation of the hidden concluding album track where you wait an eternity to be deliriously shocked by the presence of more music which you knew was already there in the first place (Beach House have never really majored on 16 minute songs). Its a shame really since the gorgeous mystery track "Wherever you go" which follows the rather harsh "Irene" harks back nicely to the Beach House of the earlier "Devotion" era and didn't need to be tucked away.

These are small quibbles in the grand scheme of things and once you hear the truly wonderful rolling piano ballad "On the sea" the bands genius is laid bare for all to admire and leave you with a quivering lip. Beach house are consumate musicians who have perfected an approach which is distinctively their own and which delivers time after time. "Teen Dream" was an album of such greatness that following it was bound to be a difficult prospect, Equally "Bloom" is an album which is deeply layered and textured and reveals a little more beauty and depth on each listen. Who knows with the passage of time it may well be every bit the equal to its august predecessor? "Time is the revelator" as Gillian Welch once wisely observed and for now just enjoy another wonderful instalment of music from this dynamic duo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely LOOOOOOOOOOVE IT!, 31 July 2013
This review is from: Bloom (Audio CD)
Absolutely stunning! It was the first Beach House album I've listened to and I was simply bewitched by its depth and beauty! Some absolutely outstanding songs! Now when this album led me to 'Teen Dream' I can understand the comments regarding the lack of novelty but to be perfectly honest, I believe that ''In Bloom' is definitely a step forward because it is slightly darker, deeper and a tiny bit more mature... I absolutely LOOOOOOOOOOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamy soundscape maintained, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloom (Audio CD)
This album has a similar dreamy soundcape to the previous excellent Teen Dream . It features lots of moody keyboards from Victoria Le Grand with Alex Scully accompanying on guitar and keyboards . There are often dense arrangements, creating an ambient soundscape wash. Victoria Le Grand's lead vocals can sometimes be difficult to make out, but more lyrics emerge from the mix than on the previous album. These songs grow on you, with subtle nuances discovered on repeated listens , and they continue to create their own unique sound, maybe not disimilar to the Cocteau Twins at times. The arrangements are perhaps a bit more varied than on the previous album, but overall they never stray too far from the characteristic sound that they make together. So this is a gradual evolution, nothing revolutionary, ploughing their own distinct furrow. 10 new tracks gently flow over you ,immersing you in their ambient sound. With the high quality of their last offering, they seem to have taken the attitude if it ain't broke, no need for a radical fix, just a few tweaks here and there. It is their second strong album on the trot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 15 May 2012
By 
Mr. Samuel Memour (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloom (Audio CD)
Having taken a while to fully appreciate their last album "Teen Dream" it has now become a regular late night listen. This new one is much more immediate, and mainstream without losing the dreamy quality from before. There seems to be a growing confidence in their work, the vocals and guitars are clearer than before. It's still pretty cool and detached stuff, despite it's new found accessibility. Its not exactly packed with hit singles, but a proper album that needs to be heard all the way through rather than picking out indivdual tracks.

This really is absorbing and beautifully crafted music. I fully expect this to be in lots of year end best album lists in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of them all, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloom (Audio CD)
This band / group are getting better all the time -just love em
for me this album doesnt have any 3 star tracks! all 4 and 5 star-well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bloom - Its good!!!, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloom (Audio CD)
Hard to follow from the last Album as it was so good but this isn't bad - one always does have high hopes after a mighty fine début album, I like this the more I play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty enough, but no stayer, 10 Mar 2013
This review is from: Bloom (Audio CD)
Sure, the first times you hear through this, you will probably like the undeniably immediate melancholic beauty of the songs. After many listenings, though, the songs tend to "fall apart," they become mere musical constructions without real soul or depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars like a lesser version of the last one, 17 Feb 2013
This review is from: Bloom (Audio CD)
I'm a fan of Beach house and love their chilled out dreamy music but this album to me mostly seemed quite repetitive with the exception of a few songs. If you're new to the band you'll probably enjoy the album because it is not bad, just in comparisson to their others it is. I found it a little dull and way prefer listening to teen dream, for hardcore fans i understand the need to get the album but otherwise i'd take a miss on Bloom. Just to stress it is not bad but nor is it great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars album of the year, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloom (Audio CD)
a absolute piece of dream pop perfection from start to finish an absolute masterpiece by beach house. Album of the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloom (Mpdl) [VINYL]
Bloom (Mpdl) [VINYL] by Beach House (Vinyl - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews