Customer Reviews
Ram


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where has this album been all my life?
There was a time when I blithely assumed that John & Yoko was where it was really at. In terms of the Beatles, Paul was just the old sweet-toothed loverboy with a penchant for writing saccharine songs while John provided the real meat. Everything I once thought I knew was consigned to the bin when I heard this album. Because, while John & Yoko were ploughing their lonely...
Published on 13 Jan. 2004

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
i was very disappointed with cd 2 of this package.i have been looking forward to the deluxe editions because of the unreleased songs done at the time, but 'hey diddle' has a fade in intro,(why), and 'sunshine sometime' is only the instrumental version when there is a chorus vocal out on 'bootleg'. after all this hype why dont the artists release all the songs in the...
Published on 26 May 2012 by gambo


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAMMING ON WITH PAUL, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ram (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
the second album of paul"s solo career after testing the water of his debut album McCARTNEY which i feel was an experiment project to find out how well it would go down with the critics and fans .....with very mixed reviews, but on 21st may 1971 there was the release of RAM , WOW what a huge difference , paul was having fun,confident and in superb voice with raw and powerful and yet warm and loving vocals, that was all of his own style and personality coming out of each track .
RAM is a homegrown album with limited musical production BUT it is honest and warm and fantastic to listen to paul"s talent shining through , lovingly supported by his wife linda whose vocal ability is much better than she was given credit for ,
and proved that paul is a master in his own write and a stepping stone to the genius he would become,
fantastic album, great box set with brilliant bonus discs....
it is a real pity that john lennon did not truly respect this album because he was so focused on looking for what the ram album hidden remarks said about him ...which were very little , that it clouded his judgement on brilliant tracks such as TOO MANY PEOPLE, DEAR BOY(which was really about linda"s ex husband and not about john at all) UNCLE ALBERT, EAT AT HOME, and the BRILLIANT "THE BACK SEAT OF MY CAR" just superb, BUY IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Lennon Smile Away!!, 8 Nov. 2010
By 
Alan D. Evans "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
This album just cheers me up every time I hear it! From opening Too Many People to the rocking romantic Back Seat of My Car! All the bits in the middle make it a complete ex Beatle masterpiece!
While John was groaning and moaning in America Paul was hoppin' and boppin' in Scotland enjoying the great British countryside!! And it shows on this album!
'How do you sleep' was Johns nasty bitter tune written about Paul (if I was McCartney I'dve been well ***** off with that one) and I'm sure 'Smile Away' is a very funny take on Lennon with his backing vocals there as well!
And who's ever heard of a butter pie? Obviously the butter wouldn't melt so he put it in the pie!! That always makes me chuckle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE FUNNEST ALBUM EVER?, 9 Mar. 2011
By 
Carlo Matthews "carlo" (Been Moving Around) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
I'm not sure enough praise could be heaped on this. It's neck to neck with Band On the Run (and probably a couple of inches ahead). It's got a joi de vivre that's utterly disarming. Couldn't be more genuine and stripped down. Macca's finest hour tossed off like so much whimsy. Not one filler track, yet none even seem to be taken seriously!!! The genius of the man.

Imagine the ultra-mega-mammoth record that would've come out if the Beatles had played on it!

A copy of the album should come with everybody's birth certificate. There, that should do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Post Fabs fabness, 21 May 2012
By 
Kindle Customer "gmdobbs" (wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
This has always been my favorite album Macca made after the Beatles. It's not as commercial as Band on the Run, but its far more real. In many ways it's like a diary entry and tells the story of what Paul did following the Beatles break up - and that was take to the country and become content in marital bliss. It's a happy album and although it'll take a few listens it will get you in the end. I love it and couldn't wait for the new remastered edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAM IS PURE GOLD, 28 Nov. 2010
By 
Kindle Customer "gmdobbs" (wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
Strange how Band on the Run is always cited as the best album Macca made after the Beatles - this is better, far better. I admit it sounds a but twee at first but stick with and you'll be surprised. There's no filler on the album which works as a whole. Man, I love this this and could write reams and reams of how good it is but instead I'll just say, fabgeargroovey! Ram on, Baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definintely worth buying in this two-disk package., 21 May 2012
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
Back in August last year I had the privilege of visiting the Abbey Road studios and saw this album being remastered. The attention to detail in that work is quite remarkable. So this is definitely an improved and repackaged version of a very good record.

Not that it was recognised as very good when it was first released, when it was fashionable to knock McCartney and praise Lennon. But that was too simplistic then and even more wrong now. McCartney has a gift for writing memorable melodies and here is a record full of them. This album has stood the test of time and many, many people will be buying it and smiling as, in effect, they revisit an old friend.

McCartney has a strange ability to write songs which, on first hearing, sound light and on second hearing you say 'I KNOW that track'. So it is with RAM, and many of his later works too.

Stand out tracks? 'Too Many People' is a good rocking opener. 'Uncle Albert / Admiral Halsey' is up there in the 'hum along' nonsense stakes alongside 'Yellow Submarine'. On the bonus disk, 'Another Day' was brilliant single at the time and 'Oh Woman Oh Why' has its fans too. Most of the remaining bonus material, to be fair, I would expect to be of interest mainly to collectors and 'completists'.

The repackaging is good: a double fold-out cardboard sleeve approach with the original photographs and more, plus the lyrics in a booklet.

Definintely worth buying in this two-disk package. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zany Magic, 3 Feb. 2005
By 
John Heaton (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
This is a wonderfully zany offering from someone who in 1971 needed no introduction and this very zaniness managed to draw some of the most viscious and one has to to say amusing put downs in the history of rock journalism. Somehow, after the masterpiece that Abbey Road undoubtedly was, with McCartney's supreme talent effortless to the fore there, it appears that anything less than a repeat performance over the ensuing years invited ridicule and utter contempt from the critics.
Not from the record buying public though. This album was a massive seller and is revered by McCartney fans and many more besides 34 years later. But at the time, no less an authority than Rolling Stone dismissed this album as 'unbelievably inconsequential....and monumentally irrelevant'.
As I said....amusing.
But seriously misguided. I don't know what the world was exepecting Paul to produce in 1971 but the fact that he for one couldn't care less and put out this set, which although carrying many Beatlesque trademarks, not least in the melodies of course, is also a bold statement of independance complete with honest remarks on how bitter he felt about the Beatles break-up.
No one enjoys (or enjoyed) I hope the public slagging match between Lennon and McCartney in the years 1970-1, which did its best to destroy all the love and peace that the Beatles music had done so much to uphold and stand for throughout their short 7 year career of recorded output. But that doesn't detract from the quality of this album. The opener 'Too Many People' takes a sly dig at Lennon for 'preaching practices'....'don't let them tell you what you want to do'. Quite reasonable really, and certainly insufficient provocation for the tirade of nasty abuse (aimed squarely at McCartney) that was Lennon's scathing reply 'How Do You Sleep' on his 'Imagine' album of the same year. The second track, likening the Ex Beatles without Paul to a three legged dog is perhaps more provocative, but pretty mild and quite amusing all the same. And these first two songs are wonderfully distinctive and original, Paul has produced nothing like either since. That goes for the whole album really, it is Paul being original and creative and sub consciously distancing himself from whatever image he may have created for himself during the Fab Four years. He has tried this in the years since, somewhat more consciously usually . And more often than not less successfully as a result. Paul has always been best just doing his own thing, which is what he does best.
Anyway, back to the album: 'Ram On" is an evocative and charming piece of his ImHappyInScotlandThankyou period. 'Dear Boy' is an off the wall number featuring mad harmonies, the lyric possibly aimed at Lennon...but who cares? 'Uncle Albert' is about the most Beatleque moment on the album, a quite ecsquisite melody in the verse and a rousing chorus which brings happiness and a feeling of release on every listen (just as the title track of 'Band On The Run' was to do 2 years later). Even John Lennon was kind enough to comment favourably on this track, and this was in the depths of The Cold War between the two. Or should I say 'Thoroughly Public And Childish War'?? Which achieved Nothing and was a real sadness to most genuine Beatles fans.
'Smile Away' is slightly throwaway but engaging all the same. Then we come to 'Heart Of The Country", again evocative is the word that springs to mind...rural peaceful domesticity and contentment, away from Showbiz and The Big City....something that may have enraged Lennon at the time. But he came round to see what this was in the end, even giving up 5 years of his career in he process.
Monkberry Moon Delight is a raucous rocker with mad lyrics. Can you imagine this one sitting comfortably on a Beatles album? I think not. But then again who knows what might have become of the Beatles had they not split up when they did? Endless triple albums, just to fit in all this zaniness, eclectic and magical as ever?!
'Eat At Home' is a superb rocker, and quite possibly the best song on the album. Again the lyric is all about Home and Love. And as Wings sung 5 years later: 'What's wrong with that?' 'Long Haired Lady' is good in places but is perhaps the weakest song on the album. Was it really necessary to do the Hey Jude style ending? With Linda's vocal so much to the fore?? She's not bad at all at harmony singing, but here she is presented with virtually the lead vocal in the chorus. About the only mistake on the album. And if it was done just to get back at George for imitating a Hey Jude style ending on 'Isn't It A Pity', it was unnecessary.
And so we come to the last track 'Back Seat Of My Car'. Well the melody is among the best Paul has ever produced. Most of it is inspired, especially the verses but if I'm honest I can't help thinking that Lennon might have added an idea or two to turn it into the absolute classic it deserves to be. The ending for example is too long as if Paul can't decide how to finish the song.
But at the end of the day we must accept that Lennon was in no state to help his partner at this time, and not much on the last three Beatles albums either. So be it. These solo albums are still mighty fine...and interesting...and thought-provoking...and moving. All four Beatles produced much work after the split which is a vital and illuminating part of the Beatles' story. And this album is that more than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real MUSIC., 21 May 2012
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
So for me, Ram represents music in it's most purest form, stripped of any commercial interests at all. Conceived and written in the wilds of Scotland on a farm, this album is fun exciting and very diverse. Thankfully it was recorded fairly well and isn't spoiled by being overly low-fi. In a world where music is released based on current trends (see the infection 'dub-step' is causing to mainstream pop as an example) and where albums are released as commercial opportunities, Ram to me feels like a breath of fresh air even today. Music should come from the artist's mind directly to me; this is what I feel listening to Ram, and is why it sounds so fresh and fun even today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smile Away!, 19 April 2009
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
"Ram" remains my favourite post-Beatles release by Paul McCartney. Although it faces stiff competition for that title from a handful of other fine albums, there is something rich, varied and magical about "Ram" which, for me, means that I keep on coming back to this particular release than any other. Despite there being a few mild jibes against Lennon and the other Beatles, the whole album is more an expression of Paul's domestic bliss and happiness with Linda than anything else and the key to this album's success is that it is expressed in an exuberantly playful and delightfully creative manner. It was written largely on Paul's farm on the Mull of Kintyre in Scotland and recorded in New York in late 1970. The same sessions also produced great songs such as "Dear Friend", "Get On The Right Thing" and "Little Lamb Dragonfly" (all to appear on subsequent albums), as well as the "Another Day" single, so it is more than fair to say that Paul was in rich songwriting form during this period.

Although there is a little more polish on this album than Paul's post-Beatles debut, "McCartney", the album does have a slightly home-made charm to it, with more than a few rough edges here and there, although there are some truly beautifully recorded and arranged songs here. The vocals and harmonies on "Dear Boy" (aimed at Linda's ex-husband, not John Lennon as contrary to popular belief) are reminiscent of Brian Wilson at his most creative. "Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey" is a song in three parts, a piece of zany genius, which is - at first - slow, dreamy and melodic and then subsequently infuriatingly catchy - you'll be humming or whistling for days after first hearing it. "The Back Seat Of My Car", the album's epic closer, is perhaps a minute too long, but you can forgive Paul his excesses on this track, being a melodic anthem to young love which really is rather special.

Other highlights include the truly brilliant opener "Too Many People", a great rocker which features a stomping bassline and some inspired lead guitar work and excellent vocals by the McCartneys. "Heart Of The Country" is a charming tribute to Paul`s love of his country home with Paul's voice and acoustic guitar blending together perfectly. "Eat At Home" is also a fantastic toe-tapping rock song and has a very catchy melody as well as playful lyrics. The rollicking "Monkberry Moon Delight" is another superb highlight on this superb album, featuring some very colourful , whimsical and poetic lyrics. The rest of the tracks on the album are all pretty good too including the bluesy "3 Legs", the raucous, silly "Smile Away" and the ukelele-driven, gently romantic "Ram On". I even really enjoy "Long-Haired Lady", but have to admit that Linda's vocals on this track do grate just a little. Still, this album has a great balance of material on it and Paul rarely gives in to excess or suffers from a lack of quality control. Virtually every positive characteristic of Paul's songwriting is showcased on "Ram" and it remains, to this day, one of the finest examples of his talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE FUNNEST ALBUM EVER?, 10 Mar. 2011
By 
Carlo Matthews "carlo" (Been Moving Around) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
I'm not sure enough praise could be heaped on this. It's neck to neck with Band On the Run (and probably a couple of inches ahead). It's got a joi de vivre that's utterly disarming. Couldn't be more genuine and stripped down. Macca's finest hour tossed off like so much whimsy. Not one filler track, yet none even seem to be taken seriously!!! The genius of the man.

Imagine the ultra-mega-mammoth record that would've come out if the Beatles had played on it!

A copy of the album should come with everybody's birth certificate. There, that should do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ram
Ram by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews