Customer Reviews
Ram


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where has this album been all my life?
There was a time when I blithely assumed that John & Yoko was where it was really at. In terms of the Beatles, Paul was just the old sweet-toothed loverboy with a penchant for writing saccharine songs while John provided the real meat. Everything I once thought I knew was consigned to the bin when I heard this album. Because, while John & Yoko were ploughing their lonely...
Published on 13 Jan. 2004

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
i was very disappointed with cd 2 of this package.i have been looking forward to the deluxe editions because of the unreleased songs done at the time, but 'hey diddle' has a fade in intro,(why), and 'sunshine sometime' is only the instrumental version when there is a chorus vocal out on 'bootleg'. after all this hype why dont the artists release all the songs in the...
Published on 26 May 2012 by gambo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAM, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
Forget about what the critics said back in the day, this album is as good as anything Macca's ever released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real grower, 8 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
Despite its reputation, Ram is actually a very good album which I think got some undue flak on release because of what it is NOT: some big musical statement from a key sixties icon charged with breaking up the Beatles. Now that all that context has died away we can value it for what it is - a series of tuneful, whimsical songs peformed with great verve. Most of McCartney's virtues are on show: melody which gets under the skin, good musicianship and a very impressive vocal range (how far he's declined now, sadly!). This album is a real grower, a whimsical mini-masterpiece from a man who at the time just really wanted to retreat to his farm and play some songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another good CD, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
I have had this for years on vinyl it a cracker and now able to hear all over again great will buy a few more of paul CDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mcartney Magic, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
I like this a lot, my first hearing of this was only a couple of months ago. I knew that it existed an was interested to check out what it was like. I was not disappointed. The album has songs which have that instantly recognisable sheer quality and craftsmanship of a great artist. I have heard enough of this artist to know that he often has delightful surprizes in store for the ears. This work is no exeption. First track particularly 'Groovy'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely album, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
classic mccartney. not liked by critics at the time but a vast array of musical styles on one album. Paul's own version of the white album for the extent of diversity. Stand out tracks are Too Many People, Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey which was a US No 1 single but not released in the UK and Back Seat of My Car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ram + extra versions, 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ram [VINYL] (Vinyl)
A well worth while set of original recordings + additional versions, high quality Lp's make for very good reproduction. Wings and MacCartney fans will find it a valued purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 8 Aug. 2012
By 
C. G. Gilmoor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ram [Mono] [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The reasons why I consider this a must have:
1) It's from Paul McCartney
2) It's vinyl
3) For the price it's a very good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ram - no wooly fillers here !, 14 July 2012
By 
Mr. SJ Clarke "clunkyclarke" (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
Cracking, fresh, vibrant, energised, tuneful, rocking, raw, polished and most of all thoroughly enjoyable.

Why 4 stars then? There is not one bit of info in my double CD archive collection as to where the bonus tracks come from, whether they're 'left-offs', B sides or anything. The Booklet is great with many photos of the time and the original album lyrics..... surely they could have found space to detail what I'm listening to?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ram (Audio CD)
Great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ram box set, 28 May 2012
This review is from: Ram (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
The Ram album is undoubtedly one of Paul McCartney's finest albums and is worthy of a four star review, so why have I awarded it one star? Simply because this package does not represent value for money. Three of the four CDs contain basically the same material: the original Ram album, a mono version and an instrumental version. The fourth CD of "rare" tracks contains only eight songs, two of which were included on the last CD reissue of this album. The DVD contains only five short films. My advice would be to buy the standard CD version or better still, hunt down the 1990s release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ram
Ram by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews