Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good read. bagin price, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sustaining formative assessment with teacher learning communities (Kindle Edition)
I brought this as I was looking for ideas whilst preparing some lessons with a junior member of staff whilst signed off due to an injury. It's easy to read (if a little short) and did exactly that - I felt inspired and was able to pass that on.
The only thing I will caution you about is that everything in this book (and more) is covered in Wiliam's other book on formative assessment and most of the content can be found for free on YouTube if you search for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars renewing my fervour to teach well, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sustaining formative assessment with teacher learning communities (Kindle Edition)
I am currently in a journey to improve my teaching. I had not understood the changes in approach to teacher development. Thus is the missing link.This will help me direct my efforts to improve my practice productively. Really glad I bought it... Loving Kindle versions of teacher books :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why schools don't improve, 30 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Sustaining formative assessment with teacher learning communities (Kindle Edition)
Excellent work on why schools fail to do what they should. Schools don't fully read the theory and apply it as recommended they look for the sound bites and quick fixes and try to guess what they should be doing. The last few pages about priorities and trying multiple strategies instead of prioritising effectively sum up the problem of school thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging, 16 Dec. 2013
By 
G. Y. Ritchie (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sustaining formative assessment with teacher learning communities (Kindle Edition)
Dylan Wiliam on formative assessment is always a treat. No surprises then that this paper (it cannot be described as a book) was packed full of insight and interest. It is only suitable for those who have already worked through his earlier "embedded formative assessment", as it describes research on how the strategies contained in the earlier book can be implemented in schools through the establishment of teacher learning communities. The author cannot be faulted for being honest about how difficult change is to achieve, but I did feel that I would have been more encouraged had the case study of teacher learning communities given been more successful. But the encouragement Wiliam offers does not come through saying the journey will be easy, only that it is worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant piece of scholarship which is very readable!, 23 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sustaining formative assessment with teacher learning communities (Kindle Edition)
Wiliam is a leading educational theorist who is a rare beast: an academic who actually speaks directly to teachers. This book is jammed packed with invaluable insights into how teachers function and how they can best amend and improve their practice. Wiliam is both an idealist and a pragmatist: he has noble aims for education and profoundly believes that assessment needs to be a positive, constructive experience for both teachers and learners. He re-casts teachers as "learners" but not in a patronising fashion, and offers the important perception that many teachers need to improve what they already do well and that they need to be empowered to make decisions as to what they need to have more training in. He wants to avoid a "top-down" approach to CPD, which he shows nearly always doesn't work in the long term. The book is very well-written; extremely lucid. My only gripe is that the publisher needs to have an active table of contents for the Kindle because this would make the book more teacher-friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sustaining formative assessment with teacher learning communities (Kindle Edition)
A necessary read for those truly interested in school improvement and student achievement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sustaining formative assessment with teacher learning communities (Kindle Edition)
interesting reading form the guru of AFL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sustaining formative assessment with teacher learning communities (Kindle Edition)
very useful and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews