Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Her Name: From Chaos Born By Michael R Hicks
This is the seventh book in the In Her Name series from Mr Hicks and when you think he must surely be running out of ideas he comes back just as strong as before.

In the previous books we discovered that the Kreelan were a female warrior race mysteriously linked through a mystical connection to their Empress and in some cases to each other. We learned that...
Published on 19 Mar 2012 by Tom Stronach

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Froom Chaos Born
Was ok, but a bit tedious in parts. Perhaps the next part of the trilogy will be better and not so pedantic in parts.
Published 6 months ago by Chris Evans


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Her Name: From Chaos Born By Michael R Hicks, 19 Mar 2012
By 
Tom Stronach (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Chaos Born (The First Empress, Book 1) (In Her Name 9) (Kindle Edition)
This is the seventh book in the In Her Name series from Mr Hicks and when you think he must surely be running out of ideas he comes back just as strong as before.

In the previous books we discovered that the Kreelan were a female warrior race mysteriously linked through a mystical connection to their Empress and in some cases to each other. We learned that they were a technologically advanced race, however when engaged in battle they only used technology that matched their opponents, in the later books that was us, the Human Race, but in the eyes of the Kreelan, we were nothing more than animals to be exterminated or culled as we did not have the `soul' that they possessed. Millions of people on hundreds of planets were annihilated before those wars came to an end with the `one' who could save both races and so that should have been the end of it, sadly for us the followers of the In Her Name Series.

But, sneaky Mr Hicks had other plans, thank goodness. He has sat down at his PC/Mac or whatever he uses to write his books and in between fighting for control of the keyboard with his cats he has written a book that goes back in time on the Kreelan Home world. Hundreds of thousands of years, when humanity were still existing in caves, the Kreelans had existed and reached out to the cosmos.

We knew that all Kreelan Warriors were female and Hicks did inform us in one of the novels how this came about at the time that it did, but what we didn't know was how the Kreelans got to that point, and the epic tale that led up to the point of becoming a Female dominated race.

Many authors, having six best sellers on their hands, would probably leave it at that, but luckily for us, Hicks has found his feet as a full time author and so, having nothing better to do with his time, has decided that we should learn just where and how the Kreelans evolved into what became humanities worst nightmare (but from a readers perspective a thoroughly engaging species).

From Chaos Born, begins to explain this to us and Hicks's imagination and creativity is once again spinning a web of Love, Honour, Duplicity, Intrigue and War. Instead of killing other humanoids, they are killing each other in single combat but as is usual for an In Her Name novel, also in graphically depicted and detailed battle scenes.

We know from our previous sorties into his stories, that there are mystical priestesses who guard and protect `The Way' for the Empress and these Priestesses come from `holly' orders that are as old as the Kreelan peoples but that only a few of them exist in the later books. Again, Hicks is beginning to tell us about the Seven Orders that existed and of the Priests and Priestesses.

The male warriors that coexisted and fought alongside their Consorts, it's all there and more and it reads so easily that you once again get caught up in all of it you end up losing losing track of time.

In Her Name: From Chaos Born charts the birth of a new child, a child so different that a Queen needs to kill her. A child so different that a priest defies, threats of a fate worse than death itself from his own kind , his High Priestess, and literally takes that one step over the threshold of the shrine, to lift the child from the safety of its dying mother's arms.

In Her Name: From Chaos Born shows the Loyalty, Love and Savagery of Warriors who throw themselves into the path of death, to save a child who has been born different.....

And then that bugger Hicks does it again...... leaves us waiting for the next instalment There are some people you just want to slap and he is hitting the top of my list for this, not to hard of course just enough to say WRITE THE DAMMED BOOKS AND PUBLISH THEM SO WE CAN GET ON WITH IT

YES , THEY ARE THAT GOOD, ONCE YOU START READING THEM YOU WILL NOT WANT TO PUT THEM DOWN.

If you haven't read any of his books, this is the order of the In Her Name Series they are worth the effort and once you start reading it takes effort to put them down

Book 1 - EMPIRE
Book 2 - CONFEDERATION
Book 3 - FINAL BATTLE
Book 4 - FIRST CONTACT
Book 5 - LEGEND OF THE SWORD
Book 6 - DEAD SOUL
Book 7 - FROM CHAOS BORN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O Boy what a story!, 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Chaos Born (The First Empress, Book 1) (In Her Name 9) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of Michaels previous In Her Name books and have been hooked. This book takes us back in the mists of time and tells us about a child that was born different and destined to be the First Empress if she survived the actions of the Dark Queen. The rich tapestry of Kreelan culture is all here in all its bloody glory.We learn a bit more about the Desh Kar whoes powers defy imagination and who play such a large part in the life of the Kreelan people.
Only trouble is there are loose end! I want to know what happens to various characters which seem to have a purpose for the unfolding future. Will they reach their goals or die in getting there.
Watch this space! I think that Micael is going to take us on one hell of a ride
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Empress, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Chaos Born (The First Empress, Book 1) (In Her Name 9) (Kindle Edition)
Like the previous books in this series,this is an excellent read. I have only one complaint , like all the others you simply have to buy the next one . Mr Hicks, is an imaginative and lucid author ,and needs to get on with the next book as I am getting withdrawal symptoms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Continuation, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Chaos Born (The First Empress, Book 1) (In Her Name 9) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book some time ago and then must have shelved it somewhere in the Kindle system. Having obviously found it again I am once again reminded of how great the 'In Her Name' series are, maybe a re-read is called for! This book is pretty much a 'stand alone' as it pre-dates the others by quite a margin. Good characters, strong action, but maybe leaning a bit to hard on the Warrior culture developed in the earlier (but later in the story timeline) books. Looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Chaos Born (The First Empress, Book 1) (In Her Name 9) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this series of books and would like a few more to round it off, but it was a worth while read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From Chaos Born (The First Empress, Book 1), 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Chaos Born (The First Empress, Book 1) (In Her Name 9) (Kindle Edition)
I chose 5 stars as it was a fantastic read. It brought together the other books of the series. It is the best sereis I have read in the sci fi genre, and would reccommend it to all sci-fi fanatics. It would make a fantastic film. The pace was fast, and all the characters utterly believeable. Can't wait for Book 2 .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - have read book 2 as well, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Chaos Born (The First Empress, Book 1) (In Her Name 9) (Kindle Edition)
Can't wait for the next installment - really really good storyline - would recommend to all readers to buy the whole series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from the start, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Chaos Born (The First Empress, Book 1) (In Her Name 9) (Kindle Edition)
Another triumph from Michael R Hicks! Gosh how I have loved this series of books. Every one is somehow better than the last. I have been enthralled by this whirling, breathtaking journey into a fabulously complex world of honour and betrayal. A perfect book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incedible, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Chaos Born (The First Empress, Book 1) (In Her Name 9) (Kindle Edition)
First contact between two vastly different cultures. Brilliantly written surface and space battles. A real page turner that is hard to put down.Samourai type honour mentality versus technology in an alien environment with humanity losing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Chaos Born (The First Empress, Book 1) (In Her Name 9) (Kindle Edition)
I read this and instantly had to buy book 2, now am eagerly awaiting the third part of the trilogy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews