Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murders and Innocent Bystanders
David Baldacci has written a superb action packed thriller. Will Robie is employed by a US government agency as a hit-killer. He has killed many with ruthless meticulous military style preparation on the orders of his superiors who perceive threats to US on a global basis or merely see people or situations as problems. A muscular rock-solid intelligent assassin turning...
Published 24 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tiresome nonsense
Yes, it's a fast paced action thriller but the plot is so contrived and implausible and the characters are nearly all so stereotyped and unlikeable that well before half way through I was getting bored with it.

It contains so much of what is worst in American crime / thriller writing. The central character, Secret Agent Will Robie is depicted as an all...
Published 16 months ago by RoverP


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murders and Innocent Bystanders, 28 April 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocent (Will Robie 1) (Kindle Edition)
David Baldacci has written a superb action packed thriller. Will Robie is employed by a US government agency as a hit-killer. He has killed many with ruthless meticulous military style preparation on the orders of his superiors who perceive threats to US on a global basis or merely see people or situations as problems. A muscular rock-solid intelligent assassin turning 40,he had recently killed a heroin supplier (Rivera) in Edinburgh along with his bodyguards intent on raising finances to plan a military coup in Mexico, a potential threat to America. His next mission was the killing of Saudi Prince Talal in Tangier who had abducted and murdered US servicemen and was a threat to the West. He returns to Washington.

No mission for 3 months until instructed to kill a woman in her 30's with 2 children. Robie finds she is a government agent and told she is part of a terrorist organisation. After breaking into her apartment he finds her in bed with her 3 year old son. Conscience kicks in and despite the angry insistence of his handler to kill them both, Robie cannot. The situation is resolved when a single shot from a long range sniper kills both. Robie realises he is probably the next target and puts plan B into action and makes a run for it.

Meanwhile, we are introduced to a 14 year old smart and intelligent precocious 14 year old Julie Getty, in and out of foster care because of her parents' drug problems from which they are trying to recover. Julie loves her parents, escapes from the current negligent foster carers and heads back home. Unfortunately, she enounters an argument between a man and her father. Her parents are both shot dead. Julie witnesses the killer and realises she is in danger and needs to escape and goes on the run.

Coincidentally and fortuitously,both Robie and Julie end up on the same bus going from Washington to New York. Julie is under threat by an unknown man on the bus and Robie intervenes for her safety. This is the start of an aquaintance and unsual liaison between the two and a series of tense situations superbly narrated by the author. Any more information would be spoiling the events of which there are plenty.

Baldacci writes with incisive clear prose. Short paragraphs and chapters each leading on to changes and developments in the plot with introduction of many more influential and important characters essential to the narrative and storyline. The crux is mostly which of the two leading protagonists is the real target. The relationship between them becomes engaging.

This is fast-paced suspenseful writing with never a dull moment. Difficult to put down. Many times a guessing game as to who is doing what to whom and why. The clever twists and turns continue especially in the final chapters when the bad guy is found out, the second not totally unexpected but the ultimate climactic revelation was a total surprise and fittingly fulfilling. The mysteries of the book's contents become evident.
I found this novel cleverly constructed and totally enjoyable. More to come from the characters hopefully and David Baldacci.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tiresome nonsense, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Yes, it's a fast paced action thriller but the plot is so contrived and implausible and the characters are nearly all so stereotyped and unlikeable that well before half way through I was getting bored with it.

It contains so much of what is worst in American crime / thriller writing. The central character, Secret Agent Will Robie is depicted as an all American hero who almost single handedly defeats a bizarre terrorist plot. What a guy! Sure, he gets some help from a female FBI agent who also seems willing to put her own and other people's lives at risk, so, hey, she's cool too! They "gun" engines, do donut turns, run red lights etc and when they face gunfire from well trained and well equipped adversaries they are seemingly protected by a magical shield whilst death and destruction explodearound them. You get the picture.

And despite a bus full of passengers being blown up and numerous other murders being committed it seems that the FBI agent is the only person officially on the case. Nonsense, of course but it creates the vacuum of reality which allows Baldacci to hype up his hero.

No doubt this storyline would make for a half decent action movie but for me it just doesn't work as a book. It is one shallow chapter of contrived action after another and it simply gets tiresome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mzuri sana!, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocent (Will Robie 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great plot. Clinical killer who a conscience. Good twist at the end but not entirely unexpected. Good plot for a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocent (Will Robie 1) (Kindle Edition)
A new character from Baldacci. Well written and the plots are good but predictable though. Look forward for a follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 15 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Innocent (Will Robie 1) (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book after seeing the advert for 'the hit' on tv, as I wanted to start from the beginning of the Will Robie books (there's only 2). I found it a great read, it really captured my attention and as soon as I finished I moved on to the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The innocent, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocent (Will Robie 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very good book with good
Storyline I think it would make a great film with the right cast and editing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The innocent by David baldacci, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocent (Will Robie 1) (Kindle Edition)
Exciting couldn't put it down a surprising end to a very well written book.. looking forward to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocent (Will Robie 1) (Kindle Edition)
Hard to put down once started reading, would highly recommend to anyone for reading, obviously very well researched for material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Till Proven Guilty???, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocent (Will Robie 1) (Kindle Edition)
Read 'The Innocent' on my Kindle - and initially SO appalled at the chill of the 'Government's Hired Assassin'. Hated it - couldn't get back to reading it for about a month - Disliked the whole thing - Neither my spine tingled nor did my blood run cold. It was just unpleasant and ? violence for the sake of violence, so eventually I got bored. Is there no justice? Hollow laugh!
Daft plot where a bit of humanity apparently appears at the end.
I should also say I have never seen a Bond film - and never will. I hate that genre - it's a bit too testosterone charged and of course, the essential and predictable 'one night' of sex appears and brings a lump to our assassins throat. Dear dear!
I like good writng.
Sorry, Mr Baldacci.

KTQ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed!!, 18 May 2012
By 
hherron@lineone.net (Chichester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, just let me say that I love the works of David Baldacci, until this. I've waited eagerly for the lastest offering and was sorely disappointed. It was as if this book had been written by someone else. Badly expressed, laboured (I felt as if I was being talked down to a lot of the time) and just not Baldacci. I know from other reviews that it has been raved about - sorry, not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf0b7c3c)

This product

The Innocent (Will Robie 1)
The Innocent (Will Robie 1) by David Baldacci
1.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews