Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gut wrenchingly heartbreaking
Already a fan from the first book, I seriously couldn't wait for this book and Angelini did not disappoint.

We are brought straight back to the both shocking and saddening cliffhanger from the last book that Lucus and Helen are actually cousins. While we know, from Helen's mother Daphne's conversations previously that this is not true, Helen, Lucus and the rest...
Published on 14 Jun 2012 by Ms. C. A. Anderson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Firstb book was better
I loved the first book but this one honeslty fell below expectation. I honestly think nothing important happened in this book apart from Helen's inability to dream. Don't get me wrong i dont hate the book I just think it could have been better.
Published 20 months ago by Nafisa Mahmud


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gut wrenchingly heartbreaking, 14 Jun 2012
By 
Ms. C. A. Anderson "Cassandra220689" (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Already a fan from the first book, I seriously couldn't wait for this book and Angelini did not disappoint.

We are brought straight back to the both shocking and saddening cliffhanger from the last book that Lucus and Helen are actually cousins. While we know, from Helen's mother Daphne's conversations previously that this is not true, Helen, Lucus and the rest of the Delos clan and everyone else do not and what we witness is heartbreaking in it's entirety as they try to stay away from each other when they clearly still love each other. Star crossed lovers they are - Romeo and Juliet all over again.

While this is constantly in both Helen and our minds every time they are in the same room, or near each other, an important task is now in play. Helen is the Scions only chance of freeing those such as Hector who have been Outcast. The only way thought to do so is to kill off the furies which enrage members of the same house and other opposing houses to attack their own flesh and blood such as Hector, to pay a blood debt. Helen is the Descender and is tasked with descending into the Underworld to find a way to set the Outcast's free, but while she has been chosen to do so, she has been dealing with Hell, quite literally and it is taking it's toll on her.

While she constantly wanders the Underworld every night for weeks trying to figure out how to complete her task of saving the Outcasts, she is suffering from exhaustion due to the lack of sleep since every time she goes to sleep she descends. What doesn't help is that while both Lucas and Helen accept that they can't be together, Lucus has taken to cutting her off completely from him in a cruel and hurtful way that see's even the reader surprised. While we learn, he is acting cruel in an effort for her to not feel anything for him anymore and help her concentrate on her task, it does the opposite effect. Instead we feel how alone she has become. Even though she still trains with the Delos family they have been keeping their distance too in an attempt to help her focus but instead pushing her away. Sympathy is an understatement for what we feel for Helen at this point.

One night when Helen descends and meets someone down there; Orion, she can't help but feel attracted to him, especially since he is the son of Aphrodite and has the power to control desire and hearts as well as being the heir to the House of Rome and also an Outcast. What develops is a friendship which while in the Underworld gives Helen a strength and purpose to her life that she had lost, also conflicts her emotions and clouds her heart.

While the task is still Helen's, she now has a friend and someone to help with her task and it's clear that Orion and Helen grow close, but it is also clear that despite everything Lucus and Helen still care for each other. All three are caught in a triangle which leads to a head in an epic battle which see's all three fight for what they believe in but at the same time, opening up a whole new can of worms that can never be closed again. As Cassandra always says the Scions follow history and there are many ways that history does indeed replay before our eyes.

War is on the horizon...

Cassandra220689
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starcrossed Dreamless (Awakening), 9 Jun 2012
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Two words to describe this book - Absolutely Amazing! Josephine has written a fantastic second book in the trilogy and the story doesn't drop off like so many sequel's end up doing. For anyone who hasn't read the first book Starcrossed then I would definitely suggest you read it first before reading this book as otherwise you probably won't get everything that's going on.

The story pick's back up with the end of book one shocker that Helen and Lucas are supposedly cousins and therefore can't have the boyfriend girlfriend relationship they both long for, although we all know that this is a cruel lie created by Helen's mother Daphne. Helen and Lucas are Scion's (Demi-God's as we all know from Starcrossed) and are both from different houses but can be in each other's presence without being incensed to kill each other by the furies as their blood debt's to each other's houses' have been paid by them. The same cannot be said for poor Hector who became an Outcast at the end of Starcrossed after killing his cousin Creon and can't go anywhere near any of his family without them trying to kill him. Helen is the Descender and it's her job to descend into the Underworld each night to try and find a way to kill the furies and thus allow the houses to mix without wanting to kill each other. Helen is struggling with her task and this may have something to do with not being able to be with Lucas. Although one night when she descend's a hand appears to help her out of the quick sand she is stuck in and cue Orion descendant of Adonis and every bit as good looking and attractive as the historic Adonis was meant to be. Orion begins to help Helen in the Underworld and Helen begin's to develop feelings for Orion.... What about Lucas and will Helen be successful in her mission to kill the furies and free the houses'?

As I said above yet another fantastic installment in the trilogy and I can't wait for the third book to come out now all hell's broken loose so to speak:)

Starcrossed (Awakening)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT standalone, but once you get into it, you'll get sucked in!, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Dwayne @ Girls Without a Bookshelf (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In fairness, Dreamless is good enough that I want to go quickly read the first book now! There must be a cliff-hanger at the end of that because it begins in medias res (in the middle of everything), which was a bit confusing. However this book is truly captivating so it's easy to get past that. The mythology and range of characters can tend to overwhelm (I attribute this to the fact that I have not yet read the first book in the trilogy) but definitely pick this one up, readers, I guarantee you'd like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full bodied, richly woven fantasy that flows along and is a joy to read., 13 Mar 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lovely, dreamlike sequel with beautifully descriptive locations and nicely worked fantasy characters. Josephine Angelina writes in a style that flows. She carries the reader along and Dreamless was a pleasure to read.

The opening themes of unrequited love, Helen and Lucas, spur Helen along in her quest to rid the Underworld of the Furies. She's such a believable character and a great mix of romantic lead and young, warrior queen. There's always a sense that whatever trial Helen is forced to undertake she'll come through fighting for what she believes is lost and for what she believes is right but; don't feel too comfortable at this point. Just when you feel Helen might be reaching the end, there's a huge amount of uncertainty, the author twists the plot and introduces the beautiful and seductive Orion.

Orion meets up with Helen when she's at her most vulnerable and maybe, just maybe, this mystical Knight with his gift for 'controlling desire' has the power to make her forget true love?. I'm not telling you anything else about the plot - read the book!.

Rich, full bodied fantasy packed with drama, romance and energy. Enough depth to hook in any fan of the genre and recommended for this age group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, Love, LOVE, 2 Feb 2014
Dreamless is the second book in the Starcrossed trilogy, a Greek mythology-inspired series about Helen Hamilton, a young Goddess. If you haven’t read the first book, you might want to look away now as there are some spoilers of the Dreamless predecessor coming up.

So, when I first read that summary I was a little dubious. I mean, it’s a love triangle (something I both love and hate) and it all sounds rather dramatic. But in reality, Josephine Angelini has managed to be completely convincing, so I believed every emotion that Helen was feeling. She doesn’t all of a sudden stop loving Lucas, which is something I was quite concerned about. In fact, she doesn’t stop being in love with Lucas at all. (Phew!).

I actually think Orion is a really great character that brings a whole new dimension to the series. He’s a connection to Helen’s mother, he has intriguing new powers and he develops an interesting relationship with the Delos family.

I think what makes the Starcrossed series so great is the relationships, and the characters that are involved in them. I’m not just talking about the relationship between Orion and the Delos family, but between all of the characters in the trilogy, including Helen and her dad Jerry, and Helen and her mum Daphne. Both of those relationships, while completely contrasting, are believable and relatable, and show us different sides to Helen’s character.

Extremely well written and captivating, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Starcrossed (and Dreamless) to another YA fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcrossed: Dreamless (Kindle Edition)
So flipping good it was just as good as the first one now . I can't wait to read the third one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcrossed: Dreamless (Kindle Edition)
This book took me on a real emotional rollercoaster and it was so full of suspense that I was turning the pages very quickly to get to the next to find out how things turn out. I can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcrossed: Dreamless (Kindle Edition)
An excellent 2nd book of the trilogy. It does not suffer from second book syndrome where you can tell that some authors are just saving everything for the finale. This is just as actioned packed as the first. The only reason it is not a 5 star rating is because there were as we have come to expect a few frustrating cliff hangers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable trilogy, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcrossed: Dreamless (Kindle Edition)
Well written and superbly crafted story with likeable characters I enjoyed it very much and would recommend all three books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcrossed: Dreamless (Kindle Edition)
Really nice eecond book in the trilogy about half godlings that will quite literally go to hell to be together. Even if it nearky kills them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starcrossed: Dreamless
Starcrossed: Dreamless by Josephine Angelini
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews