Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price, but not perfect
Had this a few weeks, running a Core i5-3570K.

Physical installation is reasonably straightforward, my main complaint would be the board is slightly smaller than ATX, and so only uses 6 chassis screws. The front few cm of the board with the power, memory and SATA connectors are therefore on the unsupported section that extends beyond the front 3 chassis screws...
Published 18 months ago by JP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Faulty on Arrival
Received the first product faulty - apparently there's a common fault with a USB overload being reported, and the MOBO preventing the system from loading. Thankfully, Amazon's return policy is awesome, and I now have a functioning replacement. The product, when working, is perfect for my needs, but lower rating is due to the fault on delivery.
Published 1 month ago by DSpencer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price, but not perfect, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard (Socket 1155, 32GB DDR3 Support, ATX, Intel Z77 Express, USB 3.0, CrossFireX Support, Dual Intelligent Processors 3) (Accessory)
Had this a few weeks, running a Core i5-3570K.

Physical installation is reasonably straightforward, my main complaint would be the board is slightly smaller than ATX, and so only uses 6 chassis screws. The front few cm of the board with the power, memory and SATA connectors are therefore on the unsupported section that extends beyond the front 3 chassis screws. This means it bent more than I'd've liked when inserting the modules / connectors, I supprted the free edge with a finger in the end.

Everything is well labelled, though routing all 6 SATA connectors and 3 USB2 headers to the same part of a case may prove a challenge if you do want all of them. Spec-wise it's fine, on the plus 6x HDD, 4x USB3 and 10x USB2 and more PCi connections than cheaper boards, on the negative only one full speed PCi 3.0 lane (limits cross-fire) and no IDE legacy support. There are no USB front or backplates bundled with the board so out of the box you only get 2x USB3 and 4x USB2, but you do get 2 SATA3 cables.

Driver installation was a pain hence the 4-stars. This was mainly due to poor CD design rather than the drivers themselves. You seem to have only 2 options, install everything including some Symantec bloatware or install drivers and applications one by one, which involves alot of reboots. The second route took far longer than it should, even on a system that can reboot to Windows in 30s. A few also gave the "This driver did not install corrrectly" error in Windows 7 x64 - which is a bit unforgiveable seeing as the OS pre-dates the board by at about 3 years.

In the end though, UEFI BIOS is a pleasure to use, and the Windows apps seem well featured.

Overall, a decent price and spec with some minor gripes about board layout and driver disks. To compare with other boards check Tom's Hardware, which reviewed it alongside boards costing at least 20+ extra and decided it came out only slightly behind them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faultless, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard (Socket 1155, 32GB DDR3 Support, ATX, Intel Z77 Express, USB 3.0, CrossFireX Support, Dual Intelligent Processors 3) (Accessory)
Good motherboard, incredibly good bios, easy to set up and sure looks nice. I'm very impressed with the motherboard so far, I'm using an Intel Core i5 3570k, 16GB Corsair Vengeance RAM, GTX 560Ti and the CiT Vantage case (blue).

Can't fault it at all, the three star review somewhere around here should be interpreted as 5 star, the overclocking support on this thing is unparalleled for its price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good board with great features., 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard (Socket 1155, 32GB DDR3 Support, ATX, Intel Z77 Express, USB 3.0, CrossFireX Support, Dual Intelligent Processors 3) (Accessory)
If you need a decent Ivy Bridge board for a reasonable price this is the one you want. Some features and connections have been cut from the more expensive models but it still has more than enough to make this version great value. Third gen Intel Core i3/i5/i7 series CPUs are fully supported and will make the most of this board but Sandy Bridge CPUs are well supported. The new UEFI bios is nice to work with to, it functions more like an OS. If fiddling with the bios isnt your thing the auto setup is more than adequate, although if you want to make the most of things like the GPU acceleration and rapid start features you will need to adjust settings.

Fortunately the manual is also superb, 55 pages of detailed images, layouts and instructions for all the features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good compromise of power, usability and cost, 8 July 2013
By 
John Boy (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard (Socket 1155, 32GB DDR3 Support, ATX, Intel Z77 Express, USB 3.0, CrossFireX Support, Dual Intelligent Processors 3) (Accessory)
I've run an ASUS A7N8X Deluxe motherboard and overclocked AMD XP for many years without a problem, so as it was time to update, an ASUS motherboard was my first and only choice. The P8Z77-V LX supports the i5 and i7 CPUs, with up to 32GB of DDR3 memory, good integrated grapics (if you're not a gamer) and audio and USB 3. Even with cheap Altec Lansing speakers connected to the computer, the Realtek integrated audio is really good (21 May 2013 driver); it reproduces the standing waves and harmonics of Tibetan singing bowls 33bowls_morning.

Reasonable overclocking is easy and, the BIOS graphics are a step change from how things used to be. It's easy to flash a different BIOS but, there doesn't appear to be a facility to easily update the other drivers, so I installed RAXCO PerfectUpdater to update the chipset and all other drivers on my system; if buying PerfectUpdater on the RAXCO website, applying the code RAIN (I'm writing this in July 2013) will reduce the price by 20% to 13.66 for the first year subscription.

The BIOS screen shots in the ASUS manual are poor greyscale copies, so it better to check the settings on screen without changing anything whilst reading up on the various features. ASUS motherboards have good facilities for updating the BIOS and I've never had a problem until March 2014 when an apparently successful flash would not re-boot. This motherboard has BIOS recovery as well as the usual routine such as shorting out the CMOS jumpers and removing the battery, but none of those worked. In case this happens to you, there is a company called Grains BIOS-Repair in Wales (they are on Google) who will sell you a new BIOS chip for this motherboard and many others at a very reasonable price. As I type this, my system with new BIOS chip and stock memory is happily running with the CPU at 4.17GHz.

My system works very nicely with an i5 3570K CPU and 16GB 1600 MHz memory set as dual channel. A good workhorse with ability to be pushed a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid board, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard (Socket 1155, 32GB DDR3 Support, ATX, Intel Z77 Express, USB 3.0, CrossFireX Support, Dual Intelligent Processors 3) (Accessory)
The P8Z77 V LX is an excellent choice for the price, perhaps there are more feature-rich boards for the same price out there (namely from Gigabyte and Asrock) but my previous phenomenal experience with Asus products and software support dictated this purchase. Board works as intended, also verified for Windows 8 (which I am currently running) and Asus delivered WHQL Win 8 drivers amazingly fast. Haven't had the chance to test lucid virtu in windows 8 environment yet as it is not supported at this time.

Offers great variety of settings in Bios, especially as far as overclocking and fan setup is concerned although users may want to invest in better cooling for their components and case if they decide to go that way, mainly CPU since the board lacks any sort of coolers on the capacitors like Asus's Stack Cool. Also lacking is IDE device support, so I had to throw my old DVD and floppy (!) drive (yes I still had them in my case), SLI (some paltry Crossfire support where slave card runs at 4x, NOT recommended for dual card setups) and eSata port, though you can always use USB to attach external interface combos.

All in all, a great board for the price intended for simple builds. People into overclocking looking for a mainstream board may want to check ou the P8Z77 M for better passive cooling capacity, if mATX is your thing that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great PC, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard (Socket 1155, 32GB DDR3 Support, ATX, Intel Z77 Express, USB 3.0, CrossFireX Support, Dual Intelligent Processors 3) (Accessory)
Works like a charm, good build quality compared to some other motherboards I had tried before this one! No hint of the dreade reset loop that plagued the z68 either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard (Socket 1155, 32GB DDR3 Support, ATX, Intel Z77 Express, USB 3.0, CrossFireX Support, Dual Intelligent Processors 3) (Accessory)
I'll tell you what's not in the specs: fast boot, <1 second POST. Full featured BIOS, great chipset and GPU and most important: the 12V plug is closer than other motherboards so you don't have to worry about having a too short wire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant motherboard for first build, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard (Socket 1155, 32GB DDR3 Support, ATX, Intel Z77 Express, USB 3.0, CrossFireX Support, Dual Intelligent Processors 3) (Accessory)
Brilliant motherboard that comes with everything you need for a first build. Great for the price. Can't fault it at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard (Socket 1155, 32GB DDR3 Support, ATX, Intel Z77 Express, USB 3.0, CrossFireX Support, Dual Intelligent Processors 3) (Accessory)
For the money you literally cannot go wrong with this board. It has alot of features that its bigger brother does at a fraction of the price. If your on a budget and wanting to use 1155 i seriously recommend you pick up this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Mobo, quality at a good price, 3 Nov 2012
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard (Socket 1155, 32GB DDR3 Support, ATX, Intel Z77 Express, USB 3.0, CrossFireX Support, Dual Intelligent Processors 3) (Accessory)
I got this board to replace My Asus P7P55D, to house my new I5-3570. I'd been impressed with the stability and performance of my existing Asus board so was very happy to stick with them and having looked around this board compared very favourably.

The board has everything I need, from a couple of Sata 3 connections (and 4 sata 2 slots) PCIE-3 for when I'm ready to upgrade and onboard video connections (due to the CPU having an integrated GPU) - ideal for testing before installing my GPU and if not being used for gaming.

Installation was straight forward. I noted a comment here about the board size meaning there are only 6 screws so I made sure I had installed my RAM (as well as cpu and fan) before I screwed in the board, so I wasn't putting pressure on the edges except for the light push needed for the sata cables.

I had it all and running quickly. I was able to just run with my existing SSD running Win 8 and it reconfigured itself for the board and CPU no problem, though a fresh install is often best for an optimal config I am finding things running very well.

The BIOS is full of options and features and very easy to navigate, making configuration straightforward.. I found it easy to locate where I could change my hard drive and boot options and had quickly configured what I required.

It's worth noting the install disk didn't work for me in Windows 8 but that there are a number of downloads available on the Asus site to make up for this.

Overall I'm very impressed, excellent board at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa845ea08)

This product

Only search this product's reviews