Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, sweet and so much fun!
`Home on the Range', Disney's 44th and final hand-drawn animated movie, is a surprisingly good one. Having grown up with the wonderful animated Disney movies, I am a little disappointed that they will not be releasing any more in the future. Just as all Disney animated movies are family-fun oriented, `Home on the Range' succeeds in this manner, as it is a very casual...
Published on 29 Nov. 2004

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss numbered spine
Unhappy that this is not the same item (no numbered spine) as the one I had previously ordered from this seller which did have a numbered spine.
However the item is new sealed and packaged perfectly. Just frustrated as the numbered spine wS the important component!
Published 14 months ago by Miss C. A. Watling


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, sweet and so much fun!, 29 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
`Home on the Range', Disney's 44th and final hand-drawn animated movie, is a surprisingly good one. Having grown up with the wonderful animated Disney movies, I am a little disappointed that they will not be releasing any more in the future. Just as all Disney animated movies are family-fun oriented, `Home on the Range' succeeds in this manner, as it is a very casual movie filled with lovable characters.
The story comprises of a thief named Alameda Slim, who is wanted in many states for stealing herds of cattle. The farmers go broke after losing all their animals and reluctantly auction their farm for sale. Molly (voice given by Roseanne), a cow, who has lost her home due to this situation, is now brought to a new one known as `Patch of Heaven'. However, things start to go downhill, when Pearl, the owner of the farm, has to put it up for auction as well, since she cannot seem to pay the bills for keeping it. Therefore, Molly, along with two other cows named Mrs.Calloway (voice provided by Dame Judi Dench) and Grace (voice provided by Jennifer Tilly), decide to find some way to obtain the money needed to keep their farm open, by catching Alameda Slim and acquiring the reward money. However, there are many obstacles in their way, which they have to face. Will they succeed in the end?
Home on the Range may not be a classic compared to previous Disney masterpieces such as `Beauty and the Beast', `Aladdin', `Little Mermaid' or `The Lion King', but it has its own charm. The storyline of the movie is simple, giving it the charm of old Disney Classics like `The Fox and the Hound', and not too complicated like `Atlantis, the lost Empire'. The score, composed by Alan Menken, goes exceptionally well with the theme of the movie. This movie has a great selection of the casting for the voices, such as Cuba Gooding Jr. (giving the voice for the exceptionally funny horse named Buck), Roseanne, Judi Dench, Randy Quaid (providing voice for the villain Alameda Slim) and Jennifer Tilly. I suppose the main reason this movie didn't do very well in the box office was because, considering it is the last hand drawn animated movie by Disney, the audience were expecting a movie that ended Disney's animation career with a big bang. However, if you watch the movie without any high expectations, you will be surprised how good it is. This is a well-crafted Disney movie, and should not be considered as being worthless. `Home on the Range' is one of Disney's better efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite surprised., 4 Jun. 2008
By 
P. McCauley - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Since the late 90's disney's 2d animated feature films are consistently disapointed, largely due to the fact of the 3D industries boom.

This film out 2004, at the time was disneys final 2d animation on the drawing board, as they decided it wasnt making money and to switch to only 3d films. Im glad to say they are doing new one coming out in a few years, but this traditional 2d animation is the true art of animation.

I watched this film as was quite suprised. It has some very interesting characters amd the story also was quite good. Not good enough for legendary status, but good none the less. Its about a group of cows who go on a quest to save their owners farm by capturing a villian to claim the reward, which would in turn save the farm from its debt. This film is full of dramatic moments, great character development, and the odd twist to keep you gripped to the screen.

The look of the film isn't the usual disney, but it impressess. I certainly recommend this film as its a great watch and displays some impressive animation from true artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Hoof To Get It, 16 Oct. 2004
Saddle-up as Disney take you on a bovine road trip. Slightly madder than a dose of BSE, three plucky cows have to save the sweeter than saccharine all-American Pie ranch of 'Patch of Heaven' from the megalomaniac clutches of cattle rustling baddie Alameda Slim.
OK, so it was never going to beat the onslaught of Shrek 2 this year, but Disney must have laid down plenty of manure to make this an grew into an enjoyable slapstick romp: great celeb voices, plenty of sly knowing humour - sorry, humor, including a dig at Dreamworks damp squib of animated western-ry - and what must be one of the trippiest cartoon sequences ever: someone had obviously been chewing some cowslip...
The disc has the usual assortment of Disney faturettes and simple games to keep the litte ones amused briefly and all in all its typical Disney above average cinema release: talking animals, dumb humans; good laughs, good animation, and a good buy - it'll be equally at home in your dvd collection (just be careful not to say 'Got Milk?').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home on the Range, 12 Sept. 2010
By 
Pamela Somers (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Home on the Range
Close the curtains grab the pop corn and be prapared to be entertained. Just the film for a autumn evening.
The farmyard to the rescue when their home is under threat from the greedy landowner who has a desire to expand his empire by rustling cattle and forcing farmers out of business .
Three cows set out on a journey to track down the villain and bring him to justice
before their beloved farm is repossed by the bank.
A great family film for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem with some superb songs, 11 Dec. 2010
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is one of the lesser-known, slightly forgotten Disney animations of recent years, but it's one of the quirkiest and most fun of all. With hilarious voicings by stars like Roseanne Barr and Judi Dench, it's a tongue-in-cheek laugh-a-minute which both kids and adults will warm to.

The musical score is a hidden gem of Disney music, penned by Disney favourite Alan Menken and featuring some really excellent songs such as 'Little Patch of Heaven' (k.d.lang) and 'Wherever the Trail May Lead' (Tim McGraw). A real treat - camped-up country fun in the Wild West, it might not be the best-known Disney feature, but it's definitely a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, fun, fun!, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Cal "CAL" (North Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This little film is pretty much what you would expect of a Disney cartoon of this time. It is full of all the usual formula characters, tales and gags. That is why we love them! Sometimes, these formula stories can seem a bit stale, even though they are always watchable, reliable and amusing, but this one is a definite goody. Some of my other similar DVDs I have watched once then passed them on. This one is a keeper, and I will watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny film for all ages, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film for all ages of the family. A few laughs for older members. Great animation. Keeps very one amused
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Home on the range, 20 May 2011
By 
Robert Longe (Birmingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Hello, This is The first time I've done this and especially for this title. I have ordered a lot of stuff via amazon. But this title I bought for my fiance. The copy she bought a while ago and is considered very special and when it got damaged she was upset and she searched all the shops. But only amazon I knew would have it, just like all the things I got from amazon. I like to say thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth the HD upgrade on Australian region B blu ray., 14 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Home on the Range [Blu-ray] [2004] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
great unloved Disney classic.... the blu ray ( Australian region B ) transfer is stunning with perfect blacks and only very occasional colour banding... great film and well worth the HD treatment. Great moments in this film but the editing does let it down at times but its so funny I can not give this less than 5 stars.... BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't know much about this when we bought it but the kids love anything Disney. My little girl, 3, is absolutely obsessed with this film and I highly recommend giving it a go if you have not seen it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews