Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gem of an Album, From the Artwork To the "Hidden" Track
As a long time Lostprophets fan I was ecstatic on nabbing a signed copy of this album, Jamie Oliver (I assume) has even taken time to sketch himself a hat on his photo. Signed or otherwise the album artwork is great with lots of historical imagery and enough sprockets to keep a steampunk nut such as myself more than satisfied. Also if anyone was wondering the scroll...
Published on 15 April 2012 by Loonatic

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Left Me A Bit Dissapointed
Having been a Lostprophet fan since the release of "Start Something" i was really looking forward to hearing another fantastic album by one of my favourite bands. After listening through the album however i was left feeling quite dissapointed with them this time. The album isn't bad....it's just ok. There feels like there isn't alot of passion throughout the album and the...
Published on 16 May 2012 by Happy Jam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Left Me A Bit Dissapointed, 16 May 2012
This review is from: Weapons (Audio CD)
Having been a Lostprophet fan since the release of "Start Something" i was really looking forward to hearing another fantastic album by one of my favourite bands. After listening through the album however i was left feeling quite dissapointed with them this time. The album isn't bad....it's just ok. There feels like there isn't alot of passion throughout the album and the lyrics seem very borring and poorly written (Something that surprised me as normally they are fantastic lyricists). "Better Off Dead" is actually one of the best songs by Lostprophets i think i've heard but unfortunately it was the only song on the album i was actually excited about. Hopefully they will turn it around for the next one as despite this i still love them as a group!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gem of an Album, From the Artwork To the "Hidden" Track, 15 April 2012
This review is from: Weapons (Audio CD)
As a long time Lostprophets fan I was ecstatic on nabbing a signed copy of this album, Jamie Oliver (I assume) has even taken time to sketch himself a hat on his photo. Signed or otherwise the album artwork is great with lots of historical imagery and enough sprockets to keep a steampunk nut such as myself more than satisfied. Also if anyone was wondering the scroll reading "Deus Velox Nex" basically means "God's Swift (but violent) Death" in latin, probably borrowed from the Nicholas Cage film "Drive Angry" (read into it if you must).

Anyway, the music on the album is fantastic but that comes as no surprise; it's brilliantly performed, well mixed and for the most part has some stirring lyrics. To my ear it also sounds as well produced as any of their previous albums (contrary to a previous reviewers opinion). Now the Tracks:

Bring Em' Down - Not exactly the norm; plenty of bass and synth make for a different, but none the less great, single.

We Bring An Arsenal - Pacey and catchy; this is a a great singalong track which definitely echos a chanting crowd.

Another Shot - Classic Lostprophets; a treat for (post-"Fake Sound of Progress") long-term fans and an excuse for newcomers to work back through the discography.

Jesus Walks - An amazing track (best on the album?); deep, catchy and definitely the song that I had stuck in my head after the first listen.

A Song From Where I'm From - A meaningful anthem about missing home (or youth?), feels a bit like "Where We Belong", "Last Summer" or even "Ode to Summer" in theme.

A Little Reminder That I'll Never Forget - Regrettably, nothings special but not a bad track either.

Better Off Dead - When I downloaded this as a preview (from the Lostprophets website, I'm not some sort of pirate) I didn't think that the rap-like verses worked but the tracks is a real grower with catchy lyrics and a great contrast between the intense verses and more melodic chorus.

Heart On Loan - This reminds me off "Liberation Transmission" but not at it's best. It's not a bad track but it, much like "A Little Reminder...", it's outshone by the rest of the album.

Somedays - Summery and a little less intense than the rest of the album allowing individual musical talents within the band (all of them but one at once) to show through.

Can't Get Enough - A slow, moody track with some original instrumentals. Very Good. BUT DON'T STOP THERE!!

Weapon (Hidden Track) - Concealed seven and a half minutes after the end of "Can't Get Enough" is a short track that showcases the heaviest end of the bands spectrum and Watkins' vocal abilities. It's not for everyone but I really enjoy the track which could almost be compared to the emo/screamo style of bands such as Blessthefall or Atreyu.

I'm sorry if any of this sounds like the other reviews but over-all this really is a fantastic album, beaten only by "Start Something" as Lostprophets greatest achievement. A must-buy for fans old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lostprophets' worst album with a few weak spots but overall, another fantastic album., 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did hate this album at first and felt more resentful about it after Ian Watkins' arrest and subsequent guilty plea to child sex offences with it being their last album. However, whilst he is a scumbag and he truly deserves the sentence he is given, I still believe the music shouldn't be affected by his actions, no matter how horrific they are and Lostprophets were a favourite band of mine growing up.

With that said, Weapons is the weakest of the five albums Lostprophets put out. It's not a bad album like I thought it was when I first listened to it, but compared to their previous work, it's slightly disappointing. There's still some great tunes from the band that capture the same rebellious fire they possessed on Start Something. 'Bring 'Em Down' is a really effective opener for the album with its impressive melding of metal riffing with Jamie Oliver's Nine Inch Nails style synths permeating the song and culminating in an impressive breakdown. 'We Bring An Arsenal' hearkens back to the band's original hardcore group Public Disturbance with its punk like drumming from Luke Johnson (who proves to be an efficient replacement for Ilan Rubin). 'Jesus Walks' and 'Somedays' are the most poppy songs the band have ever recorded with softer instrumentation and slower pace, feeling very reflective and introspective but don't go into cheese territory which is refreshing. There are also more atmospheric songs like 'Another Shot' and 'A Little Reminder I'll Never Forget' which rely on some impressive sampling from Jamie and distorted guitar work from Lee Gaze and Mike Lewis. 'Heart On Loan' sounds like something from Liberation Transmission with its more upbeat new wave inspired hooks and feels like a breathe of fresh air from the angsty metal tunes and the slow burning haunting tunes whilst 'Can't Get Enough' closes off the album terrifically with its apocalyptic tone, capturing almost the same level of brilliance as The Betrayed did with its closing song and going full throttle with the hidden track. 'A Song For Where I'm From' and 'Better Off Dead' however are the two very weak tracks on the album. The former feels like it's recycling 'Last Summer' and 'Where We Belong' too much with its nostalgia-themed lyrics and just feels lazy, and just makes me wish the band could've played it less safe with this album. 'Better Off Dead' just comes across as cringey with Ian Watkins providing some awkward attempts at rapping and comes off like a Rage Against the Machine demo song that the band wouldn't even use for the final song. The deluxe edition for the album (which also features a black sleeve cover in place of the usual white one) also features unused songs by the band for The Betrayed which they recorded with former drummer Ilan Rubin along with a remix of 'Bring 'Em Down'. These unused songs are great tunes and it's good to hear them get some exposure now considering the album they were planned for was scrapped. Weapons on the whole is another great album from the Welsh rockers and if you loved their previous albums, it's more or less the same. It doesn't break any new ground for the band and does feel like its revisiting the past a bit too much but aside from those problems and the two aforementioned tracks, it's an impressive final send off by the band and really does make it a shame that the hard work put in by the remaining five innocent members has been utterly destroyed by one nonce's vile actions. People will continue to hate this band for what Ian Watkins has done but for me, it's always been about the music which has been the soundtrack to my teen years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lostprophets continue to impress., 7 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Weapons (Audio CD)
A great fith album from the welsh boys. Their best album since 'Start Something.'

Bring Em Down - 9/10 A great lead single, different, but still keeps that great lostprophets energy.

We Bring an Arsenal - 10/10 Football chant like intro, extremely catchy verses and lyrics, powerful sing along chorus. Lostprophets at their best.

Another Shot - 9/10 - Sounds like it just got pulled from Start Something, a sign of past brilliance.

Jesus Walks - 10/10 - Best song on the album. Very uplifting and memorable.

A song for where I'm from - 9/10 Love the lyrics in the chorus, so bittersweet.

A little reminder that I'll never forget - 7/10 One of the weakest on the album, however, still a good song. Interesting intro.

Better off Dead - 10/10 Another unfamiliar sound from them. The near rap verses are amazing. Strong chorus.

Heart on Loan - 7/10 Weakest on the album. Feels like a filler. Still worth a listen.

Somedays - 10/10 Don't let the slower pacing of the song put you off. Brilliant song. The vocals really shines here.

Can't get enough - 9/10 Again, sounds like it was pulled straight from 'Start Something.' I don't understand why there is a 10 minute silence after the song has finished though.

I reccomend you buy this album. Lostprophets are a highly underrated band with not as much recognition as they should have. They are far better than most of the tripe poprock bands you find nowadays ( All time low, You me at six ) to name a few. SUPPORT THEM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lost prophets, 5 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was for my son, he paid for it himself, it was affordable and he very pleased with the cd. He was very impressed with the whole transaction, as he hadn't ordered before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker!, 1 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weapons (MP3 Download)
Buy this album. Don't read this put the album in your basket or download now!!! Give your ears a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album, so where's the hype?, 11 May 2012
By 
N. E. Downey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weapons (MP3 Download)
The album opener and first single Bring Em Down kicks the album off in a high octane, fist pumping style with a true Lostprophets style sing-a-long chorus. It's an aggressive song that demands attention and warms the listener up for a true LP classic that follows. We Bring An Arsenal is the band at it's very best, catchy throughout it opens with some monster riffs, has a football terrace type chant and an anthemic chorus you just a have to sing along with. Awesome stuff.
From there the album continues to impress with Jesus Walks and Better Off Dead also showing the quality and award winning songwriting ability of the band.
For me Weapons isn't as consistent as Liberation Transmission but it has a harder edge to it like Start Something to which it is closely matched. It's an excellent album and a stark reminder of why Lostprophets are one of the best bands in the world right now. Quite why they aren't getting the hype they deserve is beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A solid fifth record - big choruses and chanting aplenty, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weapons [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Lostprophets have never really failed to impress, despite the fact that parts on their last album The Betrayed were a little bit bland. Altogether though this is certainly a return to form - combining the catchy choruses and never-say-die attitude they're known for.

In terms of heaviness I would say it's halfway between Start Something and The Betrayed, with it generally being much more aggressive than the emo-pop of Liberation Transmission, but less raw than the nu-metal debut The Fake Sound Of Progress. However the three Garage Sessions tracks on the Deluxe version certainly resonate a little bit of the older, more rawer Prophets.

The singles are all here, Bring Em Down was certainly solid, although the excellent Jesus Walks and We Are The Arsenal - both of which are two of the best songs they've ever written - and Another Shot would have been better choices. Better Off Dead was actually a strange track to release as it's a little different than the rest of the songs on here as it's much more direct and confrontational.

Somedays seems to slightly miss the mark for the more token acoustic, emotional number. Your not going to skip it but it's no Last Summer or Always All Ways. It's more so the lyrics that don't always fit than the performance itself.

The only real disappointments are Heart On Loan - which is instantly forgettable, and Can't Get Enough - which is poor for a final track, especially considering this band have had four brilliant final tracks on past albums and especially considering the strength of The Light That Shines from the last album.

A little word on the three Garage Sessions tracks, they are all rawer and generally more hard-hitting than the album. The songs are all strong and some should have replaced some of the main album tracks! The acoustic version of Another Shot is good too and all are worth the extra money.

Overall this is not a huge departure from the standard Lostprophets sound, but is a notch up from The Betrayed both in how good it is and how heavy it is. It has it's poor tracks so it's no Start Something or Liberation Transmission which were strong throughout, however the singles are definitely there and it's a solid release. I know that I will be listening to it throughout 2012.

***VINYL*** The vinyl is just the one vinyl featuring the main 10 tracks. It has the same cover and no picture on the back, just a rather bland looking track-listing. There is nothing else inside unfortunately. I managed to get this for £10 during pre-order but I would not pay £25 for it unless your a big fan. Like I mentioned above, the Garage Sessions are worth downloading as well as they are not on the vinyl edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An ok album., 5 May 2012
This review is from: Weapons (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of lostprophets and this album adds to my collection, but i wouldn't say there is anything amazing about this album.

The lyrics are alot better than their last album but with the poor production on this album it kind of spoils it for me, every song has a catchy chorus which you flat out expect from the welsh rockers, but to me the tracks on here could of easily been off either of the past two albums ( liberation and Betrayed ).

I don't want to sound to negative about wepons because it is a great collection of songs and i do enjoy listening to it, even if a certain track does sound like a copy of katy perry!
Wasn't what i was expecting from all the hype around it though.
Brilliant solid album just nothing new or fresh about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lostprophets hit back with weapons!, 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weapons (Audio CD)
For those who were betrayed by their last album, buy this!
Lostprophets have quickly pulled this album together and though the recording sounds some what off, the album itself is brilliant.
Its not an album to be similarised with start something but rather its more a mix between their first 3 albums. The best song was jesus walks closely followed by we bring an arsenal. I had a few moments of my mind being blown away when ians powerful voice gives it welly. This album shows lostprophets talent as good as their liberation album and i think the doubt i had from their betrayed album is long gone. Well done welsh boys its good to have you back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Weapons
Weapons by Lostprophets
Buy MP3 Album£3.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews