Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing and Whats on the CDs Comme Ci, Comme Ca.
Amazon have no contents or track listings so I thought this would help people in their choice.

This 4 CD set contains the eight classic albums. So thats 2 per CD.
The CDS often do not give details about which album or tracks ae on which.

The Albums are:-
Count Em '88', 'Ahmed Jamal Trio at the Spotlight Cafe', 'But Not For Me', 'Happy...
Published on 9 May 2012 by Glenn Cook

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Patchy 'remastering' great music
As others have commented this music is great, Mr Jamal strutting his stuff and everybody getting right into it. The eight albums have been grabbed off either vinyl or some other cd. Specifically 'Count 'em 88' and 'Jamal at the Penthouse' are from vinyl and 'Count 'em 88' is especially poor with dropouts and pops, the vinyl was clearly old and worn so if you want this...
Published 22 months ago by Say What?


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Patchy 'remastering' great music, 8 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Eight Classic Albums [Audio CD] Ahmad Jamal (Audio CD)
As others have commented this music is great, Mr Jamal strutting his stuff and everybody getting right into it. The eight albums have been grabbed off either vinyl or some other cd. Specifically 'Count 'em 88' and 'Jamal at the Penthouse' are from vinyl and 'Count 'em 88' is especially poor with dropouts and pops, the vinyl was clearly old and worn so if you want this record buy another version. 'Standard Eyes' has been badly messed with so the levels are far too high and it clips all the time, fringe unlistenable in my opinion which is a big pity. 'Happy Moods' and 'All of You' suffer from this slightly as well, but not as badly. 'Chamber Music of the New Jazz' is thankfully a good copy which is a redeeming feature since it is probably the most regarded of these eight albums. I haven't had a chance to listen right through all the other albums - and will update as I do - but they appear on first impressions rather better - standard CD rips at a guess. If there has been much 'Remastering' rather than level tinkering then it hasn't got in the way of the music which flows fine, so if sound quality isn't a major issue for you then you will be delighted.

So you aren't getting anything too great here except the music!

Mine came with an eight page booklet that contained little more than track listings, but neatly put together for all that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing and Whats on the CDs Comme Ci, Comme Ca., 9 May 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eight Classic Albums [Audio CD] Ahmad Jamal (Audio CD)
Amazon have no contents or track listings so I thought this would help people in their choice.

This 4 CD set contains the eight classic albums. So thats 2 per CD.
The CDS often do not give details about which album or tracks ae on which.

The Albums are:-
Count Em '88', 'Ahmed Jamal Trio at the Spotlight Cafe', 'But Not For Me', 'Happy Moods', 'All of You', 'Chamber Music of New Jazz', 'Standard Eye', and 'Jamal at the Penthouse'.

The Track Listings are as follows if any kind person can provide the 'split' ie which albums and tracks are on each CD if they could add a note in the comments box I would be grateful and acknowledge their aid.
The tracks

1. Volga Boatman
2. Green Dolpin Street
3. How About You
4. (Put Another Nickel In) Music Music Music
5. No Greater Love
6. Poinciana
7. Woody N' You
8. What's New
9. Comme Ci, Comme Ca
10. Ivy
11. Never Never Land
12. Tangerine
13. Ahmads Blues
14. Seleritus
15. I Like To Recognize The Tune
16. I'm Alone With You
17. Sophisticated Gentleman
18. Cheek To Cheek
19. Poinciana (Single Version)
20. Liitle Old Lady
21. You'd Be So Easy To Love
22. Time On My Hands
23. For All We Know
24. I'll Never Stop Loving You
25. Pavanne
26. Excerpt From The Blues
27. Rain Check
28. Speak Low
29. Rhumba No 2
30. Time On My Hands
31. Angel Eyes
32. You Go To My Head
33. Star Eyes
34. All Of You
35. You're Blas
36. What Is This Thing Called Love?
37. New Rhumba
38. A Foggy Day
39. All Of You
40. It Ain't Necessarily So
41. I Don't Wanna Be Kissed (By Anyone But You)
42. I Get A Kick Out Of You
43. Jeff
44. Darn That Dream
45. Spring Is Here
46. Billy Boy
47. Sweet And Lovely
48. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
49. Taboo
50. I'll Never Stop Loving You
51. I'll Remember April
52. So Beats My Heart For You
53. For All We Know
54. The Breeeze And I
55. Like Someone In Love
56. Angel Eyes
57. The Girl Next Door
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great music, shame about the superior digital remastering, 8 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eight Classic Albums [Audio CD] Ahmad Jamal (Audio CD)
It states on the front cover of the Real Gone Ahmad Jamal "Eight Classic Albums" that the contents have been "DIGITALLY REMASTERED AND ENHANCED FOR SUPERIOR QUALITY". Mmm...superior quality, eh!? The first couple of CDs sound like they've been remastered by Rudy Van Quassimodo using a 70's Sanyo midi-system whilst out of his head on them thar bells. Things improve by the 3rd CD, and the 4th is just fine. I've a hunch that the Real Gonners may have had their hands tied and were recording from inferior vinyl or similar. Who knows, but at least the music performance is just great throughout, especially when Ray Crawford gets groovin' (baby) on Chamber Music of The New Jazz (4th CD). Fan-tastic! That album is so good, I simply must download (when I'm in the black!) The Complete Recordings of Ahmad Jamal with Ray Crawford and Israel Crosby. Indeed, CD4 is worth the very reasonable asking price alone. 5 Stars for Ahmad, but only 3 to Real Gone - averaged at 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great music that lasts a lifetime, 18 Feb. 2014
By 
Peter Burns (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eight Classic Albums [Audio CD] Ahmad Jamal (Audio CD)
Superb jazz piano from a master. I had a few of his vinyl albums 40 + years ago and his beautiful style always stayed with me? now with 8 albums I'm spoilt for choice. A real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ahmad jamal, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eight Classic Albums [Audio CD] Ahmad Jamal (Audio CD)
this is a brilliant collection by a simply great artist i play it regularly and never tire of it.the price wasgreat also bought jj johnson just as great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just add this to your collection!, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eight Classic Albums [Audio CD] Ahmad Jamal (Audio CD)
Jamal is brilliant, a total one off. He embellishes " Standards" with a new gloss and leaves them shiny new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disrespect with an artist, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eight Classic Albums [Audio CD] Ahmad Jamal (Audio CD)
Artistically, excellent; technically a complete disaster - a disrespect with an artist. I D'ONT RECOMEND THIS PRODUCT. It was a huge disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eight Classic Albums [Audio CD] Ahmad Jamal
Eight Classic Albums [Audio CD] Ahmad Jamal by Ahmad Jamal (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews