Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
It helped diagnose an engine fault which is what it was purchase for.
Published 1 month ago by James Steel

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars compression tester
The item didn't fit together as the machining was not good. Was returned for a prompt refund. Would have been fine if I had invested a bit of time in "dressing" the joint but it was new so went back!
Published on 27 Nov 2011 by Celtic Motorcycles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars compression tester, 27 Nov 2011
The item didn't fit together as the machining was not good. Was returned for a prompt refund. Would have been fine if I had invested a bit of time in "dressing" the joint but it was new so went back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not fit for purpose, 21 April 2013
This kit is best avoided.

The adapter for a 10mm spark plug was machined so badly that it didn't actually have a hole for the air to pass through. I proceeded to buy a draper adapter in light of the bad extension rendered the tool useless for my audi. On connecting it to the nicely made Draper adapter the gauge wouldn't hold any pressure.

The tool has been thrown away so on many levels it is poor. If I could give less than one star I would.

Please avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars absolutely usless, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech Automotive Compression Tester Kit (Automotive)
Honestly it Is cr*p. I would give it zero stars if possible. The parts dont fit together I dont know why they even bother selling this! If I could be bothered to send it back I would. Its cheap for a reason... cus it doesn't work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars valve tester kit, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it didnt work a waste of money the none return valves did not hold the pressure so a reading could not be taken
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Automotive compression tester, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cr*p. Don't bother buying this. I went to do the compression test with the engine hot values should be around 110 Psi. The compression tester was reading 30 on 3 cylinders and 0 on one, which didn't seem right, given the engine was running and ticking over. So I went to halfords and bought another compression tester 3 cylinders reading between 100 and 110 psi and one reading 75 psi. This compression tester is cheap and there is a reason, it leaks pressure and so gives a false low value. Spend an extra 15 quid and get a decent one! If Amazon would let me I would give this 0 stars as it is not fit for purpose. Don't buy this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish., 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech Automotive Compression Tester Kit (Automotive)
Load of rubbish, I tested on a new VW engine & got 40psi on all cylinders,the plug in coupling is crap & blows out as the male side is 2mm short of reaching the seal.Did same test with my works one & got 150+on all cylinders.I have thrown it in scrap bin.Be warned .Read other reviews before buying. I wish I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did'nt Work, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech Automotive Compression Tester Kit (Automotive)
This is a good looking piece of kit. Only problem is, it didn't work correctly.
I checked the pressures on my cylinders and they only showed 50psi.
I had to buy another tester and that showed 170psi.
Credit due to the seller. They did refund me the full amount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality even at this price purchased this a few ..., 21 Oct 2014
This review is from: Am-Tech Automotive Compression Tester Kit (Automotive)
Poor quality even at this price

purchased this a few weeks ago, thought it was going to be a bargin. Sadly it does seem you get what you pay for.
Mine only shows all cylinders to be 75 psi despite me using a friends much more expensive unit showing the cylinders are actually between 125 and 140 psi. Clearly something in the kit leaks at 75 psi.
Not really worth the money. Spend much more and be happy with your purchase.
Can't be asked to return for the money involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It would make a good gift for someone you hate, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech Automotive Compression Tester Kit (Automotive)
Junk. The £28.05 RRP on this is a joke, you are not saving any money buy buying this. Wouldn't trust it to give an accurate reading. The machining is naff, it barely fits together properly. The case is so flimsy it arrived with 2 holes cracked in it where the tester had been wedged in. Maybe at a push you could use it once and then dump it. The seller offered me a 5% refund on it, which at 50p is about all it's worth. It would make a good gift for someone you hate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Compression Tester, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech Automotive Compression Tester Kit (Automotive)
Although the box arrived ahead of time and the tester worked fine ONCE after that the spring-loaded valve lost its tension and was not able to work so had to go back. Amazon arranged collection within 48 hours; very good service. Bought a different one which works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Am-Tech Automotive Compression Tester Kit
£14.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews