Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the shadows there is a classic
It seems this album has been completely overshadowed by the seminal Loveless but it is a shame as this is a real classic album. It is probably more generally accessible than Loveless but this doesn't mean it is of less worth. The sensual combination of the male and female voices off of each other and swooping guitar washes was totally new and still sounds fresh and...
Published on 6 Nov 2003 by Michan Colvin

versus
14 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but don't believe the hype
The trouble with this and "Loveless" (another MBV album) is that they're always described in reviews as containing lush guitar soundscapes. That's really not true! As albums go, they're both extremely good, containing songs that are sometimes excellent, and always well above average, but if you buy them on reviewer recommendation you're likely to be a tad...
Published on 3 Jan 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the shadows there is a classic, 6 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Isnt Anything (Audio CD)
It seems this album has been completely overshadowed by the seminal Loveless but it is a shame as this is a real classic album. It is probably more generally accessible than Loveless but this doesn't mean it is of less worth. The sensual combination of the male and female voices off of each other and swooping guitar washes was totally new and still sounds fresh and startling. Melodically Soft as Snow but Warm Inside and No More Sorry are in a place somewhere between John Barry and Lee Hazlewood. A trully beautiful album with an edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gorgeous wall of sound that inspired a generation, 14 Feb 2000
This review is from: Isnt Anything (Audio CD)
At the end of the eighties post smiths and before grunge creation records produced some truly influential records. This is one of the best.'isn't anything' defines the MBV sound that muso journalists are still prone to name drop. Layers ands layers of guitar with some crisp drumming result in a dynamic range of styles from the ambient 'No more sorry' to the true speed mosh/shoe gazing 'sueisfine'. However my favourite is the outright sexual 'soft as snow' (but warm inside). Forget the 'dad rock' of Oasis this is why people will really mourn the demise of creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 16 May 2012
By 
Fur-Q (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Isn't Anything (Audio CD)
The sound quality is waaaaay better then the original release. It sounds less shrill, more warm, and has more depth and clarity. The original sounds thin in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new kind of guitar music - bone fide artistic genius, 12 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Isn't Anything (Audio CD)
A bone fide classic, wherein MBV came out from under the shadow of the Velvet Underground, Sonic Youth and The Jesus And Mary Chain to forge one of the most accomplished guitar LPs EVER.
Incorporating the Cocteau Twins' swooning dreamscapes and Public Enemy's industrial funk (yes! - long before 'Glider' they were highly influenced by PE's 'Yo! Bum Rush The Show's churning, grinding beats and FX) along with a highly innovative use of microtones (sounds in between standard notes and chords made by bending their guitars' tremelo arms) Isn't Anything's songs aren't 'about' love, sex, emotions but SOUND AND FEEL LIKE love, sex, emotions - a veritable wind-tunnel of hyper-sensitised moments in and out of love and lust - this is what French philosopher Roland Barthes would have written his famous essay 'The Pleasure Of The Text' for if he'd been a music journalist - 'it cuts, it crackles, it comes - that is bliss'.
This music feels like the emotions coursing through your veins and nervous system, approaching but resisting the urge to dissolve completely into ambient abstraction, just as we all resist the urge to succumb to schizophrenia and death in our struggle through life. My Bloody Valentine's Loveless and Isn't Anything are two unique musical adventures that transcend any redundant stylistic ghetto that they may have inadvertently spawned.
(And for the record, I listen to as much music - avant-rock, electronica, classical, 20th C orchestral etc - as I have time and money to)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars them elusive reissues, 31 Jan 2010
By 
surgery gainsbourg (camberwell, london, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Isn't Anything (Audio CD)
umm...is this ever going to come out?
i love this album...it's one of the best examples of monged out guitar noise ever (alongside killers like skullflower's 'form destroyer' & les rallizes denudes' '77 live'). the original vinyl sounded great but the cd sucked. i'm dying to hear these remasters...speaking of which, when the heck is mr shields gonna put out the rest of the mbv catalogue??? everybody's waiting (about 2 years now) for these reissues, but they're the only mbv releases that it's been possible to find on cd since the early 90's...sort it out! and make some new music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait.., 11 May 2012
This review is from: Isn't Anything (Audio CD)
Its been a long time coming but its been well worth the wait. I have owned and loved this LP since it came out. The remastered version is like hearing it for the 1st time all over again.So thanks to Kevin ,it took a while but it was like I said it was worth that wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isn't Anything (Audio CD)
fantastic album, great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isn't Anything (Audio CD)
If MBV had never released Isn't Anything,then this would be far more widely rated.
For me,this is a very, very close second to that album
An essential sister album to Isn't Anything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 16 Mar 2013
This review is from: Isn't Anything (Audio CD)
At first i didn't think much of the album but now i think its awesome, difficult to get into but worthwhile once you do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true indie classic, 8 Feb 2013
By 
G. Spooner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isn't Anything (MP3 Download)
Hadn't heard this for years as I had it on vinyl. This is how indie used to sound - raw, loud and different. Modern 'indie' bands should take note ('scuse pun)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Isn't Anything
Isn't Anything by My Bloody Valentine
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews