Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An electronic masterpiece
There's few acts around in dance/ electronica that have evolved like SMD. This is simply a stunning listen start to finish. It has structure. Each track has a place and order. Production is top notch, clean and precise, giving the whole affair a feeling of immense quality in an age of ropey Beatport one-hit wonders.
SMD's ability to compile near-perfect sets have...
Published on 17 May 2012 by hinge ripper

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not enough
Listened to this about a dozen times now and feel it has about 4 very good tracks , but the rest kind of just slots in nicely without going anywhere, much softer beat wise than ADSR, ok but was hoping for more
Published on 16 July 2012 by Stalag17


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An electronic masterpiece, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unpatterns (Audio CD)
There's few acts around in dance/ electronica that have evolved like SMD. This is simply a stunning listen start to finish. It has structure. Each track has a place and order. Production is top notch, clean and precise, giving the whole affair a feeling of immense quality in an age of ropey Beatport one-hit wonders.
SMD's ability to compile near-perfect sets have meant that tracks like 'Put Your Hands Together' have purpose and intent on this album, instead of, as most might rush to assume, is simply a floor filler. 'Interference' has a simple synth riff and plodding feel from the start - all familiar ingredients, yet 6 and a half minutes later you are left feeling like you've just been taken on a tour of the universe. The closing wall of sound on 'Pareidolia' has no right to be as huge and deep, and feels like an assault from a mad, angry orchestra.
Drum patterns are dense and complex, yet plenty of space and minimalism. Sub bass notes are distinctive in the mix, and the synths lush, with and edgy feel that gives you a warmth from a different angle than the usual electronica fare. The overall tempo is relaxed but driving, creating an undercurrent to the album that carries you through from start to finish nicely.
I might be biased here. Only last month I saw them live at the Village Underground Mixmag launch party in London, and I suspect sonic trickery and other methods have burnt these tracks into my neurons. But the great thing is, either way, this is an album you feel pleased to own, and when you choose to play it, you'll give it respect, time and attention. If anything from that perspective, it feels a bit short, but in an age where I all to often skip around searching for who-knows-what, this is the greatest compliment of all. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, clever and very interesting to listen to, 25 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unpatterns (Audio CD)
This really is a great little album. I knew odd tracks by SMD but hadn't ever bought any of their albums before. I heard the track "Cerulean" on another mix album and thought it was excellent so I decided to buy this and take the chance. I'm very glad I did and have now bought a few copies for others as well, it's that good.

The 1st track is nice and funky. It's fun but remains intense enough to stay interesting to the listener.

Track 3 - "Seraphim" - is also good, building on the sounds and development of the first 2 tracks.

Track 4 takes the album to another level. A little more techy and cultured. This is a really good track and one that I find develops more and more each time I listen to it.

"Interference" is good without being outstanding. I wouldn't call it filler but it's not quite as strong as the others before it.

Track 6 is the standout on the album. A belter of a track. A driving rhythm, a pulsating beat and a hypnotic lyric, repeated and repeated. This is worth buying the album for on it's own!

Finally, just a comment about the last track. A slightly lighter but still equally intense track to close the album out. I really like this and I generally find my favourite albums are those that end with a seriously quality track. "Pareidolia" is definitely not one to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beaming, 21 May 2012
This review is from: Unpatterns (Audio CD)
The person above has written a very good review. All I want to say it made me smile, really smile. Wasn't really expecting it to sound so complete but it does. The album has a maturity and a balance that is rarely achieved by artists and it does so by subtlety enticing you rather than just trying to kick the door in. Get hold of this and your life will be enriched. You'll simile, even when you're driving to work at six in the morning, in the rain..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Electronica reignited., 29 May 2014
This review is from: Unpatterns (MP3 Download)
The album Unpatterns has 17 tracks, and pushes 320KBPS quality to the very limit. Each beat is polished and individual, clamoring for its rightful attention. In line with their ADSR track style, each track has infinite variety and depth, and rises slowly to break the surface with their rythm. Listening to the techno thump, kick of bass and the organic notes push music into the future is the highlight of my day. My favourite tracks are Cerulean, A Species Out of Control and Put Your Hands Together. The rest accompany well into the album's fold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unpatterns (MP3 Download)
fantastic album - even better than attack decay sustain release, and interference is my favorite track so far this year. Electro to listen to at home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not enough, 16 July 2012
This review is from: Unpatterns (Audio CD)
Listened to this about a dozen times now and feel it has about 4 very good tracks , but the rest kind of just slots in nicely without going anywhere, much softer beat wise than ADSR, ok but was hoping for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unpatterns
Unpatterns by Simian Mobile Disco
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews