Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2012
This is one of those books that, once started, distracts you from your daily routine, as you can't wait to get back to it. It has the plot intricacies and quick pace of Robert Ludlum , combined with the geographical and cultural education of Wilbur Smith and the final ingredient , the superb research and detail of Tom Clancy. If these Author's works are ingredients you like , this brilliant novel has a style and substance that will leave you ,enthralled, fulfilled and most of all excited, that this novel is the first of a trilogy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
ASIN:B007KJ67BK The Valley of the Shadow]]

I have not been to Africa, but in his first novel `The Valley of the Shadow' Robert Burslem portrays a real sense of Africa, the people and how the fight for independence affects all sections of the communities within the country.
This story keeps you gripped right from the beginning as you follow the lives of each of the characters and you see the effect life choices as well as outside circumstances have on their destiny.
The style of storytelling is at a pace to ensure the reader does not want to put the book down.
There is enough drama and twists to keep you guessing and wanting to read on to discover if there will be a victor.
Really looking forward to the second book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
This the second book of the Murdoch wars was so good that I could not put it down and finished it in 2 days. Have never written a review b4 but felt I must after reading such a fantastic gripping book from a brand new author , am really looking forward to his next book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
even though this wasn't my usual reading material once started i couldnt put it down it kept me glued from start to finish can' wait to read more about duncans further adventures roll on the next book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Having served in the Territorials in Rhodesia and being born there, this book blends true facts with fiction and one wonders if there is some substance in "unexplained" incidents.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Well written adventure, very descriptive and riveting, couldn't put it down till finished. Would thoroughly recommend this author and his works.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Gripping from start to finish. As a lad from highlands of Scotland I could relate closely with what Duncan was ell about. Excellent reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
I enjoyed this book could not put it down just had see what was round the next corner if you want a good story this is it.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
The Valley of the Shadow

I have always been a a fan of the Wilbur Smith, Courtney and Ballantine series, Robert has the pace and style of the man with the real understanding of Southern Africa of the time. The book is beautiflly crafted an excellent plot that carries you on to the end craving more. A great read I can really recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
This book is damn good. As others have mentioned it has a similar feel to a Wilbur Smith story.

I've got to say it though, this is completely let down by the fact that this either wasn't proof-read, or was proof-read by someone who can't spell! It's absolutely littered (I'd say on average at least one every couple of pages) with spelling errors. A major aspect of the story is the conflict between the Matabele and Shona tribes - and yet "Matabele" is always spelled in the book as "Matable", apart from when mentioning "Matabeleland". Troops wear red "berries" (berets) and push the "mussel" (muzzle) of their gun into the chests of their enemies. Given the prevalence of homophones I wonder whether this was dictated into some (bad) speech recognition software. Misplaced apostrophes abound.

This might seem like nit-picking but errors like this ruin a book, preventing suspension of belief - you're dropped back to reality rather than being transported to another world - which is what reading an adventure novel is all about.

If this were proof-read and edited a bit it would definitely merit five stars!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.33

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.