Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

If you're a Pink Floyd fan you might think you already know all there is to know about `Wish You Were Here'. However, you may be surprised and delighted by this truly superb documentary insight into the origin, creation and final editing of what many (including the surviving band members themselves) feel to be Floyd's most enduring album. The interviews with Gilmour, Waters and Mason are bang up-to-date, archive footage of the late Rick Wright talking about the project is also included as are vignettes from Roy Harper, sleeve designer Storm Thorgerson and stunt man Ronnie Rondell who was set on fire for the album artwork (nb this is before the days of sophisticated CGI and if you needed a convincing image of someone on fire you had to do it for real).

The spectre at the feast is the late Syd Barrett, who passed away in July 2006 just a couple of years before Rick Wright succumbed to cancer and also left us. The original inspiration for Floyd and the early band leader, most fans know Barrett is the subject of both `Shine on...' and the album's title track. A cameo of Barrett's short artistic career is featured in the film. Out-of-the-blue, seven years after leaving the band he turned up in Abbey Road Studio whilst the band was recording SOYCD and at first, no-one recognised him with shaved head and a more rotund physique. The only known photo of Barrett from this period was taken on that day, at Abbey Road Studios. Was Barrett psychic and did he pick up on the project his former band were engaged in? It seems so.

Some of the more interesting moments in the film explore how and why Roy Harper ended up recording the vocal track on `Have a Cigar' (which Waters later regretted, wishing he had sung the track himself) and the work put in by Thorgerson on the concept, design and realization of the album artwork.

The editing is excellent, the interview material well chosen, the pacing just right. Each moment is a gem; there's no fluff here. Recommended for all Floyd fans, and for anyone who appreciates the craft of good documentary film-making.
22 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One thing that stood out for me is the incredible intelligence of the members of Pink Floyd. In Particular Roger Waters. Roger is a very imposing man who is very protective of his art. David Gilmour is a deeply honourable man who is very proud of what he has achieved. This is a deeply honest and well produced DVD about some very innovative music that was produced in 1975.
The references to their past,Syd and the fact they have now got over their personal problems makes this a very enjoyable film.
If your a fan of Pink Floyd, this is a must get.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
This is a great documentary type film, with some interesting insights into the making of Wish you where here (my favorite Floyd album)

Picture is pin sharp (apart from the historical footage)
Sound is superb in 5.1

Recommend purchase for any Pink Floyd fan
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Fascinating insight into not just the making of the album but the history of Floyd up until this point. Poignant interviews regarding the sudden mental implosion of Syd Barrett and how important he was in allowing Floyd to achieve what they did.

It also feels that all band members are at long last at peace with each other and have made sense with where they were at when making their most successful albums.

Articulate, honest and funny, well worth a visit by even the most casual Pink Floyd listener.

The bonuses are great too, with Waters and Gilmour each doing their own solo renditions of Wish You Were Here, very brave it is too with no studio trickiery, just them, their voices and their guitars...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
top class dvd of a band try to create another master piece after DARKSIDE OF THE MOON and pulling off a great sequel to their magnum-opus of 1973 terrific insight of the struggles to emulate an album of unrivaled quality and in my opinion pulling it off glad i bought this dvd
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
I love Pink Floyd, so pre-ordering (and waiting impatiently) for this DVD was a no brainer. It is a fantastic insight into the inspiration behind what is possibly one of the best albums ever written and produced.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
This film is a very good insight of the history of one of the most successful Pink Floyd albums. The interviews are quite interesting and it's funny to see how the artists fell victim to their own success. If you're a Floyd fan you should definitely get it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
IF YOU ARE A PINK FLOYD FAN AS I AM YOU WILL ENJOY THIS DOCUMENTARY. I LIKE TO BUY DVDS THAT INTERVIEW THE PEOPLE BEHIND THE BANDS OR WITH LITERATURE I ENJOY WANTING TO KNOW WHAT MOTIVATES A 19TH CENTURY LITERATURE NOVELIST SUCH AS CHARLES DICKENS, LEO TOLSTOY AND MANY OTHERS US AND UK NOVELISTS.
I HAVE A DVD ON "THE SYD BARRETT STORY". AS FOR ME I FIRST ENGAGED WITH PINK FLOYD IN THE EARLY 70'S WITH THE BRILLIANT "DARK SIDE OF THE MOON". I HAVE THE CONCERT FILMED IN 1994 CALLED "PULSE". I BELIEVE IT IS THE BEST CONCERT I HAVE EVER SEEN AND I HAVE THE BEST SEAT IN THE HOUSE WATCHING AND LISTENING WITH A BOSE MUSIC SYSTEM. BUT I BELIEVE TO BE PRESENT AT THAT CONCERT WOULD HAVE BEEN LIKE A OUT OF BODY EXPERIENCE WITH ALL THE SPECIAL EFFECTS. JUST TO PUT ON A SHOW WITH THAT TYPE OF TECHNOLOGY WOULD HAVE BEEN VERY EXPENSIVE BUT A EXPERIENCE ONE WOULD NEVER FORGET. I HAVE ALSO SEEN ONE DVD WITH ONE OF THE BAND MEMBERS. I BELIEVE HE WROTE ALL THE LYRICS FOR DARK SIDE OF THE MOON. I EXPECT THE MUSIC WOULD HAVE BEEN A COLLABORATION. THERE IS NO WAY ONE MAN COULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE ENTIRE ABLUM WHICH EVEN 40 YEARS LATER STILL RESONATES AS BRILLIANT. HE MAY HAVE HAD A FALL OUT WITH THE OTHER MEMBERS AS HE WAS TOURING THE US WITH A ALL AMERICAN STUDIO MUSICIANS. WELL LETS FACE IT THERE ARE MANY TRIBUTE BANDS AROUND SUCH AS ABBA, LED ZEPPELIN, EVEN LITTLE RIVER BAND WHO ARE AUSTRALIA BUT ARE UNHAPPY ABOUT THE AMERICAN TRIBUTE BAND. WELL THEY ARE PAID ROYALTIES EVERY TIME THE US BAND PLAY SO WHO CARES. I GUESS THEY SHOULD HAVE ENSURED THEIR BAND NAME COULD NOT BE USED BY OTHERS.
BACK TO PINK FLOYD I LOVE THIS BAND ONE OF MY FAVOURITES WITH GREAT MEMORIES. I CAN REMEMBER LISTENING TO DARK SIDE OF THE MOON AND TUBULAR BELLS WITH FRIENDS. WE WOULD ALL LY DOWN IN A DARK ROOM AND CLOSE OUR EYES AND JUST LISTEN. THIS IS WHAT THIS TYPE OF MUSIC IS MEANT TO BE FOR. SO SOMEONE CAN REALLY LISTEN TO THEIR MUSIC AND ENJOY. OF COURSE THE TITAL, WISH YOU WERE HERE IS A SONG DIRECTED AT SYD BARRETT WHO I BELIEVE FROM MEMORY MAY HAVE HAD EITHER A BREAKDOWN OR MAY HAVE SUFFERED FROM SOME SORT OF MENTAL ILLNESS. IT IS VERY SAD REALLY BUT THE GROUP WENT ON AND THEIR LEAD GUITARIST I LOVE. HE IS GREAT AND WELL DESERVES PRAISE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Great documentary about everything that went into 'Wish You Were Here'. The story is told from the main players. It references themes of alienation and greed, aimed squarely at the music business they had found themselves part of. In a more underlying sense however, at least in the albums original concept, the shadow of Syd Barrett's story casts themes of loss, emptiness and regret. All of which adds up to arguably their finest work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
I watched the one hour BBC4 broadcast recently and it was quite a moving programme. There is some overlap with the "Which Ones Pink" doc from 2006, but a lot of good stuff about the art work and the videos by Gerald Scarfe for the stage show (which I've never seen before).
However the dominating theme is the absence (on more than one level) of Syd Barret. David Gilmour particularly appears to be mustering every ounce of his English reserve to hold back his genuine grief at Syd's fate.
I don't know what the extra 15 minutes will provide, and there don't appear to be any extras, but if you didn't catch it on the BBC then do get hold of a copy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.