Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for the little things so carefully thought out!
At first glance, and according to some reviewers, 'Back to the Future' is a kids story about time travel. But of course, if you've ever watched it as an adult, you'll know there's far more to it than that.
The storyline is intricately thought out (as with the sequels) and every event and scene contribute heavily. The best thing about BTTF is that you can watch it...
Published on 13 Jun 2000

versus
1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment
The box set is supposed to contain part 1 + part 2 + part 3 , the one I received has two part 1 and one part 3. Part 2 is missing !
What a disappointment ! Be very careful when you order from Amazon UK.

Otherwise I love the Back to the Future trilogy (that's why I wanted to have the DVD box set !). They are great movies.
Published on 9 Nov 2008 by GaŽlle


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for the little things so carefully thought out!, 13 Jun 2000
By A Customer
At first glance, and according to some reviewers, 'Back to the Future' is a kids story about time travel. But of course, if you've ever watched it as an adult, you'll know there's far more to it than that.
The storyline is intricately thought out (as with the sequels) and every event and scene contribute heavily. The best thing about BTTF is that you can watch it over and over - and see new things every time you watch it. For example, did you notice that 'Twin Pines Mall' at the start of the film is known as 'Lone Pine Mall' at the end, because Marty in 1955 killed one of the pines? 'Back to the Future' is packed with little things like this, and you have to watch carefully to see them.
As the for the acting and directing - it's first rate stuff. Steven Spielberg produces, and Robert Zemeckis directs. Michael J Fox and Christopher Lloyd provide the rollercoaster of emotion involved, and Lloyd's portrayal of the lovable, eccentric Doc Brown is perfect.
The reason for owning 'Back to the Future' on video is simple - there'll always be a time when you want to see it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most entertaining movies of all time!, 12 Jun 2006
By 
J. Lukancic (Ljubljana, SI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back to the Future [DVD] (DVD)
From the time when i was a kid to the present day, i've probably seen this movie over a hundred times, literally! Yet, there's still something that drives me back to it again and again. There are various new little details i discover each time i watch it. Simply fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Movie Of All Time? I Think So, 26 July 2000
By A Customer
I'm 16 and this movie has to be my favorite of all time, hands down, it beats any off the films we as a younger generation have had in the nineties. My mate John and I can't help but think how far ahead of its time this movie was - it has the special effects, comedy and warmth you'd expect from a great movie as well as Michael J Fox and Christopher Lloyd at their absolute best...If you haven't seen this movie then buy it now. It's an essential purchase that i guarentee you will not regret. Each and every time i watch this movie i can't help but watch in awe of its greatness. The story is original and engaging and leads on beutifully to BTTF 2 and 3. I would advise you to buy the whole trilogy, so that you too can have possibly the only good to come out of the eighties (well apart from the indianna jones trilogy, of course)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny... watch Marty avoid incest!, 15 Mar 2000
By 
Ben Elliss (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was tempted to dismiss this as a kid's film, but I watched it again recently and realised that I was only thinking that because I saw it when I was a child! Michael J Fox proves himself to be a skilled comedy actor playing Marty McFly in this tale of time travel. Propelled back in time by his mad friend Doc Brown, Marty needs to guarantee that his parents actually get together - and then he needs to rig up an impromptu lightning-powered generator in order to send himself back to the future (i.e. the present) in his converted-DeLorean time machine. The action is fast and funny, and there are some amusing situations where Marty has to stop his mother hitting on him! A classic adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest films ever made, 1 Oct 2010
This film is one of the great masterpieces of modern cinema, and arguably the best film from the 1980s over all. Michael J Fox, Christopher Lloyd, Lea Thompson, Crispin Glover and Thomas F Wilson deliver brilliant performances as Marty, Doc, Lorriane, George and Biff. This film is one of the truly great works of American cinema, a film which is so brilliant, you will love and want to see again and again. I couldn't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you remember.....the future?, 16 Dec 2003
First of all, I wasn't born when this film was made and yet it (and it's siblings, Part 2 + 3) have gone on to become my favourite films of all time.
No-one needs to know the plot by now but sufficient to say that the story is one that seems as fresh and new each time you watch it. Robert Zemeckis and Bob Gale have created a writing partnership that will go down in history for it's attention to detail and it's all round cleverness.
Having said that, no film is complete without a brilliant cast and Back To The Future has a team of actors that do the script complete justice. Special mentions should go to Christopher Lloyd as the wild-eyed and wind-swept 'Doc Emmett Brown' and Thomas F. Wilson who puts in a superb turn as 'Biff Tannen'.
An outstanding and unbeatable film that can never be overtaken as one of THE classics.
A must buy DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You built a time machine...out of a DeLorean!", 15 Feb 2009
By 
D. B. Calpin (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back to the Future [DVD] (DVD)
If you could go back in time and meet your parents as teenagers, what would you do? This is the basic premise of the 1985 classic 'Back to the Future'.
Marty McFly(Michael J Fox) is a typical teenager from small-town America who loves typical teenage things like music, girls and skateboarding. His best friend is eccentric inventor 'Doc' Emmet Brown(Christopher Lloyd) who builds a time-machine out of a sports car which inadvertently sends Marty back to 1955. Through a series of mishaps, Marty stumbles upon his teenage mother Lorraine(Lea Thompson), and father George(Crispin Glover), and accidently prevents them from meeting and falling in love. Having to put history straight and work out a way to return to his own time, Marty seeks out the 1950's version of his friend 'Doc' Brown in the hope that, between them, they can get Marty 'Back to the Future'.

Spanning not one but two sequels, 'BTTF' was a blockbuster hit on its release in 1985. The basic plot was conceived when director Robert Zemeckis was looking through his parents old school yearbook and wondered what it would be like to meet them when they were teenagers. Eventually, Steven Spielberg came on board and the rest, excuse the pun, is history.
Michael J Fox is perfectly cast as the All-American teenager dreaming of success with his band and his girl. Opposite Fox, Christopher Lloyd looks as though he is having the time of his life playing the near-insane 'Doc' Brown. The supporting cast also do a wonderful job, with Thomas F. Wilson hamming it up nicely as the almost pantomime villain, Biff Tannen. The dynamic between Fox and Lloyd is fantastic, keeping the energy needed to carry the tension of the plot, while simultaneously providing comedic and tender moments to lighten the load. Zemeckis effortlessly weaves in a few sub-plots to reinforce the 'cause and effect' message without releasing the pace. The set pieces are wonderfully put together and the scene with the lightning strike at the clock tower is cinema gold.

I first watched this film when I was 11 and was absolutely captivated. The theme of time travel and alternate history was so fascinating that every time I watched it, I seemed to notice something new such as the 'Twin Pine' shopping mall becoming the 'Lone Pine' mall when Marty returned to his own time after running over one of the 'twin pines' in 1955. This film is ultimately an extremely enjoyable fantasy romp with a lovingly nostalgic nod to the 1950's. The irony is, that watching the film now, I feel nostalgic for the 1980's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film i have seen most in my life, 18 Dec 2005
1985 - Back to the future is released to the world and i was 8.
Fastforward a few years and BTTF is shown on TV on xmas day. So i watch and record it on my parents VCR. So started a sequence of events that would shape my sister and my saturday evenings for over a year. EVER saturday night we would watch this MARVELLOUS film and never were we bored with it. There is so much to watch for in this film that much of it we missed on the first, second, third showings. Approx 2 hours of hollywood at it's best.
Micheal J Fox is amazing as Marty McFly and Robert Zemecks (of Forrest Gump fame) is excellent as director. Steven Spielberg even had an input (I think he was a producer)
What is particularly good is that this film will appeal to such a wide variety of people. It's funny, exciting, thought provoking and has given me more hours of enjoyment than any other film.
If you haven't seen it, give serious thoughts to renting or buying as you're missing out on what i can only describe as a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest sci-fi movie ever made!, 29 Nov 2002
By A Customer
Back to the future is a cleverly executed masterpiece. It combines action, comedy and drama into a prefect mixture. Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd make a great duo as a teenager and a mad scientist respectively. The storyline is fresh and original, the directing outstanding, and the technical elements, ranging from the terrific production design to the awesome soundtrack to the superb special effects are amazing. Back to the Future was a great '80s movie, and certainly, the best movie dealing with time traveling. I can watch this movie over and over again without getting bored. Fun for the entire family. Followed by two sequels that are just as good as the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well executed and lots of fun, 16 Nov 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Marty (Michael J. Fox) leads a languid life. His family is mediocre and just at tad better off than trailer trash. Much of this is due to his father's lack of worth and fear of confrontation.
Well Doc (Christopher Loyd) made a time machine out of a Delorian. Marty being his friend gets to help with the experiment. As a result he gets to go back in time (November 5, 1955.) There he meets his mother; she falls inlove with him. She knows he is Kelvin Kline because it is written on his underwear.
Will his little visit to the past change the future?
Will he ever be able to go "Back to the Future?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back To The Future - Augmented Reality Edition [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£4.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews