Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bonus material
We all know how good this film is. But what you may not know is how good the bonus material is. There are interviews with the real astronauts and recording of the actual radio transmitions from Apollo 13. Many of these were used to help with the script.

The film - 5 Stars

The extras - 5 Stars
Published on 1 Jun 2006 by theshiresuk

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping stuff
This film isn't quite as good to watch on video as it is in the cinema, because much of its effect is gained from the spectacle of wide open space. Tom Hanks is the big star here, proving his Oscar-winning star quality yet again - but his contribution is upstaged by a great vomiting-in-space moment, which is uniquely disgusting! You'll remain gripped your seats into...
Published on 15 Mar 2000 by Ben Elliss


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ***** for the film but for the product from Amazon *, 4 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really should be just 1 star for the actual disc I got, as it stopped playing halfway through.
Then I noticed that the disc had deep scratches on it.
No insert.
Don't recall any cellophane wrap.
As others have pointed out - beware of buying this version of the film from Amazon.
I ended up playing the rest of the film from the DVD. Interesting to note that some parts of the film were cut on the BR version (well what I saw of it).
Of course the picture was nice on the BR disc, but I'd rather have a complete watchable film.
A great film: I hope that this issue is addressed.I'd like a decent Blu-ray copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films, 15 April 2005
One of my favourite films, a superb story line which, thouroughly envolves the viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Selling Used Blockbuster Video Disks as NEW!, 17 Jan 2012
Not a happy camper!. Bought this from Amazon (not a 3rd party re-seller) as a NEW Blue Ray Disk. It arrived looking like new and cellophane wrapped - but when opened, there was a plastic sleeve inside with a decidedly used disk inside, labelled Blocbuster Video and marked £10. I can only guess that Amazon have bought over Blockbusters' used stock when they went under, and are trying to pass these disks off as new!. Needless to say, I'll be returning the disk for a NEW replacement. NOT GOOD AMAZON - are you struggling for profit that much that you need to resort to these kind of tactics to pass off used disks as new?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, poor service, 18 Jan 2012
By 
G. Norman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh dear Amazon. Unwrapped cellophane on a supposedly new item to find case covered in scratches and a sticker mark. Looked at the disc and it had smudges all over it. Looks like its been either a returned item thats been wrapped up again or another shops stock. Very poor and will be returning for a new one please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WHY SELL AMERICA ZONE DVD's IN THE UK????, 21 Sep 2013
By 
I was very disappointed to receive this DVD and discover I couldn't view it. My teenage son ordered this item and didn't know about the different zones!! My question is WHY sell these in the UK. OK there maybe a handful of people who have come from the Sates or other Zone 1 countries with their DVD players but the majority are like me and have purchased a cheap DVD player.

Would have preferred an email informing me of this before dispatching. They appear to be a UK base company as their pricing is in £sterling.

Very disappointed. I also emailed them with this information and they made no effort to help or compensate.

Beware of where the DVD comes from.

Janet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic!, 25 Mar 2011
By 
This movie is so well done.

It won an oscar for best audio at this time it came, and it is very good on Blu-ray.

And it's filled with incredible actors.

Buy it, see it and enjoy.

Swe1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray Disappointment, 31 July 2010
By 
John Kinley "IOMONE" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I looked forward to this film coming out in Blu ray as it is a fantastic story.

However, I shouldn't have bothered the transfer of the film to high definition is very poor and, to me, there is no different to the DVD version.

The CGI was ok but the rest of the film was just ordinary quality.

Still a good story.

Don't bother with Blu ray for this film, stick to DVD and safe some money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good and enjoyable film, 4 Feb 2011
By 
N. M. Thorogood "Bareham" (Wareham, Dorset. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had not seen this film before, so it was new experience and i think seeing it on blue ray made it well worth seeing.
Tom Hanks makes most films good to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poorly told Ron Howard fairytale, 17 Dec 2010
The disclaimer buried deep in the closing credits (blink and you'll miss it) hardly inspires confidence: "This film is based on a true story. However, certain characters and events...have been fictionalized for dramatic purposes." Of course, the problem is, we're not told which characters and events, or how much of the film has been fabricated. 5%? 50%? 90%? What is certain is that a little delving reveals the last of these figures is probably nearest the truth.

For instance, much of the onboard action is pure invention, particularly the scenes between Swigert and Haise. Most of the scenes involving the Lovell family were either complete fiction or didn't occur in the way shown in the movie. Worst of all, though, is the way Howard devotes much of the latter part of the film to original astronaut Ken Mattingly working alone on the power up procedure. This is complete nonsense. It never happened. In reality a small army of scientists and technicians worked on the problem.

Even if you're prepared to put historical inaccuracies to one side, Apollo 13 is a badly made film. As is his custom, instead of letting the events speak for themselves (and they could hardly be more dramatic than the Apollo 13 story), Howard uses every cheap film school gimmick in the book to artificially ramp up the tension (ie, following the electric current as the oxygen tanks are stirred, the fast zoom in at moments of drama), ending up with a movie that seems forced and contrived.

In short, whether you are looking for historical accuracy, or just a well told yarn, you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "The whole human race is participating with them in the agony of their return.", 1 Dec 2013
It's a pity the whole human race wasn't participating in the agony of the tens of thousands of Vietnamese men, women, and children the USA were killing, around the same period, instead of focussing on the fate of just three human beings.
More Hollywood pulp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apollo 13 - Augmented Reality Edition [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews